We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the Middle of Downtown (just right for a Byke Tour)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Juaninos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Juaninos to your Saves list
Los Juaninos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos Sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Celaya, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in the Middle of Downtown (just right for a Byke Tour)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This little, comfy and semi-boutique hotel has a superb location right in front of Morelia's Cathedral. Rooms are big enough to fit four people with no problems and the prices are fair. Valet parking is excellent and the staff is really attentive. We had breakfast in the restaurant (located on the roof top) and it was a very nice view and the food was ok. Service on the restaurant could improve more if they really pay attention to these reviews. We were in Morelia on a short weekend mini-vacation and had a chance to see the downtown closed to traffic and cars. You can ask for a tandem bike in the front desk of the hotel and go ride all over the city's main square. Lovely tour if you go with your significant other. Recommended.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you like a room with view or not (could add around 20 bucks to your rate). But on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

So, let's look at the good things about this hotel:

It is set in a beautiful building with two covered courtyards, right in the centre of Morelia. It is very clean indeed and all the furniture is grand and well looked after. There's free wifi in lots of the rooms and also in the lobby, although it isn't that fast.

The room we had was spacious and very comfortable, but it had a tiny window with no view. Some in our party had smaller rooms with no windows at all, so if you can, request rooms that look over the square (which are beautiful too).

And now on to the restaurant and bar. This is set on the top floor of the hotel and one side of it is entirely glass, with beautiful views over the square. It is decorated in a very stylish and modern way. BUT. The service is absolutely terrible. It takes an absolute age to get served, food takes even longer to arrive and when it does it is a bit of a disappointment. For example, a colleague ordered a salad but asked for chicken on top. The salad arrived and he ate it. The chicken arrived on a separate plate just after he had finished his salad.

I wouldn't recommend you eat in the restaurant except for breakfast and go out to explore some of the other restaurants in the city, which are superb.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I did not pay for this stay since I had plenty of miles with AA that I decided to use it for this hotel. It was worth it. The room was so spacious! The beds were nice and comfy, good temperature, nice bathroom. The location cannot be better across from the Catedral de Morelia. After my stay I found out that this place used to be a hospital. :O and of course rumors that is haunted, who knows, but I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What you get is a classy historic building (formerly a hospital run by a religious order - the eponymous "Juaninos", I belive) with handsome, boutique hotel-style rooms, smack-dab in the middle of Morelia's historic center. Location-wise, it doesn't get much better. My room was not the priciest of theirs on offer, but I loved it anyway with it's high ceiling and the individual touches, like pretty paintings and antiques. The interior hallways, twisting staircases, the funky steampunk-looking elevator all come together to form a stylish whole.

Service was good, and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast with views of the skyline at the top of the hotel. This was one of the hotels, however, where they didn't speak much English - I still got by with my terrible Spanish, but something to be aware of. My only complaint: the occasional church bells at night (luckily I always bring ear plugs).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I wrote a positive review on Los Juaninos ast spring and decided to try this historic hotel again. The location across from the Cathedral is perfect and being Christmas season the plaza was filled with excited children and weary parents. Parking and unloading is always a challenge at Los Juaninos. Honking holiday traffic was a nightmare – fortunately the valet parking spot was free and we unloaded with little difficulty although my partner was almost run over. Check in was efficient and the receptionist and spoke English.
Our tiny inner courtyard room didn’t compare with our delightful first experience….old grainy CRT television, one glass for drinks, no TV guide, no wall outlet for computer hookup and a window that faced a 6’x6’ cavern. We slept well. The bed and linen were first rate and sound proofing average for Mexico.
This review demonstrates to variability of a hotel stay from one visit to another. Large chain hotels tend to maintain consistent quality whereas smaller boutique hotels can vary considerably.

Room Tip: Do not select a room facing the Cathedral unless you are a sound sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel! Great rooftop bar. Next to a discotheque! Awesome! Rooms were very clean, staff was attentive, really much likes it. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaàwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go to Morelia in order to avoid the crowds of semsna santa that usually fill the beaches. The staff was friendly and our suite super nice. The only thing bad was that the internet was not working and they kept telling us it was. The valet parking service was outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Juaninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Juaninos

Address: Morelos Sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Juaninos 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riginally a 17th-century noble palace, Los Juaninos was converted into a superb 30-room hotel in 1998 when it was renovated with all modern facilities and comforts. Yet this landmark building faithfully retains its architectural grandeur, harmonizing with surrounding Spanish colonial buildings of Morelia's Historic Center which, in its entirety, is designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. According to UNESCO, these aristocratic buildings "reflect the town's architectural history, revealing a masterly and eclectic blend of the medieval spirit with Renaissance, Baroque and neoclassical elements." The hotel's impressive facade and lobby, thick stone walls, graceful stairways and arched hallways combine with guestrooms and suites, each one distinct, forming an ambience reminiscent of Morelia's glorious past. Balconied windows have breathtaking close-up views of Morelia's cathedral: the varying shades of its pink quarry stone facade by day; glowing magnificently at dusk; and dramatically illuminated at night. The city's tree-lined main square is just across the street, a vibrant setting in the heart of Morelia, capital of the State of Michoacan. History At the end of the seventeenth century, the Captain General of New Spain and Bishop Juan Ortega y Montanez ordered the construction of the opulent Bishop's Palace in this privileged location of Morelia. Then, in 1700, the Bishop granted the building to the religious order of Los Juaninos who converted it into the Royal Hospital of San Juan de Dios which they maintained for over a century. In 1857 the building was sold to private individuals, and in 1886 it was transformed by architect Guillermo Wotton de Corinne, influenced by fashionable romantic architectural style, into the most luxurious hotel of the period, the Hotel Oseguera. It catered to first-class passengers traveling on the new railway from Mexico City to Morelia. Finally, in 1998 the building was restored to its original splendor and reopened as the Hotel Los Juaninos, with its antique French furnishings, rich fabrics, and art-nouveau stained-glass windows, as well as modern facilities including an elevator. Hotel Los Juaninos has continually undergone renovations and enhancements during the past decade. Morelia has played an important role in the history of Mexico. It was the birthplace of several heroes of the Mexican Independence, September 16, 1810, a date that is celebrated spectacularly here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Juaninos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Juaninos Morelia
Los Juaninos Hotel Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Juaninos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.