We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location - average room - below average staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casino Morelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casino Morelia to your Saves list
Hotel Casino Morelia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal Hidalgo No. 229, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Very good location - average room - below average staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location overlooking the Cathedral and Main Plaza on a Saturday night. At $55USD/night, it is a good value. We had requested a room overlooking the Cathedral with the understanding that it may be a bit noisy during the evening hours. Not sure about the size of the other rooms but we found ours to be a bit cramped but certainly clean.

We did experience a problem created by the front desk. We knew that on Sundays, they closed the road in front of the hotel for bicycles and people walking. When checking in, we asked about retrieving our car from valet parking at 7am since we were making the long drive to Oaxaca on Sunday and told it would be no problem. I went down to the barely open front desk about 6:30am to request our car. Well Senior: "the parking garage does not open till 8am". This delayed our planned departure by over an hour and prevented us from meeting up with another vehicle making the same trip. We have traveled so much in Mexico that I knew getting upset would do no good and that this was more of a matter that the front desk told us what they thought we wanted to hear!

Room Tip: The interior rooms are probably quieter but we wanted to catch the action below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
57
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel in June 2012, and think it was good value for the money. The location is great because you can walk around and see many tourist spots.

Checking in was very easy and it took about 2 minutes. I asked about getting taxi service for my departure and the taxi was right on time. =)

I was very glad I took the guided tour on the trolly for 55 pesos. It highlights the best of the historic center and you can choose which spots to visit later.

I would definately stay here if you want good value and don't need much luxuary.

Tips: It costs 270 pesos to go to the Morelia Bus Station from here and 280 pesos to go to the Morelia Airport. The Bus Station is easy to navigate and travel to different towns cheaply.

Room Tip: I did not have a balcony room because I wanted a good night sleep before going to the airport early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Casino Morelia in June and were very happy with the experience. The staff are great - friendly and always looking to help out. We had a balcony room overlooking the square - a little small, but for the price it was more than we were expecting. Getting the balcony room was definitely worth it - a view of the square and the cathedral (which is lit up at night). The square is a little loud, but quieted down at a reasonable hour and we never had a problem sleeping. The room was clean and bed comfy.
We booked through their website using the English translation and there were a couple of things that didn't match the description. We chose the breakfast included option which listed a buffet breakfast. The breakfast is actually continental - a large plate of fruit, a couple of buns and (very good) coffee. Disappointing, but for the price, fair. The second was that we booked the tasting menu with wine pairings for 750 pesos (the meal was awesome BTW). What we got in the end was a 750 peso credit towards the meal, which actually cost 824 pesos. Obviously a disconnect between the makers of the website (which they told me was controlled by their parent hotel chain) and the hotel. When I pointed the problem out, they had trouble understanding what was going on, but in the end made me happy with a couple of drinks.
Overall a very pleasant experience and will stay there agin if we return to Morelia.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the square - unless you are a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this nice hotel located in the historic center across from the pretty Plaza Melchor Ocampo and Catedral de Morelia. The nicely decorated room had a small balcony and faced the plaza. The price included wi-fi, bottles of purified water everyday, a washing machine and dryer, fan, TV, and treadmill. There was a nice stand-alone closet with plenty of space and hangars. The ceilings were high, which made the room feel bigger. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Jorge, who spoke English very well and sincerely cared about our comfort and safety. Our room was kept very clean; we have no complaints. The hotel restaurant was top-notch (recommended in the Lonely Planet guide book). The location is the best you can do in Morelia. Scores of restaurants, shops, markets, and cafes are within easy walking distance. There is an Oxxo convenience store on the next block, which really came in handy. In the same large building as the hotel are a few good restaurants, McDonald's, an awesome cafe, and a tourist information office that was very helpful. There was some noise from activities going on in the plaza, but that's to be expected. It always died down by a reasonable time. We slept very well. There were large wooden doors inside the balcony doors, that when closed, blocked a lot of sound and light. We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Casino for five days while my wife and I vacationed in Morelia.

We chose Hotel Casino for a couple reasons. First, the location. Secondly, the hotel's web site was done well with great photos. That main photo here on tripadvisor looks pretty great.

Hotel casino certainly did live up to our expectations with regard to location. We wanted to stay in the heart of the historic district and this hotel is at the center of the center.

Another plus was the price. We booked online through their web site and ended up paying less than $60 a night. Not bad, even by Mexican standards.

Sadly, the hotel overall did not live up to our expectations. The rooms are very small and quite out-dated. If you're just looking for a convenient place to sleep, then this in itself won't present a problem.

However, the rooms do not have air conditioning. In the Spring (we just got back a week ago), that's not so bad at night. But even in the day, it get's pretty warm and the small fan they have in the room just doesn't cut it. I would avoid this place at all cost in the Summer and Winter.

There are no safes in the room, so you'll probably need to take your valuables with you. This is not always convenient or ideal. We tried leaving the 'do not disturb' sign on our door in hopes to feel more safe, but the staff advised us that they are required to clean the room anyway. We thought this was strange and inconvenient.

The staff certainly wasn't exceptional when it came to service. They weren't rude, but they often seemed to give off a vibe that they're inconvenienced when asked for assistance. None of them seemed to speak a word of English, but hey, it's Mexico and this hotel probably cannot afford multi-lingual employees.

With all things considered, this is not an ideal place to stay. The lack of climate control would render the place miserable most of the year. We've spent a week at another hotel called Hotel Alameda less than 100 feet away that has nicer rooms and adequate climate control. It's also less expensive (about $5 less a night when booked online), so I would recommend that place over Hotel Casino.

Room Tip: don't get a room facing the town square - far too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I don't think I could be happier with the hotel when I consider how inexpensive it is.

Sitting just across from the street from the main plaza in front of the cathedral. One of the top five restaurants in Morelia is in the lobby and the rest are within walking distance.

The staff could not be nicer. Always a smile and nothing they won't do for you. An example, we asked which direction to walk to go to a restaurant we had heard about. Not only did the front desk staff confirm the directions, they told us it was a great choice and offered to call and make us a reservation. We told them it was not necessary as it was early. When we arrived at the restaurant 15 minutes later, we were greeted by name as the hotel had called anyway. That is great service.

We drove to Morelia and were concerned about safe parking for our car. The valet parking service at the hotel is included in the inexpensive room price. Wow! What a nice surprise.

The rooms are very clean and somewhat basic. If you are okay with that, then give it a try. It truly is an incredible value and the staff make it awesome.

Room Tip: Room on the front have a deck to the street, but that is also your source of fresh air and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our room is bright and airy. For the amount we are paying (US$50 or so/night) it is large and roomy. Very clean. Hot water and flat-screen TV, in-room wireless internet. The hotel is right on the plaza in front of the cathedral, walking distance to anywhere in Centro Histórico. The staff is super friendly and very service-oriented. We are greeted warmly each time we pass through the lobby. Restaurant Lu ROCKS. Breakfast is not included for this price, nor is parking. There is no pool, and the gym is basically 2 pieces of equipment with a television. There is a reading/television room with table, chairs and a sofa, and several sofas/easy chairs in the lobby. The inner room we are staying in is very quiet. Street view was tempting, with Procession of Silence and Saturday night cathedral lighting--would be a GREAT view from the balcony, but we feared the noise of Semana Santa and wanted our sleep. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Want quiet: inner room, airy and bright Want great view: balcony with plaza/cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casino Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casino Morelia

Address: Portal Hidalgo No. 229, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casino Morelia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casino is a gourmet hotel in an 18th century building, located in the heart of the Historic Center, across the street from the Cathedral with the atmosphere of the picturesque city arches of Morelia, a city declared a UNESCO World Heritage site.Surrounded by museums, galleries, shops, theaters, movie houses, and restaurants.Perfect for those who travel for either pleasure or business.The rooms are traditional Morelia style with a modern shine,some with a view of the Cathedral and all with valet parking, Internet service, business corner, and the restaurant LU COCINA MICHOACANAwhere you will enjoy an unforgettable gastronomic experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casino Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Morelia
Best Western Morelia
Morelia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casino Morelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.