We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, really nice hotel, reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Leonardo Puebla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Leonardo Puebla to your Saves list
San Leonardo Puebla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 2 Oriente 211, Puebla 72000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Puebla
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, really nice hotel, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I spent the weekend in Puebla at the Hotel San Leonardo after a week working in Mexico City. As with all the hotels I've picked using Trip Advisor, it was superb.

The staff was friendly and able to help us with all our needs (we are pretty self contained) and not intrusive. We have limited Spanish skills and were easily able to communicate.

The hotel itself is beautiful with a traditional and historical air about it without seeming overly formal. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant, the menu looked excellent, with reasonable prices and was open from 7 AM to 11 PM. There were many restaurants very close by, at various price points.

Our room was on 5th floor at the back of the hotel, with a tiny balcony where we had a fantastic view of jillions of church domes including the Zocalo AND the volcano! Wow! That was the best part. Awesome! We thought the front of the hotel facing the street would have been more noisy (although it wasn't a "noisy" street, it was narrow with solid 2-8 story buildings and there was quite a bit of traffic), and we would have missed the volcano! It was very conveniently located, just a couple of blocks from the Zocalo--easy to find, easy to walk to and from all the activity of the town square. The church bells were a nice touch.

Our room was very clean with 2 quite firm double beds. The beds seemed smaller than regular double but since there were 2 of them we could spread out comfortably. We had an air conditioner that we could control ourselves so were able to maintain a temp that was comfortable to us. We missed not having a refrigerator to chill our beverages, and a setup to make coffee but would not have traded anything for those conveniences, which were readily available nearby.

I would highly recommend Hotel San Leonardo. We will stay there next time we go to Puebla.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
25
23
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The best about this hotel is location! only one block from the Zocalo, two blocks from the Parian market. The rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely view. The hotel is a beautiful colonial house attached to a modern small building. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The only thing that I did not like is that my mother saw a cockroach near the hotel restaurant and obviously we didn't eat there but there is a "Vip's" restaurant right on the corner and is an excellent option for tasty breakfast. For fearless chilli lovers, go to the "Puerto de Veracruz" restaurant at the downtown and try the "chiltepin fish"... the hottest dish on earth!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

My family and I stayed here for four nights and the service was incredible!! Very clean, helpful staff (needed recomendations for restaurants, tours, taxi's), location was incredible, everything was within a block, el zocalo, el parian, mercado san victoria, etc. We booked our room thru expedia and only paid $60 U.S. a night, a bargain!! We were on the 6th floor and the views from our room was breathtaking, the volcano, the cathedral. The restaurant breakfast was a bit pricey but the food was delicious!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed three nights in this hotel and were pleasantly surprised after some of the reviews we had read. We travel with 3 small children (1 baby) and this hotel had no problems with having 5 of us in the room (although it was a small room). We booked via their central hotel phone booking service and this was the cheapest price and included breakfast. The main square, markets and beautiful streets were all walking distance. The hotel has a very small pool but was a refeshing dip after a hot day of walking.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I organized a business trip to Puebla for 8 individuals (plus spouses) . On a recommendation from a native to Puebla, we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. This is definitely not your typical Holiday Inn. The hotel itself is a very old building and very beautiful. The hotel is right near the Zocalo, so very convenient to the downtown area. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Many of the rooms have a very small balcony with lovely city views. The rooms were inexpensive and clean.

The service from the front desk staff and the cleaning staff was certainly above average. I dined in the restaurant once for breakfast and found the service to be good and my breakfast was reasonable. However, my favorite (although not very carb-conscious) place for breakfast was right across the street at this great bakery which I guess is one of the oldest in the city. The best time to go there for baked goods was late in the evening when everything is coming fresh out of the ovens and I suggest only items that look like "french" pastries (the flaky stuff). These were by far the best...everything else was just mediocre. The best part, two pastries will cost you roughly $0.50 USD. What a bargain!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

Clean, Well-located hotel with wonderful views from the rooms! Lobby is gorgeous as are the breakfast area(part of the original building. Very good buffet breakfast, everyone in our group was quite satisfied with it and the staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Spectacular views from the rooms, beds a bit firm but clean and overall comfortable, bright and spacious rooms. Just literally wrap around a corner to the Zocalo, central plaza, wonderful location! Very good experience, all were pleased.

  • Liked — Location, convenience, staff
  • Disliked — Bed a bit too firm.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed there in Easter and almost the whole of Puebla was fully booked. As we were travelling with a child, we did not want to research a hotel room when on arrival of town. So we booked two nights. We found out the reason why this hotel had free rooms. Apart from the location and the public areas, our opinion is that there is nothing worth being appraised about this property. Most rooms (if not all) are located in a contemporay building attached to the marvellous colonial original building. There was no architectural concern on how to incorporate the modern building. The result is an ugly mix. Room was small and smelly. The staff were unhelpful and far from being polite. And, above all, it was way overpriced. We stayed there the first night and managed to get a free room in the Marriott, which is a bit far from downtown and too resort-y for our taste, but mcuh cheaper and very good-value-for-money. Strongly advise not to stay there. There are much better alternatives in Puebla, cheaper or about the same value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — About everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Leonardo Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Leonardo Puebla

Address: Av 2 Oriente 211, Puebla 72000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Leonardo Puebla 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Puebla, well known as 'Cultural Patrimony of the Humanity',is sorrounded on its historical center area, by many buildings with lots of testimonies of the past, and one of the constructions that conforms this cultural city is justly a beautiful 100 years old french style building, which includes all the confort that business men and tourists requires, also our guests will be able to experience the combianation among modern services and the history of this beautiful building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your San Leonardo Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Leonardo Puebla Hotel Puebla
Holiday Inn Puebla
Puebla Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Leonardo Puebla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.