We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Elegance and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casareyna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casareyna Hotel to your Saves list
Casareyna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Privada 2 Oriente 1007, Puebla, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern Elegance and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent six nights at the Casareyna and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and comfortable (billed as a suite, but really just one large room), with a good-sized private patio. We loved the simple yet very Mexican decor: The hotel highlights contemporary Casareyna Talavera and the work of Mexican artists, sculptors and craftsmen throughout its rooms and public spaces. The staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. An added plus is the hotel's restaurant, which serves some of the best food in Puebla. It should be noted that the Casareyna is a short walk from the historic district, a walk that involves crossing a busy thoroughfare. I have only one suggestion for improvement; it would be helpful if the hotel could assist with tourist information and securing an English speaking guide. While Tourist Information on the zocalo does these things, it is a considerable for walk from the hotel, most of the commonly offered tours are in Spanish only, and we were never successful in engaging an English speaking guide.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201. The large patio had an umbrellaed table and the room was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettylilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Hotel Casareyna.
Casareyna is a small boutique hotel consisting of 10 beautiful rooms. The location is excellent within easy walking distance to most sites in the historical center of Puebla and with restaurants, coffee shops, stores and even a cinema just accross the street.
Our spacious suite (202) had a seating area, writing desk, flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, safe, mini bar, A/C, bottled water every day and a king size bed which was firm but comfortable, the only thing missing was a coffee maker.

The large bathroom has a great shower with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. Both the room and bathroom were sparkling clean.

Our room was situated above the hotel restaurant so until 10 pm and after 8 am the noise from the restaurant could be heard in our room which for us was no problem, after 10 pm it was very quiet.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly and the hotel restaurant is very good.
The interior decorations of the building are exquisite with much attention to detail.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Casareyna very much and will return to this beautiful and safe city soon.

There is much to do and see in and around Puebla, we recommend a privade guide we used during our visit to Puebla, especially if you are planning to venture out of the city.
Her name is Alejandra Rojas, a young, enthusiastic and professional guide.
ale-rots@yahoo.com.mx / (C) 2225279866

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wonderful, tastefully decorated large rooms with A/C. Not a tourist trap. Small boutique hotel with upscale clientele, yet comfortable surroundings with several cozy areas. Free parking is definitely a plus. And, a fabulous restaurant with carefully prepared Mexican fare at a reasonable price. A little noisy because of construction next door, but that can't last forever.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moltoparticolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Casareyna at the tailend of climbing expedition on the volcano Orizaba. My climbing partner and I did not fit into the mold of most people staying at the hotel which seemed to be mostly business people and the occasional Mexican Tourist.

Overall we were happy with our experience. The staff was efficient while not overly friendly they answered questions for us. The room was large and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable.

The location is just a few blocks from Zocalo and right across the street from the artist section of Puebla. We felt safe and did not have any insecurities in the area. There are a couple of good bars right across the street and the restaurant within the hotel was a favorite from the whole trip. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: There are supposedly rooms with great views although we did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The only reason why I don't give it perfect score is because I kept waking up because of the construction noise. I wouldn't skip the hotel because of this though, just ask for a room away from the construction noise or bring earplugs. Hopefully the work will be done soon, and this will no longer be an issue at all. I love the architecture which uses existing walls and arches from old buildings and modern glass and walls to create a truly beautiful building which is simultaneously elegant and quaint. The room and bathroom are spacious and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good too. There's a Sanborns and a Tarlets Coffee a stone's throw away, and it's about a 10 minute walk from the zocalo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

1. very reasonable price, money for value
2. parking included; doorman valets car at no extra charge to secure area
3. smallish continental breakfast included; tasty
4. hotel set a new personal best record of 13 toiletry amenities
5. large room, large king bed, nice bathroom
6. a/c and fi fi work fine; many channels on tv
7. 2 bottles of water in bathroom are free; those displayed in bedroom cost $
8. like everything in Mexico, difficult to find. Best way (without locater device) is find the local Sanborns. It's just down the side street next to Sandborns
9. Good location. A 5-6 block to the Zocalo with things to see along the way.
10. Tip--when going to the Zocolo, take a block detour and walk down 6 Oriente. It is locally known as "candy street" for its numerous candy stores.
11. The hotel has a good high quality restaurant, but a little too spicy for our taste. Our best meal was at Entre Tierras at 4 Norte 410 Centro, an easy walk. The cheese enchaladas are great and the meat ones are almost as good. Nice English speaking manager (Armando)

Hope the above is helpful to you

Room Tip: ask for a room which does not overlook the restaurant. It tends to be loud in the morning and loude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel Boutique Casareyna
This is a beautiful hotel and we were in a suite complete with a patio. Beautifully appointed and terrific staff. The best bed we slept in during the 5 weeks of travel in Mexico. It was a great location in a safe neighborhood. They were under construction while we were there so it was pretty noisy…I wish they had warned us about that. This is the best place to eat mole for sure. We loved the restaurant but again, because of the construction; avoid eating outside unless you don’t mind the constant construction dust misting down. Hopefully that’ll be a short-lived problem. Great Wi-Fi, great gift shop, great bathroom products, fantastic restaurant, and a 10-minute walk to the Zoczlo.
Con's: the shower was lukewarm with little water pressure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelushlife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.5 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#7 of 91 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Puebla
NH Puebla
#11 of 91 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#2 of 91 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#17 of 91 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.3 mi away
Casona de la China Poblana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casareyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casareyna Hotel

Address: Privada 2 Oriente 1007, Puebla, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Casareyna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, cozy and charming hotel, located at Puebla's downtown, right next to the convention center. Casareyna offers big, comfortable and luxurius rooms plus an awarded fine dining Restaurant. The facilities include a certified Talavera boutique with factory prices, outdoor patios, bar, meeting room and much more.Great service and a single goal: Your total satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Casareyna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing