We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was too short” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Grande Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Casa Grande Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal Matamoros 98, Morelia 5800, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Berryville,Va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay was too short”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had chosen this hotel for 2 of my colleagues and myself for a business trip to Morelia on the advice of other travelers that had staid there (thanks Tripadvisor). I am always wary of reviews on the Internet which I always take with the grain of salt but this time they were spot on.
Casa Grande Hotel is like it is on its website. Beautiful building with interior courtyards that are cool and quiet. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are even more amazing with L'Occitane soaps and body products. Everything is clean, nicely decorated.
The Wifi works flawlessly.
The cherry on the cake was the Nespresso machine in the room with free pods.
We paid US$135 per night for a hotel that offers you amenities and service not seen in the US in hotels twice the price.
I recommend this hotel for its staff as well. Everyone was very helpful and has a good command of English at the front desk.
Last but not least the location can't be beat. Right in the historical center of Morelia facing the Cathedral with lots of restaurants and shops to choose from.

Room Tip: Room inside the courtyard are quieter but darker. Rooms on the first floor facing the street are bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just finished a wonderful stay in the Casa Grande Hotel located in the central square in Morelia, Mexico a UNESCO world heritage site. This 350 year old building has been lovingly and uniquely restored keeping the magnificence of a Spanish Colonial mansion with a twist of Philippe Starck minimalism. The attention to detail is breathtaking. This is an all suites hotel with both Junior and Master suites. The ceilings are over 20` tall but the intimate lighting and the oversized, suspended lamp shades make for a cozy feeling. Bedding, chairs and all furniture are extremely comfortable and there is an excellent ventilation system that quickly cools off the large rooms. The washrooms are incredible with double sinks and a shower that could easily fit 5 people. Nothing has been left undone or unattended to. My only small complaint is that the light dimmers are quite touchy and need a bit of a tutorial.
The reception staff was not only efficient but welcoming which is not common in Mexico where high end hotels have high end attitude. This was not the case here. The restaurant has a spectacular view of the main Cathedral which is one of Mexico`s tallest and is incredibly lit at night. The food is very good, not excellent but worth the ambience. Our waiter Gerardo was wonderful and helped make the evening special.
Even though some of the rooms are on a busy street there is little to no noise because of the thick glass, heavy doors and tasteful, thick curtains that hang over 10 feet.
The cost of our room with Pricetravel.com, a Mexican travel search engine was $130.00 USD which was worth every penny for the experience we had. This 5 star property is worth every star.

Room Tip: Choose a non interior room, they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristopher V, Relaciones Públicas at Casa Grande Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay. We are extremely pleased to learn that we met your expectations.
We hope to see you and have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future, so that you may enjoy the hospitality and warmth of our people, here at your Casa Grande.

Edith Torres Flores
P. R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Returned to Hotel Casa Grande again, which only seems to get better. Beautiful decoration in rooms and common areas, great service and excellent restaurant. Views from the terrace and also restaurant are breathtaking. Only minus is still illumination in bedrooms, while this has improved since my last visit, may still not be enough, due to very high ceilings in rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

New boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Morelia, one block away from the Cathedral. Hotel is in a fantastic building, an original house that has been fully renovated and maintains its magnificent original style. While room wasn't large and did not have much natural light, it was nicely decorated and comfortable. Bathroom was also great. Restaurant is very good and has an outstanding view of the plaza and the Cathedral. While breakfast was not included in the room rate, it was delicious. Meals are also very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were privileged to be guests of the Casa Grande hotel for four nights at the end of September. The building itself, an original house, was beautiful and charming. The Manager showed us some of the renovation areas which were fascinating. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, with lots of space, very fitting furnishings, including a desk and a table, and three chairs (I love to have surface and chairs in my room). There are only 12 rooms, so interior noise is almost non-existent. The rooms, on the ground and first floors, surround courtyards in the back and front of the building.

Also on the first floor is the restaurant. We looked at the sumptuous dinner menu but never had a chance to try it - I bet it was great. We had breakfast every morning. The menu had a selection of delectable specialties, both Mexican and Continental. Everything we tried was delicious, and served with a very formal flair. The staff was friendly and helpful. The last morning we came in before the kitchen was open because of an early departure, and they offered to make us some eggs with ham or bacon, which was very nice of them. The only problem was that they were so stuck on being formal that it took forever because they had to do it "just so." Our preference was that since we were in a hurry (we only had 15 minutes) we would have been happy with rolls and coffee served faster.

The second floor of the hotel offers indoor and outdoor event and conference spaces overlooking the City and the Plaza and Cathedral. For us, it was the perfect place from which to enjoy the holiday fireworks shoe over the cathedral, but I can imagine it would be GREAT for an event.

The only noise we encountered was that our room faced a bar across the street and two nights the din went several hours into the morning.

The location is perfect - in the portals around the plaza and cathedral. There is also a little deli and restaurant just outside the door. They close the main door at 11 PM, but you just knock and someone is there to let you in.

I highly recommend this hotel for a beautiful stay in a beautiful City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Hotel Boutique

Address: Portal Matamoros 98, Morelia 5800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Grande Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Grande Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.