We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantona Archaeological Ruins

Cantona Archaeological Ruins
Cantona, Puebla, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 attractions in Puebla
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Portland, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I heartily agree with the other reviews. We managed to find a guide to take us here as we were somewhat underwhelmed with Puebla. It's about an hour away in a pretty remote area. The ruins uncovered thus far are nice if somewhat smaller in scale than others, but the setting! Cactus covered fields, snow covered mountains in the distance and it is unusually quiet for Mexico. For most of our visit, the three of us had the place entirely to ourselves! How often does that happen? If you are in Puebla for any reason, it will be well worth your trouble to find a way here.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Every bit as impressive as the other better known ruins in Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

While staying in Puebla my wife and I made a day trip to Cantona about 90 km NE of Puebla more-or-less using public transporation.

Although generally not described in travel books, the site is very impressive and unfortunately does not receive many visitors. For almost all of the 3 hours that we were there on a Friday, we saw no one else.

From down town Puebla, here is what we did.

-taxi to CAPU bus station
-"Via" bus line to Oriental - about 70 peso each and about 90 minutes on local highway 129.
-exit the bus in "centro"
-taxis were right there
-"chartered" a taxi to take us to Cantona, taxi stayed for 3 hours (it takes more-or-less 3 hours to walk the site) then return to Cantona.
-english speaking guide (he spent 1.5 years in Calgary and his English is quite good) lupevasquez@live.ca
-"Via" bus back to Puebla from Oriental centro - at an estimated 30 minute intervals.
-total door to door time - 8 hours - total cost about 1,000 peso

The site is much different than the well descibed and well visted Monte Alban, Teotiuacan, and Chichen Itza, etc, with many comparatively low pyramides and many ball courts on a quite large site.

For a group of 4 persons, hiring a taxi for the day in Puebla would probably make more sense, since the bus fare for the two of us cost about 300 peso, and would have the advantage of going by the faster toll highway.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We went to Cantona Archeological site on a Sunday trip with my family. It is about an hour from Puebla with a very good road.

We were impressed that this site is not as "popular" as others in Mexico. The place is gigantic, very well maintained and is different than many other sites in the country which makes it very interesting.

I definitely recommend you take the tour if you are in Puebla.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cantona Magica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I have to echo the previous review on Cantona. I operate bicycle trips in the Puebla/Veracruz area and have brought people to the ruins many times. There is something special about this site that goes beyond just the details of the excavated architecture. Perhaps it is strange, dry hills surrounding the place or the eerie quiet of the excavated ball courts. Most of all I love it because there is almost never anyone else there. A far cry from the throngs crawling over Chichen Itza, the light shows at Uxmal or Sunday at Teotihuacan. Probably a little tricky to get there by public transport but doable and very easy if you have a car. Great place to stop on your way to Cuetzalan but that is another story.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Visit Cantona in Puebla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

When we started researching about where to go in the state of Puebla, the name of Cantona popped up. We asked our guide about it, but he was not enthusiastic or elaborated about the place. Our mind was set and we wanted to go, Cantona was described as an archeological site and we were interested to learn. When we got there our jaw dropped, there is no way I can describe the place with words, it is a newly "discovered" site and only about 1% has been excavated, it is a city with different and well marked social strata. There, you can find guides, local people with deep ties to the site, that for a tip($) can explain what has been discovered and help you use your imagination to picture what is still there, don't think for a minute that it is a small site, no, it is thought to be one of the largest urban areas in mesoamerica, so prepare for a good trek and climbing of pyramids.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantona Archaeological Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Cantona Archaeological Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantona Archaeological Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cantona Archaeological Ruins to your Saves list