We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Madero Oriente 94, Morelia 58000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location in downtown Morelia, at walking distance from almost everything.

The hotel is nicely decorated although in some aspects not so functional, more for couples than for business. It was also quite hot when we slept there, and the location of the air conditioning machine was not the best (almost pointing at the bed), so it took us a while to set it up properly so we could sleep fine.

Otherwise the bed was super big and very comfortable, and we didn't have any problems with street noise during the night. There was some loud music coming from some nearby place during the day, though, but it didn't affect our sleep at all.

The staff was also polite and everything went fine with them.

Summarizing: great location, nicely decorated (it looks quite luxurious), decent price and -minor nuisances aside- good overall experience. There are probably better places in town but I also wouldn't mind repeating this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed one night in October '12. The rooms are decent enough with high ceilings and big plush beds (the kind that come with a silly amount of cushions and pillows). There is air-conditioning, wifi and cable although the channel availability isn't great, and the cafe in the courtyard/lobby seemed fine although breakfast is not included and Vips (American style diner) is right next door.
Unfortunately the valet parking is not great, as such unloading bags was stressful and someone left the radio in my car on meaning the battery drained in the night and then wouldn't start in the morning- I got charged for someone to give it a cable start and we were delayed about an hour- not great.
The staff were also fairly attentive but not exactly bending over backwards to help.
In all it was just ok, reasonably priced and right next to the Cathedral, but nothing special.

Room Tip: I wouldn't say in a room facing the main road due to traffic noise, the others are ok though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We moved from the Turotel, which I would rate as excellent, only because we wanted to be close enough to walk to all of the historic places. We looked at the rooms in a number of hotels near the cathedral, and they were drab and over-priced, but as soon as we saw the rooms in Mansion Real, we took them - they had the wow factor - modern bathrooms, flat-screen t.v.s, a spiral staircase to a loft bed, also with a flat screen t.v, and 20-foot tall french doors. The walk-in price was higher than the advertised internet price, as we chose a suite at the rear of the hotel so that we wouldn't have the noise of the traffic on the main street. We paid approx $80 for each room, which did not include breakfast - the only let-down. This hotel won't work so well for older people, as it has a lot of stairs - a huge, grand staircase to the rooms, and then, if you get a suite, there is the spiral staircase to get to the bed, with the bathroom being downstairs off the sitting area. We loved the location, just a couple of minutes to the cathedral, and it was quiet because we were not facing the main street. On Sunday evening, we were thrilled to watch a free Mexican folk dance performance in the park beside the cathedral - a colorful and exciting highlight of our trip. The hotel has a restaurant, and I enjoyed a huge cappucino for 25 pesos. They also have other meal specials, but we chose to eat at one of several vegetarian restaurants we found close by. One word of caution: when we checked out, a hotel employee took our suitcases to a cab, and put them in the trunk before we even had a chance to establish the price of the trip to the bus station for our trip to San Miguel de Allende. We were charged 100 pesos to the bus terminal, which was a significant overcharge. So hold on to your bags, and call your own cab so you can establish a price BEFORE your bags are inside the cab.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars extra and get a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you want to get the best of your time in Morelia, try to stay in the historic downtown. There are many options and we wanted to try this nice hotel just a couple of blocks from the Cathedral. We were very surprised to find a very comfortable hotel, with great rooms with cozy furniture and a superior service. Free parking is a great plus. You can awl from there to all sorts of interesting places to visit. I recommend this hotel very, very much. Our rooms faced the main street and noise from outside might be a concern for some people. Despite of that, we enjoyed our rest and left with this great feeling of wanting to come back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room available as there are some rooms that are very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The location of Mansion Real is ideal that it is smack in the middle of down town Morelia and about a block away from the Catedral Morelia. The problem is that because it is sited on the main road running through the city, the traffic noise is incessant and really gets to you. And it is not just during rush hour but carries on throughout the night. The two nights we spent there were the two worst sleeps we had during our stay in Mexico. And this was despite our getting a room which didn't face the main road but onto the side road.

Other than that the hotel is a relatively friendly and comfortable hotel and which represents reasonable value for money. There is cable TV in the room although the TV image has been somewhat degraded. Free WIFI in the rooms and lobby was very much appreciated. Breakfast is simple continental- fried eggs, toast, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Security in the rooms seems reasonably tight with electronic key card.

Reasoable value for money hotel, but don't stay here if you want a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for room round the back and as far away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We loved the place and the breakfast, we stay just two days but we for sure suggest staying there, cozy, clean, and very close to the Morelia Cathedral! we booked one night using despegar.com is cheaper than booking there but we love the hotel that's why we decided stay one more night. Small room but is enough to sleep there when you use the room just to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I really reccomend this hotel, what once was house of the Archbishop. The lobby is fantastic, the breakfast (and specially the coffee) is outstanding. We had a problem with the internet but it was solved the next morning. The staff is great, warm and helpful. Rooms are spacious, beautiful and with a lot of light.

I would really recomend it, because it is more like a boutique hotel, with less rooms than Virrey de Mendoza and is in the same block as the Juaninos Hotel.

Furniture is colonial and beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites

Address: Avenida Madero Oriente 94, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star colonial was originally the Episcopal Palace of the Bishop-Virrey Don Juan de Ortega y Montanez, then donated to the Order of Friars Juaninos, the building was converted into a hotel in the late 1800s. Guest rooms are designed in a colonial and modern style and are equipped with plasma screens; A/C; electronic safe and most have a balcony. Features: restaurant; service cafeteria; bar; meeting room; free parking near hotel and Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.