We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historical charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Benito Juarez 63 | Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A historical charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just spent the weekend in Morelia and chose to stay at the Cantera Diez. Not the least expensive choice, but the beauty of the hotel, its historical character, the welcoming staff and the location on the grand square more than compensated. A perfect location to view the beautiful cathedral and its wondrous light, music and fireworks show. Good food, luxurious bathroom and a lovely, quiet room. Definitely on my list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Although a side view, room 101 was both quiet and a good location to view the cathedral, the latter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
35
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Booked on line the most central hotel in Morelia , right opposite the cathedral, with a junior suite, so we had high expectations. When we were shown to our room there was not one window, only a skylight over the bathroom, this provided little or no natural light for the suite.
When I asked for a room with a window, I had to upgrade to a Master suite, being a suite in the front with a balcony as the window. The upgrade cost US $60. The bathroom had not privacy, just a very large tub with no curtains, leaving us to wonder where the overspray of water went to.
However the staff were very courteous and helpful, if you have a car it is a major problem to park.
So, I then learned that Old style mexican hotel rooms do not have windows , so be aware of this fact. So to be honest if I return I will stay in a more more american style hotel which was a lot less money.

Room Tip: ask if your room has a window!!! when you make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just loved the hotel which is housed in an old nobleman's residence in the hear of Morelia. Its right opposite the main cathedral and our suite overlooked it across the main street. Even though the suite was large, it was cozy. The only disconcerting aspect of the bedroom is the huge bathroom in it with all glass walls. No privacy! So it may be fine it you're romantic couple on their honeymoon but not so cool if you're anyone else.

The breakfast was really nice and the service was efficient.

The Internet was free and really high speed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you visit to Morelia (or even just passing by), make a point to make overnight in this amazingly designed hotel, used to be a big bank but converted to hotel with magnificent touch and taste, the old ornaments all around make it a sight worth seeing for itself.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is very beautiful and the food & amenities are first class, the view of the Morelia cathedral is to die for. We stayed at a suite with a balcony overlooking the cathedral, I made reservations with the hotel directly to avoid surprises. Overall the stay was great, fantastic bed w/aromateraphy, huuuuuge cantera tub, very good wait staff at the bar & restaurant, and excellent bellman and valet parking service, the front desk staff really needs to be more attentive.

Great location though, walking distance to everything. Safe to walk at any time of the day. Again, I feel trip advisor is overdoing the safety warning in Michoacan but whatever....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

If kitchen noise and smells don't bother you, and you want to be on the busiest plaza within hundred mile radius, this might be the place for you. But, if you are put off by a slightly off-center design sense and lots of newish furnishings that already appear to have seen better days, you might think twice. The highlight of service was a truly wonderful and accommodating porter/bellman, who helped manhandle our bags after we checked out on day two to move to a glorious firmly established hotel up the hill, the Villa Montana.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I want to complain about your service. Today I book two hotel rooms on Expedia and received the confirmation mail with the amount charge. After two hours I got the call from the Cantera hotel telling me that the hotel was booked for a group, so that they could not comply with the made by Expedia.
I do not understand whether Expedia's fault for having a bad internet system or the hotel's. The truth is that I am very angry with both for offering and allow it to make reservations in places that are suppose to be full. So I recommend you to be ware of this type of situations. Because, they don`t offer you any solutions to the problems.
Good luck in using Expedia and staying in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Benito Juarez 63 | Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cantera 10 Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Morelia, offers 11 uniquely suites, which are designed to privilege the rest and relaxation in a modern and elegant envioronment. During your stay, you will find in your suite unforgettable details, some suites have outdoor bathtub with jacuzzi for strip down to the most stress of executives or become the perfect setting for a romantic encounter endless . In some suites enjoy a beautiful view of the cathedral that will leave you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.