We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel with All Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alameda Centro Historico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alameda Centro Historico Hotel to your Saves list
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Madero Poniente 313, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
oaxaca
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel with All Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night and then transfered to a B & B which we had previously reserved for the subsequent three nights. Hotel Alameda has everything you could want in a hotel in Morelia: beside the plaza (portals in the centro historico), A/C, WIFI, immaculate rooms (modern / contemporary vs. traditional), Cable TV, helpful staff (English too), and valet parking for a nominal daily sum. The prices are different depending on how you book, but the range was only about a $15 USD difference, so no big deal. Value was excellent. Highly recommended, and far superior to where we ended up for the subsequent three nights (had booked with a deposit). When we return to Morelia we will definitely stay at Hotel Alameda.

Room Tip: King bed was offered at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
17
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

For me the best part of this hotel was the location, very close to a cambio, shops, restaurants, the cathedral and a walk into the heart of it all. The staff was friendly and a number of them had a great command of English. The food was ok, Main concern for me when I was was there was the student protest and cars were being burned. The room was a little cramped but decent and clean, and I had a great view. Another downside for me was the lack of a gym here.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The location is unbeatable, however, the hotel is composed of two different buildings. We stayed at the renovated colonial building which is relatively new and quite good. The "modern" building, though, has older and much more cramped rooms. The breakfast was ok, not worth the price unless you want convenience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is right off the cathedral/park. Our room was a weird L shape. Quite dark. No functioning outlet to plug in a computer except in bathroom. Water sloshed out of the tiny lip on shower stall and flooded bathroom. I would not return. BUt if you do stay here, know that the restaurant named Tricos along vaulted arcade is really good. We went for dinner, then back for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My 75 year-old dad and I stayed at the Alameda for five days in May 2011 and were completely satisfied with the room, service, convenient location and price. I grew up going to Morelia once every couple years but never stayed in hotels because we had family there. I remember walking by the Alameda many times and wondering why it was weirdly modern compared to the historic buildings along the Avenida Madero. There are fancier, historic, boutique hotels just steps away but they cost two or three times as much. If you are looking for a central location, friendly service, and a clean, comfortable room this is a good choice. You will be across from the main plaza, close to many cafes, bars and restaurants, the candy market (mercado de dulces) which has an assortment of artisan candies, wood, textile and leather products, the university, cathedral and other impressive churches, banks, grocery stores, and just about every other kind of business you might want. A few things to consider:
- Our room was a double and the bathroom was a bit small but everything worked fine and we were comfortable.
- We requested a room with view because we wanted to see the cathedral at night. It is a great view but even with windows closed the street sounds were noticeable. This might be a problem for light sleepers.
- We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but it looked busy every morning for breakfast/brunch and in the evenings. You can opt for breakfast to be included in the room fee.
- The hotel offers parking for a small fee and it is totally worth getting if you are driving.
- This is an older hotel so there is no pool.
- There is a great convenience store downstairs for toiletries, liquor, soft drinks, snacks, etc

I recommend the Alameda if you are traveling on a budget and want to stay in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great location. Extremely helpful staff, who went out of their way to help me. No problems with using Internet. Super shower pressure. Quiet interior room, but sometimes had to put up with people smoking cigarettes in the courtyard outside my door. (Next time, I might request a room off of the first floor.) The price was extremely fair. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Hotel needs to be updated. Good location, close to central square and main catherdal. Shopping not the best. Beds were OK. Bathrooms need to be reno. Staff was good, but needs to improve. I wished I had stayed across the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alameda Centro Historico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alameda Centro Historico Hotel

Address: Av Madero Poniente 313, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alameda Centro Historico Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alameda Centro Historico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alameda Centro Historico Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alameda Centro Historico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.