We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hostel in Morelia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Castillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Castillo to your Saves list
Casa Castillo
Serapio Rendon 170, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Morelia B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“brilliant hostel in Morelia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I whole heartedly agree with all the brilliant reviews of this hostel.
Impeccable taste, great position, super friendly owner.
I stayed in the dorm and was perfectly happy.

nice roof top to view the cathedral and fireworks.
also a kitchen available if you want to make your own meal.

all makes this the perfect option in Morelia!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aribraun, Propietario at Casa Castillo, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for you coment here at Casa Castillo was a plasure to have you
Ary Braun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is one of the nicest hostels we have stayed in anywhere. We spent 7 nights here and found it to be very comfortable, super clean and enjoyable. The owner is a very nice person and very helpful to us in every way. The included breakfast is very complete and healthy with fresh brewed coffee, milk, cereal, juice, fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, etc. The kitchen is well equipped and very clean. Great location in the historical center of Morelia that is convenient to everything. The rooftop patio is a great place to view the lighted church bell towers at night or to relax at any time of day. Bottom line: good location, excellent included breakfast, free Wi-Fi, nice shared kitchen, clean throughout, good value.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 double beds and private bathroom, the Tzintzuntzan room. The room has a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hostel/ inn is one of the nicest places i have ever stayed in on a quiet street only 4 blocks from the cathedral.

The dorm is not at all like a dorm but very cosy and comfortable whilst still being clean and practical. The house is decorated beautifully, with a lovely breakfast area and rooftop terraces where you can have a coffee or watch the sunset. Brilliant view at night. Owner is a gem and had two little cute dogs we could play with. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We could never have such a wonderful trip without Casa Castillo! The room is clean, and the patio on the roof is very beautiful. The house is beautifully decorated with traditional Michoacán furniture and local arts. The place felt rather like a bed and breakfast than a hostel to me. The location is very convenient right in the centre of the city, we were able to walk everywhere very easily. Above all, The owner is super super nice and friendly!! He is very genuine, and always happy to help us out. We had so much fun together while we were staying in Morelia! We can't thank him enough for everything he did for us, amigo! We will definitely visit him (and cute doggies,Tomasa and Dixie) again.:D Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I couldn't speak more highly about Casa Castillo: it's beautifully, thoughtfully and tastefully designed, with a rooftop terrace that overlooks the cathedral and where we were lucky enough to watch the Saturday fireworks, not to mention it's central location that is perfect for discovering this gem of a city. A good breakfast and fresh coffee in the morning was provdided and most welcome! As was Harry, the owner himself, and his staff. All in all, a lovely weekend.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aribraun, Propietario at Casa Castillo, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
thank you so very much for your nice revew , here at Casa Castillo we take pride in bean to your service , please visit us soon againg
saludos
Ary Braun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hostel is very clean, in a great location and has a VERY friendly owner! If you are allergic to dogs be sure to bring an antihistamine because there are two. The room I stayed in had a private bath, but wasn't that aesthetically pleasing on its own. However there are other rooms, with shared baths, that were really neat. The patio is a great place to sit at dusk and and enjoy the lights of the city. I really do recommend this hostel. I stayed there for five days & really began to feel at home rather quickly. I originally saw it listed as a hostel, but it has much more of a bed & breakfast feel.

Room Tip: The rooms that do not have a private bathroom are better than the room that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacastillo, Owner at Casa Castillo, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks a lot for your opinion, I'm glad you liked my place and I hope to see you the next time you come to this city, you're very welcome in my place, thank again.
Ary Braun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Castillo

Address: Serapio Rendon 170, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Castillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.