We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Acquaviva

Save Saved
You added Relais Villa Acquaviva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Relais Villa Acquaviva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. Acquaviva, 10, 58014 Montemerano, Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Montemerano
Bologna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for a week in a deluxe room. The good news: above all, very helpful staff, genuinely seemed to enjoy supporting their guests, offering all sorts of tips and recommended 'days out'; room has excellent furniture, feels rustic but all well chosen pieces. A lot of love has gone into fitting the communal areas and rooms. The pool area is truly splendid, surrounded by the mature park with plenty of flowers and bordering the vines. Lunch can be taken nearby and is reasonably priced. Breakfast choice was wide ranging with excellent homemade jams, freshly baked croissants and cakes. We also sampled the on site massages - good value when compared to the nearby Saturnia spa. The restaurant La Limonaia was tried one evening. A slight disappointment as I was expecting more from previous reviews, but the food was carefully prepared and 'tried hard' (perhaps too hard) to be creative, but fell short of the wow factor. Good value though with a 4 course meal for two and two glasses of wine each costing around €100. The slightly not so good news: the Rooms are rather small. We had a deluxe room with a small and very pleasant balcony with a lovely view of Montemerano. However in the summer it's simply too hot to stay out there.
The room is small, bathroom is small and the shower is....well, smaller still. The latter not being a place for any extrovert activity...if not you'd have broken elbows.
The air conditioning on the lowest level makes a lot of noise...and in mid August with 38 degrees outside it is essential to have it on...but nice plate of fruit and a bottle of their own wine in the fridge as complimentary on arrival.
But these are minor complaints in what was overall an extremely positive experience. Once again the staff were the key success factor. Just goes to show how important it is to have motivated staff who love what they do and really engage with the guests.
The area has plenty to keep the most demanding Tuscany adicted tourist occupied...Pittigliano (at night), Capalbio and the Giardino dei Tarocchie are just some high points.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe. Apparently by next year they will have increased to room and bathroom sizes and The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Mr. David_and_Tiz,
thank you for your amazing review.
First of all thanks for being very detailed, this allows us to better analyze and be able to correct our mistakes to improve.
I'm glad it was pleased with the staff, is one of our strengths, a team that has become a family.
Thanks also for the compliments for the pool, breakfast, massages and welcome pack.
Let the negative indications:
your room is a Deluxe, actually a little smaller than other deluxe, but with the terrace, if you come back please indicate that you want a larger room, and we will do it without problems. We have 12 Deluxe rooms that are all different so we can, together with the customer, find the best solution.
For air conditioning we have tried many solutions, but quieter is not easy. One of the "problems" is that it is all very quiet, even the smallest noises seem louder.
Regarding the restaurant, do not want to be creative, but genuine and light, the particularity of the "limonaia" is to serve seasonal dishes and typical, but with innovative cooking (vacuum, low temperature, steam). But thanks to his instructions we will try to improve.

hope to see you soon again at Villa Acquaviva

thanks

Fabrizio D'Ascenzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room in the agriturismo on a one week walking holiday. The room was very clean with minimal furniture which meant there was no drawer space for clothes. If all rooms were like ours (36) you will need to like a very firm mattress to get a good nights sleep! The air conditioning was not working well when we arrived, but this was fixed within half an hour of us raising it as an issue.
We ate in the restaurant on 6 of our 7 nights (closed on a Monday). There was a very good choice on the menu (even for vegetarians) and the dishes were prepared to a very high standard including home made bread. We also very much enjoyed the wine from their own vineyard - we recommend the wine tasting in the hotel.
This is a family run hotel with great attention to customer service which makes for a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. The pool area and gardens are delightful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Mr. CHSEastSussex,
Thanks for your feedback.
We will try to improve the space in the room to make more comfortable while improving the wardrobes.
I'm glad you enjoyed the restaurant and the dishes prepared by my mother, Valentina.
We are waiting for your return and to taste the new wines of Serafino

regards

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Relais Villa Acquaviva. The hotel is situated in the countryside and it was just the relaxing/romantic break we were after. The hotel amenities were top quality and the service and food provided by Fabrizio and the rest of the team was outstanding. A truely lovely stay. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear LozCarr923,
thank you for your beautiful words about Villa Acquaviva.

hope to see you soon

regards

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The owners could not have been more acomadating, staff were very considerate .Pool & restaurant services very good. Help in booking local restaurnts and recormendations when travaling to local towns first class.-

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,
I want to thank you for your feedback.

We enjoyed that you had a good stay at Villa Acquaviva, and all the staff we'll be waiting you for a next stay

see you soon

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel over a long weekend in two different rooms. Both the standard room and the deluxe garden suite -- with a patio overlooking the gardens -- were clean and comfortable. I highly recommend the latter room, which comes with a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy on the patio as the sun goes down. The grounds are very beautiful. The staff were helpful, but only one woman was on duty that weekend who spoke English. She provided us with an itinerary for walking across country to a small village, which we enjoyed very much. We ate in the adjacent restaurant once, but were disappointed. It was expensive and the food was at best mediocre. However, there are plenty of better (and cheaper) restaurants in the local village, which is a two-minute car drive away. The breakfast was much better, and the staff made us American-style coffee which was much appreciated after nearly a month in Italy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.

Villa Acquaviva improves with the advice of customers year after year.

we are sorry that the restaurant was not as you like. Some choices to ensure a better quality (bread&pasta homemade, the exclusive use of our garden kitchen, light and express cooking techniques), we have brought you to be more expensive than other restaurants nearby, but also to be unique in our genre (beautiful location, beautiful inside room, comfortable tables, service quality).

This is not to say that I do not accept your criticism but that will be used in the right measure, to make the necessary considerations and improve us.

hope to see you soon

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

This is a wonderful country inn located in The Maremma, one of the most gorgeous areas on Earth. The owner Fabrizio and his staff treat each guest with dignity and respect. They knocked themselves out in making our restaurant reservations, winery appointments, and planning the daily itineraries.
They also provided a magnificent tasting of their own wines, and this was done in classy style at their enoteca.
This Villa is worth a detour in order to spend relaxing time in a beautiful and historic area with minimal tourist intrusion.
Just a marvelous experience and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Customer,
is always a pleasure to receive a positive comment about Villa Acquaviva.

it's nice to know that staying in our relay was exciting and relaxing.

I'm glad to know that even liked our wines, and the tasting in the Enoteca.

Come back and visit us, now we have a new winery to visit and where to make an other tasting

thanks again

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

This was our second stay at acquaviva and we enjoyed it again enormously: vast bucolic ground, excellent pool, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
if you come on a weekend there's double fun gazing at blitzy italian personages who populate the place.
passaparola is an extraordinary restaurant-with-enoteca in the village in montemerano. we haven't tried da caino (with 2 michelin rosettes) a few streets further because i was not dressed for the occasion, but it's on my todo list for the next stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granduca79, Proprietario at Relais Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Customer,
thanks for the wonderful comments about Villa Acquaviva.

Come back and visit us to see if we have improved our services

thanks again

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Villa Acquaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Acquaviva

Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Manciano
Relais Villa Acquaviva Italy/Montemerano
Address: loc. Acquaviva, 10, 58014 Montemerano, Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Montemerano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Montemerano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Villa Acquaviva 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian romantic, country hotel standing in the Tuscan Maremma, close to the Saturnia Spa at Manciano, the Villa Acquaviva luxury hotel is the ideal place for those looking for wellbeing and relaxation. Bedrooms and suites, with hydromassage or with terrace in order to benefit from all the advantages of a comfortable and tranquil stay. Acquaviva Farm’s Wine Cellar is an integral part of the hotel’s elegance and charm: it offers a choice of excellent wine to taste in the wine cellar or in the country hotel’s restaurant. The country hotel’s restaurant, La Limonaia, offers a sophisticated and refined service in the name of wellbeing: Tuscan dishes, typical produce of the Tuscan Maremma, wine and olive oil coming from this eco-friendly, country hotel. An enchanting country hotel, a romantic and regenerating retreat is waiting for you in the delightful Tuscan Maremma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais Villa Acquaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Acquaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.