We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Express Puebla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Express Puebla to your Saves list
City Express Puebla
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 Norte No.1406 Col. El Alto opposite of Paseo De San Francisco | Centro Histórico, Puebla 72000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Puebla
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Basic but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here with a group tour. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable and everything functioned properly. The location is quiet and there are dining options nearby. It's walkable to the city center. My only small complaint was the Spartan breakfast. Warm your own pancakes, no fresh fruit, instant coffee. The worst breakfast on a two week tour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Puebla, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Puebla did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
15
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had an accident, and needed a hotel quickly. This hotel was very helpful. Staff helped us with our luggage and on-going arrangements. Super customer service. Management is very responsive. Hotel is clean and accessible.

Room Tip: Most rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Puebla, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay at City Express Puebla comply with your expectatives and our standars of service and quality make you feel confortable.

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds are nice and quiet.

The single rooms are small, the bathroom works well except for one day.

The computer room is fine but the wifi connection usually has problems.

All this is overshadowed by poor service attitude in general, but especially for receptionists: Delia, Mariana and one more I can not remember his name.

Despot staff, rude and ill-mannered. At the start you are greeted with a smile, but when you have a problem you are indifferent and are not able to resolve anything by themselves. They usually leave you hanging on the phone while trying to solve a problem.

Bad taste.

BAD.

Room Tip: Do not take any room next to the gym, it's noisy all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Puebla, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good afternoon Joselo,

Thanks for contacting us, we want to apologize for what happened to the service, we talk to the people involved, be sure that corrective actions are being taken to prevent this from recurring. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us your experience. Which are taken into account to grow and leverage our areas of opportunity.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a basic chain style hotel. It is functional and seems to be well used by business travelers.

We were not very impressed with breakfast which was included. Staff were fairly friendly.

The location is very good. It is close to Centro and zocolo. We also enjoyed the artist area nearby, La Parisan.

The rates were reasonable and the rooms were decent. Nothing special but a good affordable place to stay, we spent 3 nights there but then extended our stay an extra day to see more in Puebla.

You could hear people in adjoining rooms and TV noise, but this is fairly typical in Mexican hotels from our experience (we live in Mexico).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at City Express Puebla, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

We just want to send a short note to say that we are aware of the drawback of our hotel. We commit ourselves to continue to improve our services to meet 100% with your needs.
Thank you very much and hope to see you there at other times
We remain at your entire disposal, we parted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ideal place for business trips on a tight budget
Hotel is clean, rooms are small but practical.
It has a small gym, free internet, buffet breakfast with fruit, natural juices, and ham.
Staff friendly and helpful
There are City Express Hotels by Finsa and Angelopolis if you are going to those areas,
It has a cafe out the door and godd mexican food restaurantrs across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Popocatépetl volcano, great view, you can also see the Cathedral tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Puebla, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It is our pleasure to offer our services is our main motivation and commitment that your stay is pleasant and productive. Together with you we are taking an important first step in our path.
We appreciate the confidence you had in sharing their experience and this commits us to continue working hard towards achieving new triumphs and today we are proud that you are part of the story we're writing.

Thanks for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you are planning to visit beautiful Puebla as a tourist and have read many reviews of noisy, smelly hotels, or rude staff, located in the heart of Districo Historico, then City Express is a sure bet to please. It is located just on the fringe of the district, but easy walking distance to the Zocalo, the historic forts to the east, and the mercado to the north west.There are a few restaurants just out the front door. Free shuttle rides in a new hotel van. The front desk staff speak a little English, so check in-out is no problem. This isn't some cutesy boutique hotel, but why go here if you are gonna hang out in a hotel? It is clean, quiet and convenient, and there is a nice secluded courtyard in back if you want to relax on site. Oh yeah, the breakfast is alright, too.

Room Tip: my room on the 5th floor was quieter than the one on the 3rd (two different dates)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalidadyServicio, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Puebla, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Mark B,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice time at Puebla and that the service you received at City Express was up to your standards.
Looking forward to host you on your next visit to Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

City Express is a chain that caters primarily to Mexican business travelers. What it lacks in charm it makes up for in efficiency. When we entered our room we thought we were in Sweden or Germany. Neutral colours and everything worked. Very quiet. You can even drink the tap water. The combined AC heater works well and you do need both heating and cooling at this time of year. Overnight temps were 0 C and daytime up to 25 C. The included breakfast was adequate. Fruit, cold cereal, yoghurt, pastries, pancakes heated in the microwave, something that looks like coffee.
Just in front of the hotel are a few Mexican restaurants in a park about 2 blocks long. The restaurant on the right coming out of the hotel was the best of the bunch. The hotel is walking distance to the Zocalo (10 minutes) and a couple minutes walk to Paseo San Francisco. We found Taxi fares in puebla to be really reasonable, between 30 and 45 pesos depending on distance, so we used taxis a lot.
Highly recommend City express

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Express Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Puebla

Address: Calle 10 Norte No.1406 Col. El Alto opposite of Paseo De San Francisco | Centro Histórico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Express Puebla 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your City Express Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Express Hotel Puebla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Express Puebla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.