We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in historic downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure to your Saves list
Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Oriente 627, Col. Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Greeneville, Tennessee
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel in historic downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Beautiful rooms in this stylish renovated historic building! Great service and breakfast! Our room was facing 5 de Mayo and had access to the patio but we did not hear anything! For any occasion I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
31
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a week stay and loved the hotel and the staff. Joseph and Iban were outstanding in the restaurant and the food quality was excellent. Angel the bell attendant was helpful throughout the week. Loved the room, just beautiful and clean.

Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The check-in was a breeze, parking was valet, location was superb if you want to explore downtown puebla. Hotel breakfast was a la carte but included in the package so it was all good. The attention by the staff was great, service was timely. Didn't get the normal hello/goodbye greetings that was expected from the staff at a hotel.
The terrace was very airy and had lots of natural lighting with lots of sitting area.

Room Tip: floors on the first floor have the colonial feel, but were humid. The rooms on the 2nd floor are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Two nights in Descanseria. The service was great. Friendly professional. the design and architecture is clean, above par, comfortable, fresh. Feel of the historic with the brick and modern with the design choices. The location just off 5 de Mayo could be problematic with traffic noise but i heard nothing either night and slept very well. (beds are great with nice choice of linens) Three blocks from the cathedral in the central historic district. The restaurant, though small was modern, efficient, great food and offered what i wanted…mainly breakfast. I certainly would stay here again when i return to Puebla. Is it a 5 star hotel…no…but it didn´t cost 250 dollars a night…you get more than what you pay for here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the superior rooms down stairs. Huge rooms, huge bathroom. Very good bed with soft linen and comfortable base. Very nice architecture combining the "old" walls, I believe from the colonial time, with a modern architecture.
Friendly reception, good restaurant (breakfast included and very rich). Nice lobby with soft background music. Especially for lovers of a modern and design ambient.
Perfect location just aprox. 3 squares from the "zocalo" (main square) right in the centre.
The only reason why I can not give the 5* is that the floor was dirty (when we came out of the shower and made a few steps our feet where black again and even if we asked to clean the floor on the next day they didn't.
Second reason: The free WiFi was not working well - in the room we did not had good connection and at the lobby it was very slow. For a hotel which's slogan is "Business and Pleasure" a real down.
Otherwithe they would deserve the 5* and I hope the keep the standard up like this, as mentioned it's only 9 month open...

Room Tip: I would recommend the superior rooms if you like a "special" architecture with the combina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked one room for 2 adults and 2 kids(age 6 and 8) on hotel.com(MXN$1224/day). When we arrived at hotel, they told us that the free breakfast only for 2 adults. Breakfast for kid is MXN$75 charged additional. They didn't mention this extra charge on website.
We stayed this hotel on June2013 last time, they charged nothing for kid's breakfast according to the same "free breakfast" service.
I will consider not to choose this hotel next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were a family (two parents and an adult child) traveling to visit our son, studying abroad in Puebla. We chose the hotel because of its convenient location near the Zocalo and loved the decor shown in the pictures online. When we arrived, we were not disappointed. The staff was so accommodating, calling a cab for us whenever we needed, as well as very friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful, peaceful with comfortable pillows and beds, and very clean. The showers were hot and bathrooms were nice. We stayed in the part of the hotel that maintained some of the old infrastructure, which included some exposed beams and stone in the walls which created a relaxing atmosphere. The internet was very reliable and a computer and printer is available in the lobby to print off your boarding passes. All the rooms open up to a courtyard on the first floor, and a seating area on the second floor, which was a great place to read and sit in the sunlight. During the day you could hear the street traffic, but it was quiet at night and we never had trouble sleeping.

We honestly cannot say enough about the staff, especially Luis and the doormen. Luis was our waiter for breakfast, and by the end of the trip, we were spending 45 minutes speaking with him, learning about his family and practicing our Spanish. We also received great restaurant recommendations for authentic taquerias (we also never got sick through out the entire trip!). Breakfast is included at the hotel, and it is the best hotel breakfast we had ever experienced in all our travels. You have the option of delicious vegetable quiche, omelettes, eggs benedict, sweet bread, and fresh fruit. It was wonderful.

The hotel is located on a colorful street right next to the outdoor markets and only a few blocks away from the barrio de artistas, cathedral and many restaurants in the zocalo. We never felt unsafe, never got lost, and truly loved our experience in Puebla.

Without any hesitation, we would highly recommend that anyone looking to stay in Puebla should stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the "older" section of the hotel, it seemed more charming but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure

Address: 3 Oriente 627, Col. Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Descanseria, Hotel Business and Pleasure, is one of the most charming and special hotels in the Cityof Puebla. Our passion for service, attention to detail and calling for hospitality assure our guest´s’satisfaction.The hotel is located in a 17th Century colonial style mansion, which has been fully refurbish toaccommodate travelers seeking comfortable and high quality lodging at an affordable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.