We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to start the day with their breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alameda Centro Historico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alameda Centro Historico Hotel to your Saves list
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Madero Poniente 313, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great way to start the day with their breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

after we booked Hotel casino we desided to go with another of the traditional Morelia's hotels, good choice was hotel Alameda we were on the first floor only and we liked a lot, our room was high ceilings... colonial... pink sandstone... so Morelia style! the patio and the fountain.... the bar and restaurant and the delicious breakfast buffet with traditional flavors yummy!!!

Room Tip: FIRST FLOOR ROOMS ARE NOISY... there was live music next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda H, E-Commerce at Alameda Centro Historico Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Google Translation
Hola FERNANDO,

En primer lugar quería agradecer su estancia en nuestro hotel y el tiempo que se ha tomado en escribir sus comentarios.
Para nosotros es muy importante saber la opinión de nuestros clientes ya que nos ayuda a ver si estamos cumpliendo sus expectativas y a corregir todas aquellas deficiencias o sugerencias que nos comentan.

Una vez más le agradezco sus comentarios, esperamos brindarle una bienvenida de nuevo y hacer todo lo posible por superar sus expectativas.

Saludos,
E-Commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
23
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is fairly sized with a very nice lobby?restaurant. They offer buffet breakfast and a la carte as well. The rooms are nice with ac and I had a beautiful view of the plaza and cathedral. They have elevator and private parking for a small fee. The only thing I can pick on is that I found some hairs of the shower. But still I would go back :)

Room Tip: I had room 106 with 2 double beds with an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent 2 nights in Morelia at the Hotel Alameda.

The location is fantastic, right in the heart of the centro historico, steps away from the Plaza de Armas and the Cathedral.

Since it was a business trip for my wife, we didn't choose or pay for the hotel. So I was more lenient that I might have otherwise been.

The room we were given was in the rear of the hotel, on the ground floor. The room itself was pretty big, with enormously high ceilings with a huge chandelier and a giant painting hanging on the wall above the bed. It felt like we were in a castle. The furniture seemed like antique wooden bureaus.

But- there were no windows to the outside. When we turned the lights out, it was pitch black in there. Kinda scary. And I am used to waking up to natural light in the mornings, but not in this room. Black as the night in there, all day long.

And the TV (not that we watch much TV, but still) was a 20 year old relic, with a screen about maybe 20 inches.

There was a stand up shower, no tub, but no real complaints about the bathroom.

WIFI worked fine on my computer (PC) but my wifes Mac couldn't connect for some reason.

Free parking at the garage down the street, so that was good too. I just parked my car and left it until we left 2 days later.

The only real hiccup was at checkout. My wife wasn't sure how her company was handling the payment (usually she pays and they reimburse), so she paid with our card. Then she spoke to someone at the company and they said that they had sent payment also. It ended up taking about an hour to sort out and get the hotel to refund our card. Seems like it should have been pretty quick and easy to do, but for some reason they dragged it out.

Anyway, it also turned out to be pretty cheap (something like 593 pesos per night/$45 USD), so all things considered I guess it's a good deal. Probably fine if you don't spend much time in your room, or if it's a short trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the brilliant city of Morelia. Situated right in the historic district. Pleasant staff, good food, next to plazas, churches, restaurants and gift shops. Rooms were simple but pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

nice hotel, pleasant staff, all fine for four nights but when we were checking out, we got screwed. we had booked through booking.com and upon arrival confirmed the total price--no problem. but alas, at checkout, staff indicated "a small detail" was that the last night cost more than the first three nights. we argued, pleaded, reminded them we had confirmed accuracy of letter at check-in, all to no avail. i strongly urge folks to think twice--no three times--before booking here. don't know if it is fraud or incompetence ( i suspect the latter) but the desk staff change the rules at the end of the game.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Decent hotel. I stayed three nights and liked it here. Breakfast buffet was decent. Location is excellent in the historic district. My only conplaint was when they set up teh breakfast buffet in the morning, they didn't seem aware of the fact that people might be sleeping at 530AM. It was the same thing every morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxaca
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night and then transfered to a B & B which we had previously reserved for the subsequent three nights. Hotel Alameda has everything you could want in a hotel in Morelia: beside the plaza (portals in the centro historico), A/C, WIFI, immaculate rooms (modern / contemporary vs. traditional), Cable TV, helpful staff (English too), and valet parking for a nominal daily sum. The prices are different depending on how you book, but the range was only about a $15 USD difference, so no big deal. Value was excellent. Highly recommended, and far superior to where we ended up for the subsequent three nights (had booked with a deposit). When we return to Morelia we will definitely stay at Hotel Alameda.

Room Tip: King bed was offered at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#2 of 65 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mision Catedral
Hotel Mision Catedral
#15 of 65 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#16 of 65 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#12 of 65 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alameda Centro Historico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alameda Centro Historico Hotel

Address: Av Madero Poniente 313, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morelia
#6 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alameda Centro Historico Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alameda Centro Historico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alameda Centro Historico Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alameda Centro Historico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.