We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, lots of character,fun place to stay right in centro.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo
Save
You added Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo to your Saves list
Zaragoza 23 | Colonia Centro Sahuayo, Michoacan, Morelia, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Jocotepec, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique, lots of character,fun place to stay right in centro.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Loved the unique decorations, wonderful staff and owner. Secure parking, walkable to
all of the center of the city. Clean and cozy. Internet cafe on site. Airconditioner in each room, great shower, lots of hot water. Well priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmargaritas, Propietario at Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you
Gracias come back in Sep.
We don't make ponche in Sep. but the hole town go's back to 1910
Most peple dress like the dress in La revolucion Mexicana
Thank again Gilberto Sanchez Arceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jocotepec, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

In late July 2011, three of my friends and I travelled to Sahuayo for the annual patronales festival and dancing Tlahualiles parade. We selected the Hotel Margaritas based on location. It's a short block and a half from the main plaza in Sahuayo, a half a block from the central market, and a block from our favored parade viewing area.

Aside from the location, we were all very favorably impressed by the staff. From the owner to the desk clerk to the housekeepers, they could not have been kinder. The rooms have all been updated with amenities, while retaining the charm of "old" Mexico with their carved wooden doors and armoire, and brightly tiled shower stalls.

And the check in/reception area is like a museum! Every niche is filled with something special.

I will certainly return to the hotel Margaritas for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmargaritas, Propietario at Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Gracias Amiga
I will see you in Sep.
Thank you Again Gilberto Sanchez Arceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

This hotel has the most amazing decor....painted murals in the rooms, mosaic tiled bathrooms...our room even had a small bar area with a microwave. I do have to comment on the showers. These can be iffy in Mexico and often the hot water can take up to 5 mins to reach the showerhead. The shower at the Margaritas was amazing fast, hot and with a huge modern showerhead...also not typical in Mexican hotels.
The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the hotel decor generally is very unique and Mexican. The only negative, which is a minor one, was that the hotel staff was not very informed in terms of recommending places to eat and which buses to take to get to Lake Chapala.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmargaritas, Propietario at Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your review
I will pay attention to your comentes and will learn from them
I want you to feel like Hotel Margaritas is your home away from home
Now we have Air in all the Rooms.
Muchas Gracias Gilberto Sanchez Arceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

The rooms are enchantingly decorated and very well equipped. BYO coffee pot and comfy pillows. The rooms have bars, good size refrigerator, microwave, iron, large flat screen TV, phone. Our room was a mere $400 p. nightly. Internet access via 2 computers in lobby. I could live happily in this hotel for months. If I were still 8 years old, I would want to move in and pretend this was my very own castle. There's a pastry shop a couple of doors down, and coffee bars on the plaza a block away. This hotel is amazingly quiet despite its in-town location. We liked restaurants on hwy between Sayhuayo and Jilquilpan; latter has museums and biblioteca with bronze heads of Latin American authors and historic frescos.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmargaritas, Propietario at Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Gracias
You all ways will be welcome to came back to Hotel Margaritas Sahuayo
We have Air in all the room a new to give you more for you money
Come back in July 24 to Agost 4 Las Fiestas Patronales or check in you tube Los Thahualiles
Also in Sep b14 to 16 Fiestas Patrias
Thank you again and hope to meet you in person
Gilberto Sanchez Arceo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo

Address: Zaragoza 23 | Colonia Centro Sahuayo, Michoacan, Morelia, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Number of rooms: 228

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margaritas de Sahuayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.