We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Acquaviva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Villa Acquaviva to your Saves list
Relais Villa Acquaviva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. Acquaviva, 10, 58014 Montemerano, Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemerano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Beautiful location, fantastic view from the window even though it's march.
Very homey and comfortable place.
We stayed only one night, but I definitely recommend this little peaceful Tuscan gem.
I think it's even greater in summer.

Thank you,
Emanuele and Lisa

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Emanuele e Lisa,
thank you for the review.
I'm so happy that in one night you get in love with Maremma and Villa Acquaviva.

hope to see you soon

regards

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
76
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I discovered this corner of Tuscany some years ago looking for "undiscovered" territory. My Smart car got caught in a Maremma traffic jam - surrounded by a herd of sheep! I was hooked. Fabrizio, his family and staff have always provided a warm welcome over the years and it is simply a pleasure to stay here tucked among the vineyards. Just a short drive brings you to the hot springs at Saturnia. I love getting up with the dawn, soaking in the springs and coming back to the hotel for a great breakfast. The little hill towns of the region are an easy drive away. As a single traveler, I always feel comfortable here. The restaurant is excellent, with foods typical of the region and a very good selection of wines. There's nothing quite like whiling away a summer afternoon, napping by the pool and enjoying la dolce vita at Acquaviva! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Rooms in the original house are quite nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear jt00187,
thank you so much for your amazing review.
I am so happy that you had a good stay in Villa Acquaviva with me and my family.

Thank you to force yourself to share our property

hope to see you soon

regards

Fabrizio D'Ascenzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Villa Acquaviva, it is a lovely hotel with a swimming pool and pretty grounds. The restaurant is first class and serves wines from the surrounding vineyard. We walked around many of the local villages and explored the region a little. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. It was relaxing and restful.

Room Tip: As there is just one floor, there is nobody above you which is great, some rooms had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you Rosek963 for your wonderful review.
We are so happy that you spent a good time at Villa Acquaviva and also that you enjoyed Maremma as well.

hope to see you soon

best regards

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for four nights when we first arrived in Tuscany. A lovely welcome from Fabrizio (who was always on hand for tips and advice - great guy) led us to discover this tranquil get away - perfect for our honeymoon. The gardens and pool area were just what any couple would want for peace and relaxation. Swimming in the pool surrounded by the Tuscan hills - what more could you want. Our room was delightfully rustic and although not huge in size - was perfectly adequate with a lovely balcony with amazing views. Chilled wine and fruit was a nice extra - we booked a deluxe room.

The real treat for us was the restaurant. We ate some of the best food we have ever tried. One evening we opted for the 8 course wine tasting menu - we got to sample every wine produced by the family carefully matched with 8 courses from their delicious dinner menu. We were looked after so well by the fantastic staff in the restaurant and it was simply lovely to know that the chef was 'mum'.

Not far from the main village of Montemerano, there were other nice restaurants to sample and we took advantage of being near the natural thermal springs of Saturnia Spa - we got a day pass there and was really worth it.

In summary, the family and staff welcome you into their way of life - sharing everything they love. It was a very special and unique place to stay. Truly memorable. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Jenn_Steve_E
what else to add? Incredible review!
As described by you our house, it's just like we would like each guest / friend alive Villa Acquaviva.
Feel at home, but pampered, enjoy the beautiful nature of our estate, but also use it as a base for excursions throughout the Maremma incredible.

Thanks also and above all for the nice words about our restaurant "La limonaia", Valentina and the staff really do a great job and receive comments like your pushing forward.

see you soon, who knows maybe for an anniversary ^_^

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the resort. The grounds and pool area are beautiful. Breakfast consists of eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, jams etc. Staff is very friendly and informative We stayed in a suite room number 25. The suite offered plenty of space and the air conditioner was working properly. The only issue we had was that the toilet is high on a platform which is not good if you are a short person and there is a hot water heater thst needs to be turned on and it takes about 15 minutes for the water to get hot. We would stsy here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Mrs. Cindy K,
thank you for your reviews.
Thank you for your detailed description of our strengths, and thank you also for the advice on the water and hot water.

We hope to show you soon, that we are working to improve.

see you soon

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saska Kepa, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Perfect place to relax. Peace and quiet. Excellent design of the building, the garden and the environment. The friendly and helpful staff. Here we spent 10 wonderful days of our holiday. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to relax away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback.
When guest choice to spend with us a long time, It is not easy for us, because everyday we want to help you to have a funny time and wonderful stay. When we reached a positive result, we are so happy.
So thank you for your amazing words and also to suggest Villa Acquaviva to other people

hope to see you soon here

best regards

Fabrizio D'Ascenzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for a week in a deluxe room. The good news: above all, very helpful staff, genuinely seemed to enjoy supporting their guests, offering all sorts of tips and recommended 'days out'; room has excellent furniture, feels rustic but all well chosen pieces. A lot of love has gone into fitting the communal areas and rooms. The pool area is truly splendid, surrounded by the mature park with plenty of flowers and bordering the vines. Lunch can be taken nearby and is reasonably priced. Breakfast choice was wide ranging with excellent homemade jams, freshly baked croissants and cakes. We also sampled the on site massages - good value when compared to the nearby Saturnia spa. The restaurant La Limonaia was tried one evening. A slight disappointment as I was expecting more from previous reviews, but the food was carefully prepared and 'tried hard' (perhaps too hard) to be creative, but fell short of the wow factor. Good value though with a 4 course meal for two and two glasses of wine each costing around €100. The slightly not so good news: the Rooms are rather small. We had a deluxe room with a small and very pleasant balcony with a lovely view of Montemerano. However in the summer it's simply too hot to stay out there.
The room is small, bathroom is small and the shower is....well, smaller still. The latter not being a place for any extrovert activity...if not you'd have broken elbows.
The air conditioning on the lowest level makes a lot of noise...and in mid August with 38 degrees outside it is essential to have it on...but nice plate of fruit and a bottle of their own wine in the fridge as complimentary on arrival.
But these are minor complaints in what was overall an extremely positive experience. Once again the staff were the key success factor. Just goes to show how important it is to have motivated staff who love what they do and really engage with the guests.
The area has plenty to keep the most demanding Tuscany adicted tourist occupied...Pittigliano (at night), Capalbio and the Giardino dei Tarocchie are just some high points.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe. Apparently by next year they will have increased to room and bathroom sizes and The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Mr. David_and_Tiz,
thank you for your amazing review.
First of all thanks for being very detailed, this allows us to better analyze and be able to correct our mistakes to improve.
I'm glad it was pleased with the staff, is one of our strengths, a team that has become a family.
Thanks also for the compliments for the pool, breakfast, massages and welcome pack.
Let the negative indications:
your room is a Deluxe, actually a little smaller than other deluxe, but with the terrace, if you come back please indicate that you want a larger room, and we will do it without problems. We have 12 Deluxe rooms that are all different so we can, together with the customer, find the best solution.
For air conditioning we have tried many solutions, but quieter is not easy. One of the "problems" is that it is all very quiet, even the smallest noises seem louder.
Regarding the restaurant, do not want to be creative, but genuine and light, the particularity of the "limonaia" is to serve seasonal dishes and typical, but with innovative cooking (vacuum, low temperature, steam). But thanks to his instructions we will try to improve.

hope to see you soon again at Villa Acquaviva

thanks

Fabrizio D'Ascenzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Villa Acquaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Acquaviva

Address: loc. Acquaviva, 10, 58014 Montemerano, Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Montemerano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemerano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Villa Acquaviva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian romantic, country hotel standing in the Tuscan Maremma, close to the Saturnia Spa at Manciano, the Villa Acquaviva luxury hotel is the ideal place for those looking for wellbeing and relaxation. Bedrooms and suites, with hydromassage or with terrace in order to benefit from all the advantages of a comfortable and tranquil stay. Acquaviva Farm’s Wine Cellar is an integral part of the hotel’s elegance and charm: it offers a choice of excellent wine to taste in the wine cellar or in the country hotel’s restaurant. The country hotel’s restaurant, La Limonaia, offers a sophisticated and refined service in the name of wellbeing: Tuscan dishes, typical produce of the Tuscan Maremma, wine and olive oil coming from this eco-friendly, country hotel. An enchanting country hotel, a romantic and regenerating retreat is waiting for you in the delightful Tuscan Maremma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Villa Acquaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Manciano
Relais Villa Acquaviva Italy/Montemerano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Acquaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.