We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise~!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa de la Palma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa de la Palma to your Saves list
Hotel Casa de la Palma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Oriente 217 | Centro Historico, Puebla, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We booked this hotel on bookings.com the night before so weren't really sure what to expect.

When we walked into the room (top floor suite with 2balconies) we weren't sure whether to gasp or laugh - it was huge! The bed was comfortable, the sheets/towels beautifully clean, the view was fabulous, great hot shower and oodles of space. The decor was a little over the top with big metre pictures of generals above the bed and the biggest TV i have ever seen. It wasn't my taste but was such a great experience and really added to the 'colonial village' experience we had in Puebla.

The staff were just fabulous, carrying my large suitcase up the many flights of stairs and providing us with valuable help on where to go and what to see. They were only too happy to help, even when we asked if we could get breakfast at 7am as we had to leave early. They kindly accommodated us by packing us fruit to take on the road - really above and beyond what you'd expect.

The value for money was fabulous with this charming hotel. Highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
24
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We travel in Mexico a lot, We like hotels that have character, where the staff is friendly and helpful, that are clean, that have plenty of hot water, and that have reading lights for the beds. We prefer to be in the historic centers of the places we visit. We are not fussy and do not require the latest in American- style facilities or conveniences. Great character and cool places to stay are key to us. The Casa de la Palma was a total winner for us. It is located in an old colonial home with a charming central courtyard that has recently been nicely renovated. Staff was super helpful and knowledgeable about Puebla and about traveling. Rooms are lovely – large, big windows onto either the street or the central courtyard, with en suite baths, recently redone and plenty of hot water. It is in a terrific location one block from the Zocalo and central to most everything one might want to see or eat In Puebla.
One tip: the street is noisy, so best to get an interior room on the courtyard if noise is a problem. ‘
One complaint: sound insulation between rooms could be better. We had to keep our bathroom door shut to close off sounds from the room next door.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We chose this place because of the location and tripadvisor reviews. It's very close to the zocalo.

We stayed in the HUGE Porfiriana Suite. The furnishings and decor were not my taste at all, although i did appreciate that they hid the giant screen TV in an wardrobe. The room was a corner suite and did have two balconies, which was nice.

There was something odd about the place. Both my partner and I can't put our finger on what exactly. They did have nice, large umbrellas for guests to borrow - much appreciated during rainy season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

After a week's stay in Puebla in 2009, we were excited to return the next year to study Spanish there at the Spanish Insitute of Puebla.(SI Puebla) We looked forward to returning to the hotel we'd stayed in. We spent an entire month there and it never disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, very charming, and so well located. The best thing of all are the people who work there..they are extraordinary, and go out of their way to make your vacation wonderful. Juan Carlos, who is likely to greet you is a GEM. Marco is also so nice and accommodating. The ladies who make breakfast and clean the rooms...Olga, Viane and Natalya ...are fantastic. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else..this felt like family!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Loved the place. It is an old bishop house and each room used to be something else. I traveled with Mom and we stayed in what used to be a dance hall! It was a huge room with antique furniture. The hotel is 2 blocks away from the main plaza, has parking, and the service was just great! The breakfast was also full and nice.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Hotel Casa de la Palma, located 2 short blocks from Puebla's Zocalo, is a restored early 20th century home. Many original details remain, inculding wonderful tile floors and painted walls and celings. All most all of the rooms are huge suites, with ample modern bathrooms. The rooms each have names, Suite Canina with dog statues and prints, Suite Angeles, with angels of course. Some of the rooms retain the flavor of their original use, the smoking room is a wonderful suite with original moorish details. The grand front sala is the Porfiriana Suite with orignal letters signed by Mexico's longest serving president, Porfirio Diaz. Fabulous! Martin de Lima, the able manager made our stay easy by making dinner reservations, guiding us with directions and being delightful and friendly. The full breakfasts were delicious and the coffee some of the best I have had in Puebla. There is safe parking in front of the hotel and all of the center is within easy walking distance. Since many of the rooms have windows facing the street, bring earplugs for weekend nights. Prepare to be enchanted with this property and the employees!

  • Liked — We felt at home here in historic suroundings in a historic city
  • Disliked — street noise a bit at night
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa de la Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de la Palma

Address: 3 Oriente 217 | Centro Historico, Puebla, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa de la Palma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa de la Palma is considered a special category first class hotel for its unique and wide 16 suites. Each one is decorated differently, keeping the architecture and history of each room. For its beautiful architecture and exclusive design, the house is considered world heritage.Its excellent location (one block to the cathedral) its make access to the most important and world recognizes touristic places easier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Casa de la Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Palma Hotel Puebla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa de la Palma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.