We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort & quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turotel Morelia

Save Saved
You added Turotel Morelia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turotel Morelia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Acueducto No. 3805 | Esq Av Camelinas, Morelia 58254, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 63 hotels in Morelia
Troncones, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“comfort & quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Thank you to all the staff to make our staying so easy and pleasant.
We were relocated at mid night from a beautiful downtown hotel (Hotel Casino)
it was a power breakage and they immediately took care of us (thank you)
We finaly decide to stay at Turotel for the rest of our visit because it has a very good location if your are visiting Morelia for shopping, business or vacation.
Good breakfast buffet and snack 24h.
Excelent service from Lupe (frontdesk, kitchen, waiter & valet! thank you very much)
we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 203, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
5
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has a very good value for money. Rooms are new with all amenities you need for a business trip. The restaurant food is good. The hotel staff is very kind and always with a smile on the face.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We needed a modern and convenient hotel in which to stay in Morelia following surgery. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, and staying at Turotel, we are not surprised that it has won First Place in the Hotel category for Morelia.

Among the attractions for us were its location, on the eastern outskirts of the city, not in the beloved, charming, but traffic clogged central part of the city. Another attraction was the breakfast buffet and room service We made use of both and were pleased by the freshness of the food and the speed of room service. (Albeit that all we ordered was juice and mineral water, but even though it was at 1 o'clock in the morning, it took only 5 minutes for room service to deliver the drinks.)

Most important of all, our room was spacious, with two double beds, an ample desk, a comfortable easy chair, a large dresser with huge drawers and a small but adequate lavatory-bathroom combination. More on that in a moment.

Seldom have we used AC in a Mexican hotel, but here it was useful due to the strong Autumnal sun. But most of the time, we just set the AC to "Fan". Although our most recent room faced a busy peripheral road, the room was quiet enough, unless ambulances were passing.

The beds were very comfortable, the bed linens sleek and soothing and the pillows soft.

I was a little nervous at first parking outside, in front of the lobby, and not in some locked compound. But apparently Security is vigilant and we passed three nights without incident.

Housekeeping was spotless and detail oriented.

There is a small but pleasant pool on a first floor terrace and a lounging area with tables and deck chairs. It's pleasant, but a very minor attraraction for us, as is the small adjacent gym room.

Internet access is very important to us, and here there was some faltering, as our connection would at times fade and disconnect unexpectedly. However, several wifi routers were detectable and if necessary, I could go to the lobby, where there is always a strong signal.

Now to the lavatory-bathroom: the lavatory was of a high standard, with all the amenities and these of high quality. The door to the toilet and shower is positioned in such away that it is impossible for two persons to enter if one is seated. (Please, don't laugh.) Once inside, the toilet is fine. The shower stall is fully tiled and the supply of hot water quick to arrive and above all, abundant. It's a joy to use the shower. Towels were plentiful, although a bit rough.

We opted for the SuperAhorros plan in which breakfast, either buffet or cooked to order (or both!) is included Our rate was $944 pesos per night, breakfast and taxes included. For the most part, the food is not of gourmet standard, but is tasty, fresh and generous. We couldn't ask for more under the circumstances,and at the price. We were fortunate to get this promotional rate, because as the holiday of Day of the Dead approaches, the rates increase to over $1000 pesos a night.

Over all, we couldn't be more pleased with Turotel Morelia, Mexico. We would recommend it to visitors wanting a comfortable stay in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUROTEL, Manager at Turotel Morelia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

It is a pleasure for us to receive favorable comments about our hotel. Of course we will keep in mind your suggestions and we will try to improve.

We hope to have you back in Morelia very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was very unsure of this hotel, some good reviews and one or two not-so-good, so only booked one night. The check-in was friendly and efficient. The rooms (we booked two) were spacious and very clean, and up-to-date (unlike some of the very tired rooms we saw in hotels in the old part of town. The beds were comfortable, we had plenty of hot water for showers, tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and it was quiet. As a retired person, I really appreciated the elevator, even though my room was only one floor above reception. The breakfast was the best in my tour of central Mexico - its well worth the little bit extra if paid at time of booking - lots of healthy options, such as muesli, cereals, and fresh fruits, as well as pancakes, french toast, eggs, etc. cooked to your order, and cappucino coffee. The staff were very helpful. Only drawback is that it is a taxi-ride (about 35 pesos-roughly $3) into the center of town where the Cathedral/Plaza and all of the historical sites are located. For this reason alone, we moved into a hotel near the cathedral for our 2nd and 3rd nights in Morelia.

Room Tip: My room was on the opposite side from the road outside, but the other room faced the road and was st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is OK, just what is needed but nothing else (10 TV channels and old TV for instance). The room service menu is the worse I have seen (chips, cookies, coke, a sandwich and so forth).
Breakfast is great and the room clean. The first 2 nights were OK but this morning (I just checked out) there was no hot water to take a shower. I called the front desk and they said they were checking and would call me back. After 30 minutes I had to cal again and they said the keys of the services room were not in the hotel and I had to wait until 10 AM for the person to come with the keys.
When I come to the front desk instead of apologizing they say that these things happen and that it was an accident. And that is it! They billed me for the night and I complained. Then a lady came and mentioned that they could give me a 50% discount!!! COME ON!!!! I had to leave late and without showering!!!
So basically they do not know how to serve a client and they want US, their CUSTOMERS to take responsibility and pay for their mistakes.
I know that these things can happen, we are ALL humans... and it is OK. What is not OK is how you react to these accidents and how you SERVE your clients.

Furthermore, me and people from my company come every 2 weeks to Morelia for work. When I called to see if we could have a better fare if we always come here, they gave me a "discount" which was 10% higher than the price show in the web... So to their best loyal clients, they charge them more... Unfortunately it was my last time here...

Room Tip: I stayed in the 4th floor and tehre was no hot water... people in other floors did not seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Turotel is everything it claims to be on its website, except they forget to mention the amiability, hospitality and the high level of professionalism of the entire staff. The breakfast/brunch is delicious, whether you eat from the buffet or order a custom prepared plate, so be sure to ask for the room rate that includes this flat flee option.
The hotel is quiet, rooms feature double paned windows, light blocking drapes, excellent climate control and super strong wifi. Comfortably furnished, sparkling clean and modern, you can’t go wrong. In-room safe was over-sized, even my laptop fit.
Vanity area is separate from the bathroom, and very hot water comes out quickly. A flimsy shower curtain and tiny lip in the spacious shower area means the floor gets wet, but that seems to be pretty much standard in most Mexican hotels (and homes), so I don’t even notice anymore.
Swimming pool is moderately sized, and the water is not very warm. Still, some people were swimming and enjoying themselves. Too cold for me during my four day stay.
“Colectivos” (public transportation vans) stop in front of the hotel. To get to the Centro Histórico, walk to the stop that is immediately to your left as you exit the hotel. Take the van that says “Rojo 1.” For six pesos you get a ride past many beautiful old buildings on your way to the centro, as well as the old stone aqueducts, Villalongin park, and the fountain of the three Tarrascan maidens. The driver will drop you off at the fountain if you ask, then you can walk about ten minutes to the magnificent cathedral, passing by many stately and ornate colonial buildings on your way.
To return to the hotel, go to the portal on Calle Allende behind the Plaza de las Armas. You can take the van that says “Café 1,” which will take you back to Turotel, with the option of getting off at the Botanical Orchid Gardens (Orquideas) and the Planetarium on your way. (Make sure you check museum hours.) After your visit, return to the street and flag down the next “Café 1” van to take you back to the hotel. The bus/van stop for Turotel is called “Mil Cumbres.” You can always take the van Rojo 1 to return to the hotel as well, which is a shorter route.
Another advantage of the location of Turotel is that you can walk (15 or 20 minutes) to two great shopping malls, “Plaza Morelia” and the new and grander “Plaza Las Américas,” just a few more steps away. There is also a taxi stop in front of the hotel, and for 35 or 40 pesos, you can get a lift to wherever you want.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in any room ending in 01 or 03 because the view is rather boring. Instead ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel on our trip to Mexico. The staff was helpful and attentive to our needs, and several staff members helped compensate for our lack of Spanish fluency. We appreciated the personal attention. We used the free hotel washer/dryer a couple of times and also the same day laundry and cleaning service, which was not expensive. The breakfasts were included in our rate -- Breakfasts here are far more elaborate (and delicious) than at most similar facilities in the USA. The pool is private and nice. Rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. (We booked 2 rooms.) Wireless worked well. The electronic in-room safe is free and it's large enough to accomodate 2-3 laptops plus other items. For miscellaneous needs, Walmart Supercenter is a block down the boulevard. The largest mall is a $4 taxi ride away. All in all Turotel Morelia rates an A+ in our view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turotel Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turotel Morelia

Address: Av. Acueducto No. 3805 | Esq Av Camelinas, Morelia 58254, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turotel Morelia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A practical hotel, full of comfort and warmth in its service and rooms. Well located, its excellent rates include a complete breakfast buffet prepared to your taste. The up-to-date design includes a swimming pool, meeting rooms, a business corner, internet service, free parking and a 24 hour room service.Conviniently located in Morelia’s financial and commercial district, surrounded by restaurants, cinemas and malls. Just five minutes from Tres Marías Golf Club, ten minutes from downtown, and 30 minutes from Morelia’s international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Turotel Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turotel Morelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.