We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Reyna Soledad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Reyna Soledad to your Saves list
Reyna Soledad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Tacuba, Zacatecas 98000 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Zacatecas
Bellevue WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Funny, how the end of your stay can color the whole experience. On the positive side: the Hotel Soledad is well-located and moderately priced at 590 pesos/night. It has colonial charm, hot water, okay beds, and TV. There are no other amenities. Realistically- if your neighbors are noisy – you will hear them, as the gaps under the doors are significant – But the doors are beautiful from an architectural viewpoint. On the negative side: It does not have heat. It is dark and dismal in the rain. The minute you walk in you are bombarded with a sales pitch to buy tours. THERE IS NO REFUND IF YOU LEAVE EARLY. This was not communicated to us either during our reservation process or when we checked in. We stayed there from Jan 31 to Feb 3, 2010 and had made reservations for 4 nights via e-mail. Unfortunately, the weather was unusually cold and rainy during our stay and after 2 days we decided that we wanted to leave 1 day early. We told the reception of our plan and they said no problem. Unfortunately we do not speak Spanish. When we went to check out they refused to refund the 4th night. The mistake we made was paying in advance via credit card for our entire anticipated stay. Our credit card company - Citibank was not able to acquire a refund for us either.
We would love to come back to Zacatecas when the weather cooperates. We saw several other nice hotels in the central historic district that we would consider next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Arrived Feb 2nd 2010. Hotel would not honor the booked rate although I had a printed confirmation sheet. They added !80 pesos a night on top. They also took all three nights rental payment from my credit card the minute I arrived. It was February and cold about 35f-40f. The rooms had no heat at all, when I asked for heat there wasn't any. No one spoke English at all, normally this is not to much of a problem the staff work with you to understand your needs. Not at this hotel staff at front reception not cooperative at all. The maids and other staff were very nice. I moved to as soon as I could. All the hotels in town were running promations with 4 star hotel cheaper then what I paid at Reyna Soledad.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We spent two nights here enroute to the States. Our room was quite large with a king-sized bed and rustic furniture (colonial) which is fine with us. The only thing we didn't like was the parking which was valet only and apparently an outdoor lot as we had lots of leaves on our car. Inconvenient to have to ask for our car every time we wanted it since they usually didn't have but one person tending to everything. We didn't mind driving in and around Zacatecas at all as we live south of Guadalajara and have to drive there about once a month. The hotel is half a block to the cathedral and there are plenty of restaurants very close. We had a floor fan and were very comfortable with only that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We spent two nights in a master suite at the Reyna Soledad. The location couldn't be better - one block from the Cathedral and Plaza, but far enough to be away from any noise. We made a reservation through the on-line service after not being able to get through to the hotel by phone. The rate quoted was for two people, but the manager did not charge us for the extra child after I explained that I had tried to call them directly without success.
The hotel was a 16th century convent, so the rooms are set around two small courtyards. There is a pleasant patio on the second floor with tables and chairs.
The room we had was spacious with rustic pine king and double beds, wardrobe, vanity, desk and several chairs. We entered through two huge wooden double doors unlocked with an old fashioned key. The beds were firm and comfortable. Because of the construction of the building, there was only one inward facing window, but the room was large enough that I didn't feel penned in. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional with a separate shower stall. There was ample hot water day and night. There was wireless Internet service in the room that functioned perfectly.
There was no restaurant on-site, but there are many places within a block or two to choose from: cafes, bars, panaderias, restaurants, and convenience stores. We had a delicious buffet breakfast at the Recoveco Restaurant for 62 pesos a person - it's a 15 minute walk away.
I would recommend the Reyna Soledad to those who prefer historic rather than modern hotels. The rates are very reasonable for the quality of the accomodation and the management was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

Very close to the Cathedral - that is really the only good thing about this hotel. We reserved a junior suite for $54, which was under renovation when we got there, so they gave us a standard room with no windows for $52 - a much higher price than the standard room's online $38 rate. After we sat down and talked to several hotel staff members about this, the manager eventually offered us the lower rate for the second night, but would not honor the rate for the first night. Around 8pm on our second night there, the back portion of the hotel lost power. The staff offered us candles for lighting. They kept messing with their fusebox, trying to get the power back, but never called anyone who knew how to fix it. The power was still out when we left the next afternoon. They welcomed us back to stay with them on our next trip to Zacatecas, in all seriousness.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the unfriendly and unhelpful management
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

I visited Zacatecas, Mexico, wonderful and unique of its kind hispanic colonial city (registered by the UNESCO as "Patrimonio Cultural de la Humanidad) during the Holy Week April 5-8,2007.
After many researches on Internet, I found a very small 16-room hotel right in the "Centro Historico", close to the gorgeous cathedral. This mansion has been built in the 18th century, became a convent then was bought by a duchess whose family, at her death, decided to convert this mansion into a "hostal" a few years ago. The rooms are simple but nicely decorated with local furniture, original panellings, nice local paintings and are located around a small typical spanish style patio with a little charming well in azulejos.
The host, Nicolas Hurtado, was extremely gracious and attentive to my needs. The big advantage of this small hotel is its location from where you can visit the whole historical center with its wonders, restaurants and shops. If you happen to visit this great city, call this hotel and request an upper floor room (small window but quiet and well maintained). And enjoy this gorgious city ! ODILE

  • Liked — Original pannelings and antique look
  • Disliked — The bathroom (very small with no convenient shelves)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reyna Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reyna Soledad

Address: 170 Tacuba, Zacatecas 98000 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Zacatecas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Reyna Soledad 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Reyna Soledad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reyna Soledad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.