We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, nice people, romantic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula to your Saves list
Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Poniente 601, San Andres Cholula, Puebla 72810, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #16 of 42 Puebla B&B and Inns
Guanajuato, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, nice people, romantic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I very highly recommend this wonderful, unique, romantic hotel just in front of the Indian ruins. Have your breakfast at the hotel restaurant by the pool under the bougainvilleas and enjoy your dinner wine there as well. The management of the hotel puts a lot of efforts into making sure that their guests have a great experience. We had a little bit of inconvenience the first night with noisy neighbors that the management took care of and compensated us with complimentary breakfast and wine. The hotel is very proud of their very Good Trip Advisor ratings. I loved the decoration of the hotel and the colors

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
16
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

They are not able to manage situation, some drunk guests begin to do a mess at 4 am and they stopped at 7 am, asking for the manager of the hotel that was unavaible and the act as nothing happend

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and explored Cholula and Puebla last June. The hotel was a great value for the money in a good location. I liked the room and the bathroom, both clean and cozy. The restaurant was OK, the service was extremely slow. I am usually not in a big hurry and don't expect super speedy service, but here you could sit and wait for 15 minutes before someone even set the table for breakfast. I still think the hotel was worth staying in, but I wish the management would fix this one problem. Otherwise I enjoyed that it was super quiet and I slept really well there, although it was a wedding weekend and the area was loud in general.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Villas Arqueologicas is a red of hotels situated nearby major Mexican pyramids. So far we only visited the one in Cholula. The hotel is big, stylish with a garden, swimming-pool and the building has a feeling of an old "hacienda". It is right below the Cholula pyramid, but a little further from the town center (about 15 minutes walk on a slightly abandoned road...probably the only disadvantage). If you don't mind that, or if you are actually looking for a romantic tranquil evening, go for it. If you book online you can get some amazing deals!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny Southern California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night, to visit the pyramid and church. As many others have mentioned, the hotel is a former Club Med, so the rooms are a quite small, but ours was well kept up and clean. Having stayed at two other Villas Arq (Chichen Itza and Coba), we sort of knew what to expect.

We ate dinner and breakfast here, and both were fairly good, but nothing special. Since we were tired, having flown from the US to Mexico City and then driven straight to Cholula, we really appreciated being able to eat dinner on-site.

We enjoyed our lunch the most, which we ate in a street bazaar across from the foot of the main path up to the church.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here quite a bit. The rooms were nice, the beds comfortable. The hotel is kept up nicely. The staff is polite enough but very young and a little timid but they gave us enough help when we asked for it. The location is right in front of the pyramid/church and about a 10 minute walk from the zocalo.
I suppose if you are accustomed to luxury hotels, this one might seem meager but we usually stay in budget hotels. Villas Arqueologicas had a $59 special that we took advantage of so it was a pleasant surprise for us.
The only negative was that we had the bad luck to be there the evening of some local political rally and they had an outdoor dance afterwards near the hotel with music blasting through a mega-PA system until well after midnight (on a Tuesday) and it shook the walls of our room.
Any of the other 364 nights of the year I'm sure it's a super quiet place!
After reading some of the other reviews, I think they have done some maintenance recently because our experience was a bit different. The wifi worked fine and everything was well painted and maintained.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

What is great about this hotel is that is it's location. If you want to see the ruines they are right in front, you cannot get any closer. The hotel itsef is very basic and a Club Med standard I would expect. It is cheap though and ok for one night so I didn't complain. The room are super small, dark, and poorly designed with absolutely no frils. Food at the restaurant was pretty good. Internet did not work in the rooms. SImply nothing special...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula

Address: 2 Poniente 601, San Andres Cholula, Puebla 72810, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Arqueologicas Cholula is located in the city of San Andres Cholula, next to Puebla, Mexico, famous for its 365 churches and various festivities throughout the year, near the archaeological site of Cholula, and just four blocks from the historic city center, located just 30 minutes from the airport of Huejotzingo. Located opposite is the world's largest pyramid in terms of volume. Above the enormous structure, stands the beautiful Nuestra Senora de los Remedios Church. The pyramid has been only partially excavated, contains approximately 4 miles of tunnels where pre-Hispanic murals can be admired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.