We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary - and there is much better value in the area.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Express Morelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Express Morelia to your Saves list
City Express Morelia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal Hidalgo 245 | Col. Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very ordinary - and there is much better value in the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My guidebook (thank you Lonely Planet) didn't indicate that this had long since joined a chain and described this as the city's 'best midrange hotel' - they were wrong! The hotel isn't 'high design' or even minimalist - it is bare. All that said, I had a view of the main plaza & cathedral and the room was clean.

The entrance/lobby is not conducive to a good experience and the staff weren't the most helpful I met in my 5 week stay in Mexico. I ought to have booked-in next door (and will do so next time).

I didn't take advantage of the much-maligned (on this site) hotel breakfast, so can't comment. Had breakfast at Restaurant Lu next door - most enjoyable.

Room Tip: With a view of the plaza/cathedral (if you can't find another hotel with an equal view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    7
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
12
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is obviously a budget hotel, but we didn't expect to get a room with no windows! Actually, there was a small strip of glass about 6 inches wide at the very top of the ceiling, but that was it. The room smelled musty, probably because no air ever gets in to it. It's located well, opposite the cathedral and gardens, but that is its only advantage. The breakfast was also poor, coffee from a vending machine and bread wrapped in plastic to toast yourself, along with a few pieces of fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a balcony overlooking the cathedral and gardens. Otherwise, expect no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This hotel really only shows the best in the photos, Something that you will not get.

Our room was small, without an opening window, which seemed to give to some sort of interior patio. Room was smelly of humid and something else, and dark. Shower was ok, but the washing sink was inside the room, in a tiny space making washing difficult job to get over with.

Corridors were long and plain, and very noisy. All noices were magnified and could disturb one´s sleep easily.

breakfast was very plain and in dark corner in the corridor not facilitating many persons at one time.

Whay was the worst was that veen that Mexicans generally speaking are lovely people and accomodating, this hotel seems to have employed the worst of the kind. Reception staff seemed rather unwilling to hep us to get the room and gave impression that she would have been happier seeing us to walk away rather than stay. She even took a phone call in between one of our questions when checking in.

This hotel duly is a "budget" hotel quality, hoever the price does not reflect this and becomes an expensive stay with sour taste. If you know RyanAir from Ireland, this is something similar in Quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Formerly the Hotel Vallodolid, thiis is now a CityExpress hotel, sort of a Mexican Motel 6 with an attitude. The rooms seem to be clean although very small and sparsely furnished. The former hotel lobby has been rented to a fast food operator; the reception area is now a long, skinny room, containing a small registration desk, that was probably intended to be a baggage room. For some reason the management thinks that this facility is worth about 25% more than the very nice Best Western Hotel Casino located next door.

Words cannot express how happy we were that they had also lost our reservation. The staff at the reception desk didn't seem very disappointed either.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Actually, there no longer is a Hotel Vallodolid in Morelia. It is now a CityExpress hotel, sort of a Mexican Motel 6 with an attitude. The rooms seem to be clean although very small and sparsely furnished. The former hotel lobby has been rented to a fast food operator; the reception area is now a long, skinny room, containing a small registration desk, that was probably intended to be a baggage room. For some reason the management thinks that this facility is worth about 25% more than the very nice Best Western Hotel Casino located next door.

Words cannot express how happy we were that they had also lost our reservation. The staff at the reception desk didn't seem very disappointed either.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Despite of what I read here, I decided to stay at the City Express Morelia (Hotel Valladolid). It is now part of a small mexican chain, of budget priced bussiness hotels, so I had no great expectations. Check-in was fast and the guy at the register was very friendly and corteous. They had my reservation, so I lost no time. They told me the hotel has no parking (as it is very common in Morelia) but they have an arrangement with a nearby parking, for just 50 pesos a night (10 pesos less than the regular rate), which I think is a good bargain. As I read here, I asked for a room with a balcony. It was located on the 3rd floor. There are just a few rooms per floor and there is a very nice living room just after the elevator. Room is, as I imagined, small and "minimalist" (or should I say, monacal?), but well appointed: clean, nice, WITH A CEILING FAN AND ALSO A MINISPLIT UNIT. View was spectacular!!!! And, as for the bathroom, besides being a little bit too small, it had everything one can need, except a hair dryer (which I don't use, by the way). Hot water was HOT and they have new showers with a very good pressure. They also have free internet and some tables and chairs at the "portales" which is also very nice.
Mine was a good experience, though, and I'm lookin forward to stay here. I knoe there are better hotel rooms in Morelia, but not with this view ans at this price. By the way, the only noise I heard came from the adjacent plaza, with music 24/7, which is a nice noise, too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed 3 nights for our first trip to Morelia. The receptionist was literally making fun of us, as she though I did not speak spanish. This hotel has been recently purchased by city express hotels, and did not have any previous reservations! we had to wait for hours to have our room. Once installed, the room was extremelly small, a sort of full bed that would not really feet a 6'1" person, not 2 people on the shower. Very, very small. Even the elevator is very claustrofobic. We requested one extra pillow AND THEY DID NOT HAVE IT. You have to go in person to the front desk in the middle of the night because the woman won't answer the phone. really awfull. The hotel is very well located but you have other options, don't waist your precious time this people are a joke over there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — almost everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Express Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Morelia

Address: Portal Hidalgo 245 | Col. Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Express Morelia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Express Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Express Morelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.