We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. Can't go wrong ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Montana to your Saves list
Villa Montana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Patzimba 201 | Colonia Vista Bella, Morelia 58090, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Can't go wrong ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a beautiful hotel, unique atmosphere, fantastic service. Unique view of one of Mexico's most beautiful cities.

If you are a spa lover; impossible to go wrong. Great food. In summary a weekend is not enough for this unique place. TRY IT!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
29
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

And I will come back again. Out of downtown way to the mountain. That is why they offer beautiful views. It is like being out of the City without driving too much. The chef is the best. Mexican Very well done cuisine. A nice outdoor pool and great outdoor areas for nice pictures and events. Private, luxury but not expensive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMontana, Gerente at Villa Montana, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Srita. Monica M,

No sabe la satisfacción que nos da leer reseñas como la suya y saber que realmente gozo de su estancia con nosotros, le agradecemos infinitamente sus comentarios y esperamos nos visite de nuevo muy pronto.

¡En Villa Montaña Hotel & Spa Morelia tiene su casa!

Quedo a sus órdenes,

Karla Valadez
Gerente General
Villa Montaña Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A beautiful location on a hill overlooking the city a 50 peso ride from town. The hotel has an outdoor pool, well equipped gym and spa and rooms are mainly on terraces with room to sit out or in as you wish. A Spanish feel to the place with plentiful and willing and helpful staff. Breakfast is very nice. We found it a haven of peace and quiet and were able to enjoy the facilities while taking in the local sights and those of the surrounding area. A great place to stay.T

The only drawback is that there are a fair number of stairs so if you need a room without this you should ensure that this is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a clear view of the city and point re stairs above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I spent three nights here, using Morelia as a base for visiting other towns including Quiroga and Patzcuaro. The service was excellent, especially receptionist Giselle who resolved a problem for me (not related to the hotel), very quickly and efficiently and for whom nothing was too much trouble. My room was spacious and very comfortable. I slept well each night which is unusual for me as my first night's sleep in any hotel is usually not good. Great wi-fi reception too. The views of the city from the hotel are excellent both in the morning and the evening. The hotel is a short drive from the city centre and its best to take a taxi - again reception will arrange this. The fare is a mere 40 pesos - very cheap. I have rated breakfast average because I prefer a buffet - the set menu and waiter service (although friendly) is a little formal for me, but that's erely a mater of taste. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city - it is beautiful in the morning and also at night when the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Highlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night in one of the standard double rooms when visiting Morelia. What you´d think of this hotel all depends on what you want from somewhere to stay. If you want a hotel that looks exactly the same as it would in any other city, like a holiday inn (not knocking them by the way) then this may not be your ideal hotel. If you like boutique hotels or places with plenty of character then this place is for you. We found the staff generally friendly and the hotel and gardens well maintained in general, although some things could do with a spruce up like the tennis court for example. But generally we couldn´t fault the hotel and would definitely go back to stay there again.
We ate in the restuarant at night, the food was generally good, as was the house wine, although the portions on some meals was quite small. Overall, given the location (and the alternative drive into the centre to find a restuarant), the price was from fair to slightly over priced (900 pesos for one started, two mains, one sweet and 4 drinks). The views were excellent over the city though, and we happened to be there during the film festival so were treated to a large fireworks display during dinner! The terrace overlooking the city is also perfect for an after dinner drink.

Overall, we would go back and I´d recommend the hotel if you are looking for somewhere with character, private parking and somewhere to relax.

One word of caution though, given its location up in the hill´s, the pool was pretty cold (or warm for me given I´m Scottish) when we visited in October, although it wasn´t a cold day by any means!

No complaints re the water pressure either, the shower/bath in our room was excellent!

Room Tip: The top suites in the hotel (from what we could see) had balconies with views over the city, so prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here on business, and it is in a great location in the hills overlooking the city with spectacular views. The property is very picturesque and authentic. The rooms are rustic and unfortunately a little dated, poor water pressure in the shower, few electrical outlets and no air conditioning. Did not eat in the restaurant other than breakfast which was fine. Nice looking pool area but didn't get to use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I and my friend stayed at this hotel Nov. 2012. She had visited it as a teen, 50 years ago and was keen to see if it was as nice as she remembered. Although much changed, it was.
The hotel is located, as you might guess, on a mountain overlooking the city. It is on the edge of the city. Morelia is a mid-sized, bustling place; you will need to take a taxi into the historic centre, about 50 pesos.
The hotel is very lovely. It feels like a garden. Our room was very well and thoughtfully appointed. Big, comfy beds, large screen TV, writing table, sofa, interesting art. Traditional styling. As well as having a conventional heater, it also had a grand wood-burning fireplace, very nice on a chilly autumn evening.
The on-site restaurant is excellent. Out of our seven week visit to Mexico, the Villa Montana meals were the best. (Also the priciest.) The Sunday brunch is excellent.
The restaurant staff, and the hotel staff alike were most accommodating. Several had worked there for decades and recollected many famous people who had stayed there recently and in the past. The enthusiastic manager clearly loves his job.
Because we were there during low season, the pricing was beyond reasonable.
You should consider staying and /or dining at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#2 of 65 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
1.6 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Turotel Morelia
Turotel Morelia
#4 of 65 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#16 of 65 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana

Address: Patzimba 201 | Colonia Vista Bella, Morelia 58090, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Montana 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Hotel Morelia
Montana Hotel Morelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.