We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Juaninos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Juaninos to your Saves list
Los Juaninos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos Sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Warm service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go to Morelia in order to avoid the crowds of semsna santa that usually fill the beaches. The staff was friendly and our suite super nice. The only thing bad was that the internet was not working and they kept telling us it was. The valet parking service was outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked Los Juaninos (the igaunas) twice in February and enjoyed both stays. We chose a quiet large inner room on the second floor (#214). Enjoyed the comfortable king sized bed with top of the line bedding. A charming boutique hotel for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The rooms are nicely decorated, and the hotel's structure give them a unique antique look. The rooms are comfortable, adequately equipped with AC, TV, comfortable beds and bedding, and the room i had (rm 110) had a tiny balcony with a neat view of the cathedral's side. The cathedral's bells ring every 15 minutes or so between 6am and 10pm, but it never bothered me. I read in some reviews that there is a nightclub that could be heard in the rooms until very late, and it might be because i stayed from sunday to friday, but i never felt or heard anything. The one thing i think the hotel lacks is common spaces. It has a restaurant up on the second floor with a great view, but other than that there's no place in the entire hotel to sit down comfortably to work or read, which can be a problem if you're on business because the rooms aren't very comfortable to work. The hotel's WIFI was mediocre at best and you can't get good signal in the rooms, lobby or restraurant, don't expect too much there. The service was great and the room service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with a view to the cathedral, it's well worth the money and the road alongside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is just across the cathedral ans has a restaurant which at night the view of the cathedral is astonishing!!!! I highly recommend it

Hotel excelente tiene una localizacion perfecta y la vista de la catedral desde el restaurant del hotel por la noche no puede ser mejor Lo recominedo de verdad!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Nice hotel with a great location, but it gets very noisy at nights. Doors are not soundproof.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I really have mixed feeling about this hotel.
One the one hand, it is perfectly located: just by the main square. The interior of the hotel has this old world charm. Our room was nice, and bed and pillows were really great. Breakfast was good.

Downsize? Noise. Not your usual bearable noise from the room nearby. No, I am talking about NOISE. The one that simply prevents you from sleeping for most of the night.
What is the most annoying is that the noise comes from the hotel itself. To be more precise: from the bar at the third floor; hosting DJs on week-ends. The noise is simply unbearable, and continues until 3 am!

This hotel needs seems to want to have it both ways: charging a premium for tourists searching for nice surrounding and comfort (this hotel is expensive); whilst wanting to entertain party animals. (hence preventing guests from sleeping)

I am not the 'go to bed at 10 PM' type of person. But if I stay at a hotel, I want to be able to sleep when I want to.

Will not return.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice now and will be back again upon our next trip to Morelia. They recently redid the rooms and they are beautiful. Can't beat the view of the Cathedral either. We loved waking up to the hustle and bustle outside, the cathedral bell ringing, etc. The restaurant is great, too. Loved their breakfast and pretty reasonable. The hotel also arranged transport to and from the airport, which was great, timely, and fairly reasonable, too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Juaninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Juaninos

Address: Morelos Sur 39, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Juaninos 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riginally a 17th-century noble palace, Los Juaninos was converted into a superb 30-room hotel in 1998 when it was renovated with all modern facilities and comforts. Yet this landmark building faithfully retains its architectural grandeur, harmonizing with surrounding Spanish colonial buildings of Morelia's Historic Center which, in its entirety, is designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. According to UNESCO, these aristocratic buildings "reflect the town's architectural history, revealing a masterly and eclectic blend of the medieval spirit with Renaissance, Baroque and neoclassical elements." The hotel's impressive facade and lobby, thick stone walls, graceful stairways and arched hallways combine with guestrooms and suites, each one distinct, forming an ambience reminiscent of Morelia's glorious past. Balconied windows have breathtaking close-up views of Morelia's cathedral: the varying shades of its pink quarry stone facade by day; glowing magnificently at dusk; and dramatically illuminated at night. The city's tree-lined main square is just across the street, a vibrant setting in the heart of Morelia, capital of the State of Michoacan. History At the end of the seventeenth century, the Captain General of New Spain and Bishop Juan Ortega y Montanez ordered the construction of the opulent Bishop's Palace in this privileged location of Morelia. Then, in 1700, the Bishop granted the building to the religious order of Los Juaninos who converted it into the Royal Hospital of San Juan de Dios which they maintained for over a century. In 1857 the building was sold to private individuals, and in 1886 it was transformed by architect Guillermo Wotton de Corinne, influenced by fashionable romantic architectural style, into the most luxurious hotel of the period, the Hotel Oseguera. It catered to first-class passengers traveling on the new railway from Mexico City to Morelia. Finally, in 1998 the building was restored to its original splendor and reopened as the Hotel Los Juaninos, with its antique French furnishings, rich fabrics, and art-nouveau stained-glass windows, as well as modern facilities including an elevator. Hotel Los Juaninos has continually undergone renovations and enhancements during the past decade. Morelia has played an important role in the history of Mexico. It was the birthplace of several heroes of the Mexican Independence, September 16, 1810, a date that is celebrated spectacularly here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Juaninos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Juaninos Morelia
Los Juaninos Hotel Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Juaninos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.