We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puebla a treat to savor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Hotelito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Hotelito to your Saves list
El Hotelito
7 sur # 303 col centro historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkeley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Puebla a treat to savor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

El Hotelito of very moderate price but ideally located is an
easy walk through different areas. We were only planning to spend 3 - 4 days here and then go on to Tlaxcala a place I remembered with fondness. We decided to alter our plans and do Tlaxcala and another small town as day trips avoiding the packing and unpacking dilemmas. The main museum in Puebla is so fantastic and do not miss the terrace on top and as it turned out when we were there - a free jazz concert. It's a businessmans town not a tourist town, like Oaxaca where we are now( but an exquisite one at that)

Room Tip: Definitely the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
49
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed with my family at El Hotelito in August 2013 for 4 nights. The hotel is beautiful, We had a large room with balcony overlooking the street. The hotel has everything that we were looking for: location (10min from downtown), parking, wifi, friendly staff, comfortable beds, no issues with the bathrooms. I recomend El Hotelito well located, good place, great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We selected this hotel based on price and other Trip Advisor Reviews. By its architecture it is an older property with some renovations, and is very central. It has a spacious welcoming concierge and lovely courtyard where we enjoyed our dinner one evening. Our room was overlooking the street and could get noisy (a seasoned traveller carries earplugs!) but the inner rooms did not have windows. The room was large with high ceilings and lovely wooden beams and a kitchenette that included fridge, microwave, and coffee machine but no cutlery, cups or plates etc. Accordingly, it would be more useful for a longer stay as opposed to a night or two. The sheets and towels were changed daily. Bottled water was provided on the first day. Hot water for showers was always available but the bathroom could use some caulking. Breakfast was not included but there is a cosy café adjoining the hotel for coffees and snacks. However it is not open on Sundays. As previous travellers have mentioned there is a lingering smell in the room. I thought it was just the cleaning detergent. However, we did notice an additional staff member walking around with a tank and spray nozzle which when asked were told was to fumigate the rooms. He assured us it was not toxic. While it did not affect me, it did trigger sinus issues for my husband, so just a word of caution for anyone who suffers from asthma, allergies, sinus inflammation etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

El Hotelito is a good small hotel with basic services. Internet, tv, microwave, refrigerator, bed, hot water and convenient location 4 blocks (5 minutes) away from central square. Design is Mexican style. If you don´t look for luxury and just need the hotel to sleep, hotelito is a nice option. Wake up early because rooms next to the the street get very noisy. Best of all is the price: Around U.S. $40.00 for a double stay. Parking lot just by the corner.

Room Tip: 2 tips: Choose a room on floor level (lots of stairs if you get a 1st level room) and get a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Cute little hotel, clean and safe. Just perfect for a family on a tight budget. The staff was friendly and helpful! I would definitely comeback again. My parents will travel with us next year and I would still consider this place my first option for accommodation at the right price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

For £12 a night, this place was great value for money. The room was a little dark/hot but apart from that it was clean, everything worked and the hotel is in a great location to explore Puebla (which was lovely). Service at the front desk was very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Sheets and towels are stained pretty badly. The rooms are either dark and dingy but quiet or bring and dingy but very noisy due to being on the street. Bed had crumbs and hair on it. Pretty dirty. Friendly staff. Good location and cheap but not worth the savings for me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito

Address: 7 sur # 303 col centro historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotelito is a XVIII century mansion is located the heart of the city of Puebla 3 blocks from the zocalo and cathedral, the rooms have telephone, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your El Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hotelito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.