We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location Near the Center of Morelia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rincon Tarasco

Hotel Rincon Tarasco
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rincon Tarasco to your Saves list
Hotel Rincon Tarasco
Calle Guadalupe Victoria #330 | Colonia Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location Near the Center of Morelia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Rincon Tarasco,, is located within easy walking distance to most places in Morelia. This is a newer hotel, clean and cheerful looking. The large rooms lack a little decode but the beds are comfortable. The updated bathroom, new towels and large shower were an added plus. Breakfast was included in he price however if you are not a "cake eater" for breakfast, look elsewhere. T
We did enjoy the fresh fruit, coffee and juice however. The staff was briskly efficient. The price of this hotel is the clincher. It is truly excellent value for the money. More
Ia is a fascinating place to explore . A city map with self guided walking tours is available at the tourist office in town. It is in both Spanish and English. All of the walks are accessible from the hotel. Enjoy walking and discovering this fascinating colonial city.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face into a courtyard so street traffic is not really an issue. We were given a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRinconTarasco, General Manager at Hotel Rincon Tarasco, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Rincon Tarasco we would like to thank you for going out of your way in posting a positive review on not only the property but the service as well.

We will strive to better the "continental breakfast" and hope to see you again in the near future.

-General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is just 5 minutes from the cathedral. The fairly large and quiet but a bit dark. There is a safety box each room.

However, the staff seems to be very unhelpful and unmotivated. We received no information about the facilities and had to go back to the reception twice to fetch a remote for the TV (which didn' work) and a key to open the safety box. When we arrived for breakfast at 10:00 they told us that we were too late although the information in the room states that breakfast is served between 7:30 an 10:30.

Conclusion: ok for one day if you just want to sleep comfortably and have no expectations about service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

The good: 7 blocks from the heart of downtown, relatively cheap, clean.

The bad: super-hard bed, LOTS of street noise at all hours, no dead-bolt on a door that, like a Motel 6, is just open to the parking lot without any front desk or other security to go by first, and no telephone. Also, the wi-fi is intermittent and there are very few plug-ins if you want to, say, plug in your laptop and your cell phone at the same time.

It's not a truly BAD hotel, but it's certainly not worthy of the score it gets unless you put price far ahead of everything else. What's weird is the only other people who didn't like it just complain about the management, which seemed entirely fine. Ugh. Guess I'll have to be more weary of my TripAdvisor recs from now on.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I had been to Morelia once before and had stayed in a hotel close to downtown. When I booked my trip I realized that Hotel Tarasco was in downtown yet it was half price from the other hotel! Hotel Tarasco is a family hotel which was great because after a day of sight seeing all I wanted was a quiet comftrable room.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I was at the Rincon Tarasco for two days and my stay was great. The rooms were spacious and clean, the location of the hotel is in the heart of Morelia. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Unfortunately, I spent but a single night at the Rincon Tarasco. It is well-located only a few blocks from one of the most attractive centro historicos that I have seen in Mexico. The rooms are large and clean with two queen size beds, night table and TV. The bathroom was clean, as well, with good water pressure and hot water. Everything was in good condition. Rooms are on the second and third floors facing a central courtyard. They are accessed from an outdoor walkway. Rooms are over car ports that ring the centre of the courtyard. Bottled water is supplied. The walkways, stairs and courtyard were clean and well-maintained. Staff were friendly and efficient. There is a restaurant conveniently-located around the corner for breakfast and a cab parked on the corner for transportation to the bus terminal.
To date, I have found that the best looking ladies in Mexico are located in Morelia. Not only are they attractive and well-dressed but - unlike most girls/women in other parts of the country who are generally reluctant to smile - readily make eye contact, smile and usually offer up a friendly hola (even to a gray-haired fat guy).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

Manager is really rude and she can't give you any kind of information about Morelia.

  • Disliked — Manager Really bad actitud
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rincon Tarasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rincon Tarasco

Address: Calle Guadalupe Victoria #330 | Colonia Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rincon Tarasco with its 35 rooms, large parking lot within the structure, cafeteria, wireless internet and much more guarantees tranquility and comfort at an amazing price. Visit a museum, take a breath taking picture of Morelia's famous monuments, have a coffee, a delicious meal, go to the opera, see a movie, have a drink, or simply relax and enjoy everything the city center has to offer, all within walking distance of Hotel Rincon Tarasco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rincon Tarasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rincon Tarasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.