We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mision Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mision Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Mision Catedral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ignacio Zaragoza 37 | Col Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Beautiful hotel right next to the Cathedral. It seems to be very modernly equipped even though it feels like you are in 18th century monastery.
The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious.
The Hotel has a great roof terrace that overlooks the whole valley, I am planning to explore it for my yoga practice.
The staff is very friendly and nice.
There is a nice restaurant that looks onto the square but it seems a bit overpriced.
An great experience overall.

Room Tip: shoot for the 3rd floor- great views. the rooms on the side can be a bit noisy because of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Hotel Mision Catedral, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It's nice to know your opinion, effectively Hotel building goes back to colonial times with the comforts of today, I appreciate your comments we would like to visit again to let you know the most recent renovation of our terrace, we hope to see soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
23
31
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the end of September for four nights as part of a trade show. The room, although small, was comfortable. We were on the top floor. Advantage there is the proximity to the rooftop deck overlooking the cathedral and a WONDERFUL place to watch the Saturday night Fireworks. When it started to rain, there was a little pavilion we were all under - plenty of room and we stayed dry. I think the disadvantage to the top floor is that the rooms for the most part are smaller. Our first room had a brick wall behind the window curtain, so we asked to change rooms. The room we moved to, two doors down, had a window, but it looked into a courtyard surrounded by other rooms. Looking up for the sky, we saw a corrugated plastic skylight, so we has no real view of the outside.

Cons: Items missing from the room that I have come to expect in a luxury hotel: clock, window to the outside, hair dryer (more on that later*), pen, amenities like body cream. Staff not as friendly as they could be.

Pros: Location - right across from the cathedral, stores and historic area. Beautiful, too. Room and bed are comfortable, walking distance to everywhere in the historic district.

*Hairdryer: I asked if they had a hairdryer I could use. First, I was told I could "call the desk and they would let me know when it would be available." Well, on a busy schedule of meetings and functions I could not set my schedule around the hair dryer. One afternoon I decided to go to the front desk and ask if it was available. They said they could give it to me, but only if I gave them a 200 Peso deposit which would be returned to me when I returned the dryer! I had to go back to the room, get the money, and come back down.

Room Tip: Inner rooms may not have windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Hotel Mision Catedral, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sending us your opinion, the hotel has different kind of room according to the requirements of our clients all subject to availability we are working to provide a good service option, for this reason some amenities and equipment that is not yet in the rooms we have at your disposal at the reception.
Thank you for your comments, we will continue to work to deliver the best to our customers.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here just a couple weeks ago in Mid July and we were both very happy with the hotel.
We stayed on the top floor [which is probably best] which gets you access to the veranda that overlooks out over the Central Plaza.
It was Quiet & Safe. We only heard the Cathedral bells once we awoke. Speaking of Cathedrals! There are probably 6+ within a 10 min. walk.
On Sundays the streets around the Plaza are closed till 1p.pm. and you can rent bicycles...
Don’t bother going to Janitzio it just a waste of time. A little island that you arrive at with a boat and take a couple pic's and that’s it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Hotel Mision Catedral, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for sending us your experiences is very important for us to know Their opinions will always be a pleasure To Have in our city and Especially In Hotel Mision Catedral. receive a greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went there in the December 31th. The place is great, with an incredible architecture and decoration, so mexican, but...
First, we arrived there and they didn't find our reservation. We did it by phone, it means (or we thought it woul mean) that is more safe then do it by internet. A long time after our arrive, they gave us a room key.
The room didn't have windows. So claustrophobic and dark! When we went to the bathroom noticed that the water of the shower will leak for all the bath. Bad news. We called there and soonly the manager came to see and changed us for another room.
The other room was bigger, clearly, but out of the window there was a terrace. Wonderful? No. Yonder the terrace was communitarian, in front of our wiindow, in our way out, it was full of wood, empties bottles of beer and a lot of things, as it was a brickwork there. It also had a bad smell. Well, not a good experience, although the hotel was cool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overturned for the Cathedral...it is incredible! And also ask for room with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I thought this hotel was very nicely appointed, helpful staff, comfortable bed and very clean. Excellent location. I found it to be and excellent value. I rarely have zero complaints about a hotel, and this was one of those times. I will book there again. Free internet access. Only thing missing is the in-room safe. Great value and lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I had a very quiet room, but we did not have a view. It was fine though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a fantastick hotel right in the centre of the action in Morelia. Across from the cathedral that if you happen to be on town on a Saturday they have a firework show every saturday that id really impressive.

Fantastico hotel en el corazon de Morelia. Lo recomiendo

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a very nice, colonial style hotel in the most central location of Morelia. Nice, clean and ample rooms and very courteous personnel. No air conditioning but they have very powerful ceiling fans. Very enjoyable stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mision Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision Catedral

Address: Ignacio Zaragoza 37 | Col Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mision Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mision Catedral Hotel in Morelia Mexico boasts an enviable location almost directly in front of the historically majestic Morelia Cathedral. Originally a 16 Century mansion that belonged to Conde de Pereda, our hotel is the perfect place to start an unforgettable vacation. Explore the beautiful monuments, plazas and streets of the city, full of life and legends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mision Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mision Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.