We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT CHOICE FOR A GOOD PLACE AT A LOW PRICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Hotelito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Hotelito to your Saves list
El Hotelito
7 sur # 303 col centro historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“PERFECT CHOICE FOR A GOOD PLACE AT A LOW PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel gave me exactly what I needed. I nice and cozy place located near the zocalo and the cathedral, a hotel with a parking space for my car and a low price.

The hotel location is just perfect, only 3 blocks away from the zocalo. It is a small and simpel hotel but with pretty much everything you might need: parking, wireless internet, good bed and even a little fridge to keep your beverages cold.

The price is very good, I took a lot at other cheap hotels and those were really crapy. Hotelito is nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
50
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well situated, just 3 blocks from the zocalo, cathedral... Very friendly staff. First night I stayed in the hotel, had to change rooms as there was no seat on the toilet. At any price, there should be at least that in the room. Needed to stay a second night. The room they put me in, was fine, everything in working order.

It is too bad. Overall, the hotel is nice. All they would need to do is put a little attention to the rooms. With just a few minor changes, the whole comfort level would change.

But as many have mentioned, good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel - a Saturday. The rooms are well equipped but dark as they open onto a shared courtyard. The communal area is very pleasant with sofas, plants etc but the noise really carries. I was woken several times in the night by roars of laughter and shouting. I'm not sure whether it was the other guests or the hotel staff, but I suspect the latter, as I was woken again at 7am by someone trying to get into the hotel. They knocked, rang the bell and phoned the desk for over half an hour before the staff let them in. My advice is to bring ear plugs, or look for somewhere quieter!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just got back from Puebla and spent 7 nights at Hotelito but over 10 days so I had a chance to stay in 3 different rooms. All rooms (that I was in) have 16ft ceilings. Room 12 is one of the biggest with a king bed. Has a college fridge and micro. It overlooks the street and there is bar around the corner. By the 2nd night, I could phase out the noise but the music went on all night. I'm talking 5am all night. Bed is also rock hard so left my shoulder and hips sore and I am used to sleeping on Mexico beds. Wi-Fi also was touch and go due to the thick walls. Room 6 is a double and twin bed combo. Inner courtyard so no street noise and Wi-Fi was perfect. Bathroom has transom window directly to courtyard so beware of singing in the shower if you know what I mean. Beds were good. Had fridge but no micro. Room 8 is a king and was my best of the three. Inside courtyard door so no street noise and bathroom was not attached to courtyard. Bed was great. Has fridge and micro. All inner courtyard rooms have transom windows above doors. The courtyard lights do not go off until ~midnight so it can be a bit bright. Overall, this place is really great. The staff at all times were wonderful and although their English is limited, they go out of their way to help. They carried our heavy bags up the narrow iron stair (no elevator), helped with taxis, and made the place a nice place to be. The price is low so don't expect much in the way of elements. It is very clean, close to Plaza and at an average of $33.87USD per night, it just can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at El Hotelito for six nights in May 2012. We had room # 12. The rooms were big and very clean. Our balcony looked out onto the street. It could be noisy during the daytime and early evening but late at night it was quiet. The kingside bed was comfortable. There was wifi in the room. The hotel was close to some really good restaurants, a great bar (Barra Beer) within a block, a great coffee shop (Aroma) and a 10 minute walk to the zocalo. We do not speak much Spanish, but the staff were very helpful in arranging bus and taxi rides. We had a flight cancellation due to the volcano and the hotel staff helped us contact the airline to arrange for an alternate flight from Mexico City. The room was a bit dark, but that is a minor complaint. Overall this hotel was very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved staying in this hotel. The service was wonderful. The service incredible. Located in an excellent location and the price affordable! We highly recommended it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we wanted to stay one more night at Puebla but we didn't have the budget to spend on a nice boutique room. We were staying at Casareyna boutique hotel that was wonderful. So we asked about another cheap good option and we found El Hotelito.

Great price, perfectly located very close to the zocalo and all churches. The rooms are big and clean. Of course you can not expect something gorgeous for the rate we payed, but the place was confortable, good beds, nice decor, quiet and small.

There is no restaurant, but you can find lots of places to eat right arround the corner.

I think is the perfect choice when don't want to spend a lot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito

Address: 7 sur # 303 col centro historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotelito is a XVIII century mansion is located the heart of the city of Puebla 3 blocks from the zocalo and cathedral, the rooms have telephone, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hotelito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.