We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifully simple, romantic and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison d'Ulysse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison d'Ulysse to your Saves list
La Maison d'Ulysse
20 Place Ulysse Dumas, 30700 Baron, Uzes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Baron B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautifully simple, romantic and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had the most amazing experience and will always treasure our memories of
our time spent at La Maison d'Ulysse.
It was a special trip for us for many reasons...we got engaged over
breakfast in the beautiful courtyard!
From the time we arrived to the moment we left our hosts truly made our stay
perfect in every way.
La Maison d'Ulysse is so beautifully simple, romantic and unique. All of the
small details were not overlooked - whether it was the contemporary
interiors to the juxtaposition of old and new in keeping with the rich history of
the location.

We look forward to visiting La Maison d'Ulysse again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
162
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

In (almost) every respect a great place to recommend: The only small drawback are a few cars which might wake you up in the morning passing through the small village. Otherwise very tasteful recently renovated house with protected garden, extremely friendly and helpful service - simply a place which I can recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

When you arrive the Maison d'Ulysse you feel like 'coming home'. Gibaut makes everything to make it very cosy and you feel that he makes it with passion.
Outside on the country side you would not really expect a chambre d'hote with this style. The old walls are the basic, mixed with a modern style made with taste. Modern but still with the old character and history.
For breakfast you get fruits and jelly of the season out of the garden (e.g. melons or figures). Pure bio! On the pool in the beautiful garden you can perfectly relax.
If you want to discover the country side Gibaut gives you good advices where to go and which villages are beautiful. For dinner he has many ideas like the restaurant "Le tracteure". (Ask for it, he makes the reservations as well if you appreciate.)
We would go there any time again and I am sure that we come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Séjour agréable dans ce mas remarquablement restauré à quelques kilomètres d'Uzès. Cinq belles chambres à la déco soignées, jardin maginfique, pisicne agréable, accueil chaleureux. Un petit coin de paradis.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

The state of the art comfort combined with the spirit of the house's rich history, the beautiful garden, the wonderful surroundings as well as the charming and attentive hosts make la maison d'Ulysse a very unique experience. The rooms are a symbiose of modern furniture and the original substance of the house. Stylish but not cold. The place was almost too beautiful to leave it for an excursion, hence we rather enjoyed relaxing in the garden an at the pool. We very much felt at home are glad that we extended our stay. And we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison d'Ulysse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ulysse

Address: 20 Place Ulysse Dumas, 30700 Baron, Uzes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Uzes > Baron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your stay in the South of France, just a stone’s throw from Uzès and Pont du Gard… Guy and Gauthier welcome you to the Maison d’Ulysse, located between Avignon and Nîmes, at the crossroads between Provence, Languedoc and the Cévennes. This prestige boutique hotel is a real haven of peace, immersing you in a natural, restful setting. A perfect spot for recharging your batteries, in the middle of the garrigue scrubland, between the sea and the region’s numerous tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison d'Ulysse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison d'Ulysse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.