We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Room in 3 Weeks of Traveling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Santo Domingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Hostal Santo Domingo
4 Poniente 312 (between 3 and 5 Norte) colonia: centro, Puebla, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Puebla
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worst Room in 3 Weeks of Traveling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived in Puebla late in the evening, tiered after a long buss trip. Affordable rooms near the city Center had been difficult to find so we finally settled on Hostal Santo Domingo. Although the location was good, the. Room was less than satisfactory. There were no towels and not even a bar of soap in the WC. The bedding was clean and the room large but the worst thing was the sewer smell coming out of the bathroom. You had to take a big gulp of air before going inside. We kept the door shut but still had to have the fan on all night to help disparate the smell. Even if you are traveling on a budget there are far better alternatives.; cleaner, more. Harming and cheaper. The breakfast was good and the hotel staff very nice and helpful. The day manage even phoned another hotel for us when we decided not to stay a second night. She went beyond the call of duty. We were shown another room in the hostel that did not smell but it was very small and windowless.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 upstairs. The smell is a health issue,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
15
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a well run hostel, small, clean and comfortable with very friendly staff. the hostel is located in the heart of old Puebla (about 3 blocks to the Zocalo) provides free breakfast and internet access. The en-suite rooms have very tall ceilings and private bath. it is quiet inside the room, but could get a little noisy if you leave the door open to the covered courtyard which also serves as the breakfast room and the general gathering place. I traveled with 2 sons and stayed in this hostel for 4 nights (in 2 trips) so you can say I like it enough to enjoy the place.

the minor things I don't like while there were (1) only 1 of the 3 desktop computers were working; while the wifi signal inside the room was too weak.; and (2) you are allowed 2 pieces of toast or a bowl of cereal + drinks for breakfast. Not that I need more food, but I don't like the straight rule :-)

Room Tip: most rooms have no windows and the door facing the covered courtyard. it could get noisy, so pick o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The entire hostel is freezing! I felt like i was in a warehouse, not a warm hostel.
I got a horrible cold and cough from staying a night there. The blankets keep you warm but the cold drafts are horrible. Theres no way to stop you breathing in the cold air all night.

Bad:
Freezing cold building- maybe made from stone? Old hacienda style layout with enormous open area.
Breakfast is 90% sugar- cereal and white toast with jam.

Good:
Wifi worked
Centrally located

Would try the other hostel in Puebla next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed only one night but I had a nice time. It was very clean, not crowded and very spacious rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast it is good for the price you pay (Coffee, orange juice, toast bread and cereal). The girl at the reception was very helpful giving me tips and maps to get around downtown and at the time I was living she called me a taxi. My only two concerns are that they were only 2 electrical outlets in a room for 12 and one of the guys at the reception was not helpful at all when I asked for things to do or any place to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights here and it was pleasant. I got a private room on the second floor that overlooked the courtyard cafe. The room was windowless but had really high ceilings, so it didn't feel stuffy. Also, the bathroom had recently been renovated. In fact, they were renovating a number of rooms while I was there. The best part about the hostel was that it was just a few blocks from the Zocalo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Check in staff member was very nice and spoke English which was nice of him. He showed me the rules which I had to sign which included 2 that are unheard of at any hostel. No alcohol or smoking anywhere on the premises! Not a great start. The hostel is very empty and very hard to meet anyone due to the unsociable rules. The rooms are very basic and fairly clean except my bathroom has the remains of someone else's soap and loofah! It's in a decent spot about 2 blocks from the town centre. I wouldn't come back though, I would try somewhere else in Puebla.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Spacious rooms, but bathroom could be cleaner. Breakfast was awful. Friendly staff though. Internet was not working the whole time we were there, but there are a lot of internet cafés in town. Puebla itself is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santo Domingo

Address: 4 Poniente 312 (between 3 and 5 Norte) colonia: centro, Puebla, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.