We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Patzimba 77 Col. Vista Bella, Morelia 58090, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and it was just amazing we had a balcony overlooking the city of Morelia. It was just amazing the staff is super friendly and the room was fenomenal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

The perfect place for a romantic date! The staff very helpful, friendly and detailed.
Caring staff always make us feel free!! The gardens are so beatiful!!and specially the view of the Morelia City is spectacular!!
An excellent choice to live with your partner one exceptional night!!!
Just love it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I travelled here against several travel advisories which suggested that Michoacan is a dangerous area. My 'Morelia' experience was fantastic from every aspect and never felt threatened for a single moment. This hotel was all I needed to complete a well-rounded authentic Mexican experience.

Helpful staff, extremely polite and effective - true ambassadors of the Mexican hospitality.

The hotel built in a bungalow style with traditional local design and tiled roofs, well maintained gardens decorated with pink stone sculptures (Morelia is the city of the pink stone - Ciudad de las Canteras Rosas) a swimming pool and a tennis court.

Comfortable room with ensuite bathroom (shower) decorated in Mexican colours and heavy rustique furniture. Big screen TV and free wireless internet cover the technical side of the offering. The decoration is complemented with a very artisan way of presenting towels folded like small animals.

The jewel in the crown of this establishment is the restaurant which offers a majestic view of the city from the Loma de Santa Maria. Whether for breakfast or for dinner the view is unforgettable and no guest should miss it! The quality of the meals served is very good and the service staff courteous and effective.

Finally, in an environment which the press characterises as unsafe - having experienced Morelia even by night, I wonder why is this perception there - in this hotel the feeling of safety is 120%.

In general, this is an excellent choice for the business or the leisure traveller and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Lovely romantic hotel on the hills above Morelia
Free and fairly fast internet wifi in rooms
30-45 min drive from the centre
nice tranquil environment with beautiful gardens
Restaurant has good views and nice food
nice heated open air pool
Safety priority with 24 hours security staff
Ideal for a romantic break or with families

Restaurant service can improve if waiters could speak better english
There is nothing much happening around the hotel apart from the restaurant
so you need to bring your company/entertainment in the evening
Rooms that have great views of Morelia are more noisy because of busy street

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexiko Stadt
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Villa San José is a very nice option for staying a night over in Morelia. Rooms are very clean and nicely arranged according to a traditional country style. Also the garden with its art and beauty is overwhelming. Last but not least the hotel restaurant is delicious and worth a visit. Unfortunately the bar did not open, even though we stayed at Villa San José at a weekend. I want to believe that it was the season..
When it comes to location, it really depends on what you expect. If you prefer short ways after dinner or a night out in precious Morelia, you'd better stay in one of the centric hotels surrounding the cathedral. However, if you are looking forward to relaxing in your holidays and are focused on sleep quality, this is definately the place to be!
The hotel has frequent special offers that let you stay for 1299 instead of 1999 MXN per night. It is not the cheapest option, but once you stay there, you know it's worth every penny.
I liked it very much and for sure will return soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We just returned from a 3 day stay at Villa San José. The property is very nice. We have 4 young kids, so we stayed there because of their 2 room suites and the fact that they have a pool for an afternoon swim.

The property is very nice, service could not be friendlier. Breakfast in their restaurant is very good and diner is pretty lousy.

I give the hotel 2 stars because, our room was way beyond the stature of what this hotel should present. I believe that normal rooms are probably lees ugly, but ours definitely needed serious revamp. the hotel had free wireless internet, which I was never able to access, despite very friendly efforts to help me on the part of the hotel personel.

Probably most important flaw, its showers we terrrible. they would go from steaming hot to freezing cold in a few seconds, back and forth. 2 of my kids ended up crying because of the showers becoming too hot all of the sudden.

as I said we selected the hotel because of the pool. Well the pool is freezing cold. From day 1, my kids were dying to jump into the pool. Only the 8 and 10 year olds had the courage to stand the temperature. My 6 year old went in started crying and went out. We complained and we explained that they do have the ability to warm the pool but it is just too expensive and the hotel management decided to save the money.

all in all it is a fair place to stay, but it does have a number of details and lack of investment that seriously downgrade the quality of the hotel.

I believ ethat Villa Montaña across the street is nicer and better prepared, but would anticipate to travelers looking for a pool, that they will encontrer our same problem.

I I go back, I will no doubt stay at the casa San Diego. Fantastic quiet new hotel in a privileged location in the city. If I want to be downtown, the choices are Juaninos (great restaurant on top) and Cantera 10.

  • Liked — the view and the property, very nice
  • Disliked — terrible showers, cold pool
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed at the Villa San Jose Hotel and Suites for three nights at the end of July. We had a huge two room, two level suite. The property was beautiful, the stay relaxing and the staff very accommodating and friendly. We only ate breakfasts and one lunch at the hotel, but what we ate was quite good. We took taxis into Morelia (about $3 - $4 each way). The location was perfect for easily getting out to Patzcuaro and the other Michoacan towns. Overall, we were very impressed, the only negatives being:

+ Rooms are a bit dark and I believe they'd have to be cold in winter
+ Daily cleaning was just OK, not exceptional like everything else

We were on the fence about whether to stay in the center of Morelia or the Santa Maria neighborhood. Given that we were traveling with young children, we opted for the pool, the extra space and the quiet. It was a great decision and I can highly recommend this property.

BTW, we booked through AAA and got very good discounts. I saw similar discounts on other web sites, so be sure to look for deals.

  • Liked — Grounds, views and staff
  • Disliked — Daily cleaning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites

Address: Patzimba 77 Col. Vista Bella, Morelia 58090, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.