We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Charm in Old Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virrey de Mendoza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Virrey de Mendoza to your Saves list
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Madero Pte. No. 310 | Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spanish Charm in Old Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

An old traditionally Spanish style hotel with some lovely features. My room was comfortable and although the fittings were dated they all worked. The menu is varied with a good selection of Mexican and European food. Service from everyone was excellent and I was made to feel very welcome. There is a lift which is good because the grand staircase is a long way up carrying bags. However, the staircase is great for making an entrance to the huge lobby. Try to be there on Saturday night for the fireworks at the cathedral. Valet parking is an essential being on the Town Square.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
28
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is perfect.
We found the bedroom quite hot, and the fan a bit noisy and old. But the shower is very good. We went just for two days only, so no serious complain. The price is right.
The continental breakfast is fine, but who likes the Expresso coffee, will pay separately. The laundry service very correct, and not expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

stayed there 2000. our first trip to Morelia. Wonderful room over looking the centro. First class restaurant and service. Staff very professional Beautiful interior, very close to all the activity. Stayed there mare than once

Room Tip: decide whether you want to overlook the centro with lots of action maybe even fire works or inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from another wonderful trip to Morelia Mexico....as the Lonely Planet Mexico travel book claims "the coolest place you've never been." The Virrey de Mendoza is located on a corner of Plaza de Armas with a beautiful view of the main Cathedral from it's outdoor cafe under the Portico and from the rooms facing the Plaza. Be sure to be in Morelia on a weekend when they close off the main road, Madera, through the historic center, and at 9pm start a fireworks display above the cathedral bell towers. As you enter the lobby, the spacious courtyard is covered by a spectacular stained-glass atrium. During breakfast and in the evening, you are serenaded by Juan Carlos on the grand piano. My husband and I have contacted the hotel directly and gotten great promotional rates which include taxes, breakfast and a welcome cocktail. reservaciones@hotelvirrey.com. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antique furniture, quality bed linens, have high ceilings and creaky plank wood floors. If you appreciate old and elegant, you will love the Virrey. Check out the tourist office in the lobby of the nearby Casino Hotel for cultural events, art-dance-music, that are often free and within walking distance of the Virrey. So much to do and so little time. Not much English spoken so best to brush up on a little Spanish. The staff goes out of their way to bridge the language barrier with hospitality and excellent service.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, ask for an interior room. If you prefer a view, ask for a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We traveled by car from Manzanillo, arriving a little early for check in, but were pleased to have the valet accept our car and the reception staff permit us access to our room a little early. Our room was large and comfortable but had only a very tiny window - we expected as much as we were in the least expensive class of room. A first issue: the room was quite noisy as it was on the north side of the hotel, where the main road (highway 15) runs through Morelia - this in spite of the fact that I requested a quiet room. Second issue: at breakfast the staff open both sets of front doors as they carry out the tables and chairs for the sidewalk café from the lobby to the sidewalk. During this period the hotel lobby and restaurant became extremely cold (about 50 F on my little thermometer). Third issue: the emergency exit route is marked by signs but leads one down stairs with a gate/door locked near the ground floor - this could be deadly in case of an emergency. I directed this last safety issue to reception staff and they were quite dis-interested. Fourth issue: the hotel common areas (hallways and stairwells) are very poorly lit after midnight and would be difficult to negotiate in an emergency. Fifth: Although the breakfasts, included in the price of the room, were quite good, the lunch we had on the sidewalk café portion of the hotel restaurant was average at best. Sixth: There was no internet service in the rooms and only intermittent WiFi service in the lobby, which was very cold in the morning when they were moving patio furniture out. Seventh: I speak enough Spanish to get by, having recently completed level 5 of Rosetta Stone, but the hotel has few English-speaking staff, even at the reception desk....if you come here learn some Spanish first!

Room Tip: You need to pay more for a room with a view of the cathedral...only suites view the cathedral and sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed in the Virrey de Mendoza, Morelia 4 times prior to this visit and have always been satisfied. This time I reserved a room with two double beds as I was sharing the room with friends. The room that they gave us was an interior room, which is common in Mexico, and arrived to find that neither the ceiling fan nor the air conditioner were working. I was shown two different rooms and neither room had decent ventilation and in both cases did not have an air conditioner. As I arrived late I accepted the room that I had and was given a floor fan which really did nothing to improve the poor ventilation.
The Virrey has one of the most beautiful hotel locations in the city and overlooks the magnificent Zocalo or central square. The structure is spectacular and was at one time in history an opulent private mansion. One could not ask for a more perfect place to stay but it is extremely important to make sure you do not have an interior room.
The room we booked had a delicious breakfast included in the price which is well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older part of the hotel facing Calle Madero or the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is very well located and is kept in pristine conditions. The staff is polite and the rooms are neat and cozy
The building is perfect for taking pictures, most of the areas reflect the beautiful architecture and style from the colonial times, the skylight above the front desk and restaurant is simply spectacular and right across the street you can enjoy a tour of one of the most stunning cathedrals in America
If you are looking to know more of the magic of the old Mexico, this hotel is an excellent choice

Room Tip: The rooms with a view may be noisy as they face one of the main streets, however, they are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virrey de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virrey de Mendoza

Address: Av. Madero Pte. No. 310 | Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Virrey de Mendoza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Virrey de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virrey De Mendoza Hotel
Virrey De Mendoza Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virrey de Mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.