We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful antique hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Puebla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Real Puebla to your Saves list
Quinta Real Puebla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Poniente No. 105 | Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful antique hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This 400+ year old monastery turned hotel is absolutely astonishing. It has a very antique Mexican monastery feel without being overwhelming, feeling old or being untidy. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms spacious and clean. The service was good and it is very well located (just a couple of blocks from the zocalo). The only problem we had was with the smell of sewage in the bathroom but that seems to be a common problem in Mexico.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
49
39
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Puebla is well worth a visit - its a fine spanish colonial city whihc has played a major role in the history of Mexico. Staying in the old center of town, all the magnificent sites are well with in walking distance, making them both accessible and adding greatly to ones knowledge of its past . Poblanos take pride in their city and willingly share their knowledge about it. There are great places to dine - and particularly to enjoy the famous mole poblano. Can't leave without trying that!

As to where to stay Quinta Real has always been our favorite. Right in the center, with fabulous colonial architecture to match. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is most helpful . ( Plus there is onsite valet parking)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location: Excellent! To enjoy Puebla downtown. The old "barrios" (neighborhoods), palaces, churches (including the Cathedral), restaurants and other very interesting and beautiful historic places, are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Atmosphere: a ex-convent building, beautifully restored with a nice "colonial" atmosphere.

Comfort: we stayed in a Master Suite, clean and quiet, but the shower had a poor drain which produced a bad smell. We reported this to the staff of the hotel, but they did nothing during our stay (fortunately the bathroom had a window and a good air extractor).

Service and experience in bars and restaurants: maybe the highlight of the stay, with superb breakfast and wide choice of dishes, all of them excellent in quality. Service of the waiter during breakfast was outstanding, certainly the exception to the average attention of the rest of staff. Also a very nice, quiet and romantic atmosphere at the bar "Las Novicias".

Personalized service: no.

Overall experience: average. Having stayed many times in this hotel when it was Camino Real, I may say that it is still a Camino Real Hotel with an "upgrade" in the name and the decoration of the rooms.

Final recommendation: check your bill thoroughly before payment, to ensure they do not include improper charges.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the 9 Poniente Street (they are very noisy due to the traffic). Whenever possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location and wonderful common spaces. It has so much potential, it is such a pity that it is so badly managed. It is not enough to have a wonderful historic building in a good location to make a hotel, you also have to back it up with service.

What was good: the building is gorgeous and grand. The location is good about 3 blocks from the Zocalo. The breakfast spread was amazing…huge selection, and good food. The bathrooms were nice and clean, with good bath products and water pressure.

What was not good: internet service was appalling and slow, where it was available. The hotel promised in its literature and online via the site I booked that internet was available throughout the hotel for an added charge. While I think nowadays a hotel that charges for internet is not in keeping with the times, a hotel that claims internet and then the reception staff say, well, it is not available where you are in the building is false marketing.

When a hotel sells a room as a suite, or a deluxe suite there are certain expectations you might have about the meaning of the word "suite". It certainly doesn't correspond to the reality of a room not much bigger than the bed or without any windows. Our rooms smelled bad and were dirty, and one had no windows except a little one in the shower.

We brought this to the attention of hotel staff, and asked if other rooms were available. After being told that the hotel was completely sold out, so we could not change, they changed their tune when we offered to pay the difference in room rate to upgrade. We offered to give up our two rooms to take one of their nicest rooms--where the value of our two rooms was essentially the same as the value of the nice room. This would have been for one night. They came up with the unusual solution of making us pay in full again because we had pre-paid to an online travel agency at an attractive rate. It is very bizarre logic.

Check in is at 15:00 in the afternoon, so rather late. A breakfast tray that was outside of my room at check-in had been there all morning, and was still there at midnight.

I would definitely not recommend this place, but rather go for one of the many other properties, some of which are even better situated. Hugely disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay away, this place is anti-guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the previous weekend in this hotel for a two-day meeting (20 people). We had some delay setting up the Internet service for attendants and some could never get it. Instead, they used the guest Internet service, but in the end the problem got solved. Catering for our meeting was great in general, they kept coming back to make sure everything was ok and except for coffee (it was just warm enough) we were well served. Rooms are absolutely great, all of them look recently renovated and the views from all of them are exceptional, Internet service is included and runs at decent speed. Perhaps one of the best locations is the main patio where breakfast is served, it has a sliding roof that is opened and closed according to weather. The other great thing is that the hotel is located barely two blocks from the main plaza and cathedral.
On the down side we had to wait for a while at the bar before being served, and we had to walk out to find a barman! The second night this didn't happen but it was a weekend anyway!
I would recommend this place both for a meeting and to bring my wife for romantic weekend. I'm hesitant to bring the whole family as it doesn't have swimming pool or other family-oriented amenities.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is quiet, but the elevator only goes up to the third floor, so you have to walk a bit f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is a real jewel. The +400 years old property has been renovated to the highest standards to deliver and outstanding and unique hotel. Although you are in a very old building you have all what you expect from a 5 stars hotel. Rooms are big, comfortable with all amenities you can expect, nice bathrooms, excellent beds, etc.. If you are in Puebla to know the old city, this hotel is just 3 blocks away from the Zocalo.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

My family and I loved this hotel. It is beautiful, staff was wonderful and location was excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Loved the upscale toiletries and the satin ribbons on the towels. They leave a bookmark in your room each night, a great touch! By the way, check in took all of 2 minutes. We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Real Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Puebla

Address: 7 Poniente No. 105 | Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puebla
#6 Business Hotel in Puebla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
#9 Family Hotel in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Puebla 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Real Puebla is in Convento de la Limpia Concepcion former building. Such convent was founded in February 24th, 1593 by the Xonotla priest, Leonardo Ruiz de la Pena, where the Spanish blood purity and the dowry were essential for every candidate of the Concepcionistas Descalzas order. It is located in the downtown of Puebla capital among over 200 historical buildings, five minutes away from the Conventions Center, and 15 minutes from the Expositor Center and from the main shopping malls and industrial parks, thirty minute from the Hermanos Serdan International Airport, and two hours from Mexico City International Airport. Quinta Real Puebla has 84 beautiful suites, divided in six categories. Each suite is different and totally designed in a contemporary style, added with the regional touch, and framed with the exclusive scenery of the colonial era. El Refectorio restaurant, of high international and Mexican traditional cuisine, transports to the colonial era, offering an incomparable sightseeing of the main patio framed by a bows series from the XVI century. Its dished are elaborated with the highest quality, which can delight the most demanding taste. El Refectorio offers its services from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm and 24 hours suite service. Las Novicias bar allows having an incomparable experience, offering a wide range of national and international drinks; opens everyday from 3:00 pm to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Real Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Puebla Hotel Puebla
Camino Real Hotel Puebla
Puebla Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Puebla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.