We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You might want to think twice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique

Save Saved
You added Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Benito Juarez 63 | Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 hotels in Morelia
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You might want to think twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

If kitchen noise and smells don't bother you, and you want to be on the busiest plaza within hundred mile radius, this might be the place for you. But, if you are put off by a slightly off-center design sense and lots of newish furnishings that already appear to have seen better days, you might think twice. The highlight of service was a truly wonderful and accommodating porter/bellman, who helped manhandle our bags after we checked out on day two to move to a glorious firmly established hotel up the hill, the Villa Montana.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
33
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I want to complain about your service. Today I book two hotel rooms on Expedia and received the confirmation mail with the amount charge. After two hours I got the call from the Cantera hotel telling me that the hotel was booked for a group, so that they could not comply with the made by Expedia.
I do not understand whether Expedia's fault for having a bad internet system or the hotel's. The truth is that I am very angry with both for offering and allow it to make reservations in places that are suppose to be full. So I recommend you to be ware of this type of situations. Because, they don`t offer you any solutions to the problems.
Good luck in using Expedia and staying in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Perfect balance between modernity and heritage. Many claims to be boutique hotel but they're not. This is the only real boutique hotel in the city center. Try the arrachera tacos at the bar DE-LI-CIOUS!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous hotel. Old world charm to the nth degree. Bravo to the decorator! Only problem: Italian food in restaurant not great. Service impeccable, however. One of the best hotels we have stayed at in Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location, I stayed at the 101 Suite, beutiful view of the Cathedral, the room is huge, great bed and big TV. Here are the few issues I had: the hidromassage tub did not work ( and they couldn't fix it), the TV remote control had low battery or something. After all it was a great VIP treat, I got a great discount directly from their web page. Another thing is that the staff was very helpful, they have valet parking and storage of your car. Prices for meals and drinks is not that expensive, we had breakfast in bed and it was good (not excellent).

Room Tip: The rooms with view at the cathedral have the downside of having noise all day & night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Gorgeous lobby and entry and sitting area outside of rooms are a mix of original stone walls and columns with modern paintings and leather chairs. But it works. The music that plays all day in the courtyard outside the rooms (and wakes you if you try to sleep in) doesn't work. It's a loud, ruckus, and totally out of place. Same type music plays in tasteful red and black restaurant so we never ate there. Rooms also have NO WINDOWS which was unpleasant, but mattress was excellent. The toilet was only partially enclosed which did not allow real privacy. Tub was great, but water was not hot enough for a hot bath. Unfortunately, while the staff was very nice, they spoke no English. The wake up call rang once at 5am and never at the 7:15 asked for time. And it was extremely expensive. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Get one with a window, I think there are 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Great boutique hotel in the center of Morelia. Can't beat the location. Well decorated and attentive. Would consider staying again. The bell boy, was also very good at his job and showed the room and its details. Always asking if I needed anything. Saying "hello." Staff at restaurant were real professional and offered great service.

My issue with this hotel is upon check in. I asked to see two rooms. 1st room was small, dark, and with no natural light. 2nd room was huge amazing upgrade. Naturally would take that room. Once I got into the room, before unpacking, I could hear the noise from the kitchen. The room was just above it. You were basicly inside the kitchen. Hearing the dishes rattle and food being prepared. i went to the front desk manager and asked her that maybe I should take the other room, as the preferred option was above the kitchen and a bit noisey. She assured me... assured me that there would be little noise and I would not be disturbed. I even gave her a 2nd chance to opt out, but she was sure it would not be an issue. Well it was. Just as I had suspected when I entered the room the noise went on until the early AM hours. Plates being dropped offf and food scrapped into trash bins at 1:30 am. All they could offer were ear plugs. The front desk manger, she knew this was an issue. How could you not as this area is in front of the reception desk. There is NO way she could not have known, yet knowingly misled me.

This did not sit well with me and felt dishonest. Just not cool to do to a guest. Especially when they give you chance to get out of a potential problem.

Room Tip: Don't believe the front desk manager....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Benito Juarez 63 | Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cantera 10 Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Morelia, offers 11 uniquely suites, which are designed to privilege the rest and relaxation in a modern and elegant envioronment. During your stay, you will find in your suite unforgettable details, some suites have outdoor bathtub with jacuzzi for strip down to the most stress of executives or become the perfect setting for a romantic encounter endless . In some suites enjoy a beautiful view of the cathedral that will leave you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.