We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Delicious food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Trojes

Las Trojes
Juan Sebastian Bach No. 51, Morelia 58020, Mexico
+(443) 314-7344
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 140 Restaurants in Morelia
Price range: $15 - $30
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wow! Delicious food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is such a must! Just the experience of the decoration is worth visiting as they try to resemble the style of housing typical for Michoacan the "Troje". Have a shot of tequila prior to your main meal! Anything you choose here is very good, the service is great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Real Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

By getting out of the centre of town on New Year's Eve on our recent visit to Mexico we found this treasure, which was packed with families celebrating New Year's Eve together. We wished we could have fitted more in as portion sizes are generous, the menu extensive and the flavours fantastic. Oh to have something like this at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tie on the Feedbag!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our table was filled with food before we ordered - chips, salsas, pickled vegetables and bread. Very large portions; typical michoacan food; steaks and seafood. Each dish was delicious with distinct flavors. Our companions ordered trout prepared different ways, we started with a huge appetizer of garlic octopus and had the steak tampiquena as our entree. In this case the tampiquena was served with a chicken mole enchilada instead of the traditional cheese enchilada. After this feast all four of us shared the corn cake for desert. Atmosphere is dark but lush, like dining in a cave but in a good way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good mexican food in a posh place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Actually this was my first introduction to real Mexican food - in the sense it was prepared and served in Mexico. Las Trojes is rustic in decor and the available space is utilized to the full by tables - and where that is not possible - by decor.
As my colleague and I were invited out by the company we were visiting, we were given the full treatment of Mexican dishes. We were served a large selection of appetizers with salsas and other condiments ranging from mild to moderately spicy, with crispy bread. It included cactus (napolitos), fried cheese and a plethora of other things slipping my mind.
After the appetizers - or some sort of drifting into it - we had different dishes with chicken, meat, and fish all served in tacos (tacos are small soft tortillas eaten t almost every meal - not the hard shells seen in Europe).
Again is was served with many different condiments, fresh lemon (which others know as lime), and my all-time favourite - lots of fresh cilantro (coriander).
Try the mexican beer - my personal favourites are Modelo Especial (light brown, slightly bitter and refreshing) and Modelo Negra (dark and full-bodied, but not very heavy and filling).
Accompanying this was the obligatory tequila which were served in amazingly large glasses and accompanied by sangrita (spicy tomato drink). And to be fair - on the rest of my trip i had many different sangritas (every place its own recipe) - but the sangrita made at Las Trojes was by far the best I have tasted. The sangrita alone is worth a visit.
This was a memorable lunch - but beware - I had to try all the delicious things and thus I was so stuffed after lunch that I was hardly able to move.
But if ever visiting Morelia, this is a nice place.
Cars are parked by valet parking (compulsory).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good but slow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The food and the attention are of prime quality, they have very good food.

The only bad thing is that they take their time for everything, from the plates to the account.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Trojes also viewed

Morelia, Michoacan
Morelia, Michoacan
 
Morelia, Michoacan
 

Been to Las Trojes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Trojes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.