We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty building, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Juaninos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Los Juaninos to your Saves list
Los Juaninos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos Sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pretty building, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What you get is a classy historic building (formerly a hospital run by a religious order - the eponymous "Juaninos", I belive) with handsome, boutique hotel-style rooms, smack-dab in the middle of Morelia's historic center. Location-wise, it doesn't get much better. My room was not the priciest of theirs on offer, but I loved it anyway with it's high ceiling and the individual touches, like pretty paintings and antiques. The interior hallways, twisting staircases, the funky steampunk-looking elevator all come together to form a stylish whole.

Service was good, and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast with views of the skyline at the top of the hotel. This was one of the hotels, however, where they didn't speak much English - I still got by with my terrible Spanish, but something to be aware of. My only complaint: the occasional church bells at night (luckily I always bring ear plugs).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I wrote a positive review on Los Juaninos ast spring and decided to try this historic hotel again. The location across from the Cathedral is perfect and being Christmas season the plaza was filled with excited children and weary parents. Parking and unloading is always a challenge at Los Juaninos. Honking holiday traffic was a nightmare – fortunately the valet parking spot was free and we unloaded with little difficulty although my partner was almost run over. Check in was efficient and the receptionist and spoke English.
Our tiny inner courtyard room didn’t compare with our delightful first experience….old grainy CRT television, one glass for drinks, no TV guide, no wall outlet for computer hookup and a window that faced a 6’x6’ cavern. We slept well. The bed and linen were first rate and sound proofing average for Mexico.
This review demonstrates to variability of a hotel stay from one visit to another. Large chain hotels tend to maintain consistent quality whereas smaller boutique hotels can vary considerably.

Room Tip: Do not select a room facing the Cathedral unless you are a sound sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel! Great rooftop bar. Next to a discotheque! Awesome! Rooms were very clean, staff was attentive, really much likes it. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaàwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go to Morelia in order to avoid the crowds of semsna santa that usually fill the beaches. The staff was friendly and our suite super nice. The only thing bad was that the internet was not working and they kept telling us it was. The valet parking service was outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked Los Juaninos (the igaunas) twice in February and enjoyed both stays. We chose a quiet large inner room on the second floor (#214). Enjoyed the comfortable king sized bed with top of the line bedding. A charming boutique hotel for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The rooms are nicely decorated, and the hotel's structure give them a unique antique look. The rooms are comfortable, adequately equipped with AC, TV, comfortable beds and bedding, and the room i had (rm 110) had a tiny balcony with a neat view of the cathedral's side. The cathedral's bells ring every 15 minutes or so between 6am and 10pm, but it never bothered me. I read in some reviews that there is a nightclub that could be heard in the rooms until very late, and it might be because i stayed from sunday to friday, but i never felt or heard anything. The one thing i think the hotel lacks is common spaces. It has a restaurant up on the second floor with a great view, but other than that there's no place in the entire hotel to sit down comfortably to work or read, which can be a problem if you're on business because the rooms aren't very comfortable to work. The hotel's WIFI was mediocre at best and you can't get good signal in the rooms, lobby or restraurant, don't expect too much there. The service was great and the room service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with a view to the cathedral, it's well worth the money and the road alongside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is just across the cathedral ans has a restaurant which at night the view of the cathedral is astonishing!!!! I highly recommend it

Hotel excelente tiene una localizacion perfecta y la vista de la catedral desde el restaurant del hotel por la noche no puede ser mejor Lo recominedo de verdad!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Juaninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Juaninos

Address: Morelos Sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Juaninos 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Juaninos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Juaninos Morelia
Los Juaninos Hotel Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Juaninos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.