We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Pandanus Palms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pandanus Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pandanus Palms Resort to your Saves list
Pandanus Palms Resort
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   21 Cumming Parade, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Pandanus Palms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for a week in Unit 26 from Jan 5th-12th. Upon arrival the staff are friendly and welcoming. The view from our room was absolutely stunning and I couldn't have asked for a better position. We had a large back area with a perfect view to Cylinder Beach. Wooden outdoor setting was nice with a large umbrella for shade.The BBQ was quite filthy though and we had to give it a good clean before use and still couldn't get it as clean as we wanted, it was literally caked with black gunk. The unit itself was very well equipped although cleanliness was not a strong point. Dead cockroach was found amongst the utensils in the second draw and a very very bad ant problem through out the unit including upstairs in the bedrooms, we were squashing large black ants crawling along the carpet. I did mention this to staff but was told it was a problem across the entire island. Perhaps some fumigation might help because I couldn't leave a morsel of food out on the kitchen bench because minutes later we were swarming with black ants. This was also a problem on the outdoor table, I left clothes there to dry at one point and my son's board shorts were covered within minutes. There was a problem with our washing machine it flooded the kitchen and when I picked the mop up to clean up it too had an ant infestation living inside of it, it was so bad I had to run outside with it and leave it there and ask staff to lend me a new one. Moving on from the ants...

Our unit wasn't very clean, our toilet smelled of urine and I had to wipe urine off from the back of the toilet seat rim before we could use it. We had stains on our bed sheets in the master bedroom, looked like spilled red wine, I don't want to know what else it could have been so let's go with that! Unless you request fresh towels and/or linen none are given. I understand this is probably the style of resort this is but would have been nice. No air conditioning in the units, pedestal fans are provided though, although in the kid's room there was a pedestal fan mounted to the wall but it was old and rusty and very noisy to operate so they had to go without, so nights were stuffy. You can leave the windows and doors open of course but being so close to the ocean it got very windy and noisy if you did that.

We did not try the restaurant on site "Whale's Way" I think they should look at ways to attract their guests a little more, they seemed very quiet and unappealing. We did visit the Stradbroke Hotel for dinner twice which was absolutely fantastic. There is a local Foodworks which is reasonably priced if you run out of food/drink/kitchen supplies located at Point Lookout, we visited it regularly. A must is Oceanic Gelati also at Point Lookout, we went there about 4 times, it was simply amazing, best gelati I've tasted ever.

Our good points about Pandanus, views are excellent if you are in the beach and ocean view villas which we were. The pool was close by, a little small but a nice area with plenty of tables and pool chairs to relax on. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had a well equipped unit, large flat screen tv in the lounge room, lovely large outdoor area, we were definitely comfortable there we just wish it was a little cleaner in some areas, over all a fun and relaxing stay thank you Pandanus Palms, we would like to return, can you recommend a more refurbished unit we could stay in next time?

Room Tip: Definitely worth it to pay the extra and stay in a "Beach and Ocean views Villa"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of Villa #26. I am very sorry to hear that there were issues with the cleanliness in your unit during your stay and also the problems with the ants. We do have problems with ants from time to time as they come in from the bushland below and become very hard to extinguish altogether. We have have taken your advice and fumigated the villa and have also stepped up the checking of cleanliness between bookings. Unfortunately this is human error and should have been noted and fixed prior to your arrival.

We would be more than happy to offer you a more modern refurbished villa, so that you can relax and enjoy the great views, for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family just spent three wonderful days at Pandanus. We booked a three bedroom villa for three families and it worked wonderfully.
The bedrooms are small but adequate ( we have an infant and a toddler and my sister has a 7 year old) and the living room/kitchen area is more than enough for the intended number of people.
The amenities are ok, there is a small pool, a tennis court, a good restaurant ( separate from the hotel) as well as a reception that is manned during office hours - the big selling point for Pandanus is the location! High up on a cliff, we had sea view from our balcony as well as 15 min walking / 5 min car ride to several very good beaches. In all, the 3 bedroom villa offered exactly what we were looking for - good value base to explore the wonderful island of North Stradbrook.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Pandanus Palms Resort. I am very pleased to hear you had a great time exploring North Stradbroke Island and enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to accommodation you again in the future should you wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Pandanus Palms Resort early December 2012, and by in large enjoyed our stay. Accomodation on Stradbroke does not seemed to have changed in the last 20 years and most of the accomodation on the island is looking a bit tied and dated and Pandanus Palms is no exception to this. If I was to compare the standard of the resort to world standards, I would be putting it at 2-3 star range at 4 star pricing. Its a bit of a shame that the island doesn't have a really nice resort like the ones that can be found on the whitsundays, as i think that it would do really well here. OK putting all the negatives aside, The villas were nice and tidy and well apointed for a lengthy stay. The staff were lovely and helpful, there is a small pool and tennis court, we didn't try the restaurant but heard that the food there was nice. The rooms weren't serviced at all during the 3 night stay which didn't really suprice me as the complex is more or less a blockof holiday units than a resort or hotel. I have read on the reviews here that the views were to die for. But some people might be a bit disappointed, the views are a little bit restricted and you need to view them over the tops of roofs and countless tv antennas.

Likes
- Townhouses (Villa's) were well appointed, Balconies have B.B.Q's and large sun umbrella
- Kitchen was well equipped
- Large flat screen t.v with usb input
- DVD player, DVD's can be hired from the small reception/shop
- well equipped laundry with dryer

Dislikes
- No air-conditioning, just really really old noisy ceiling fans
- Distance from the beach
- Many cupboard doors had broken hingers and were falling off.
- Old tied bathrooms
- Sand inside our bed on the first night (Left from previous people)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for making the effort and taking the time to review Pandanus Palms Resort. We value your comments and endeavour to make improvements where we can. The views at the resort differ, depending where on the hill you are staying. The front row which we call 'Beach & Ocean View villas' (lowest on the hill) have 180 degrees, uninterrupted views of Home Beach below and out towards Moreton Island and after reading your description of the view it appears that you were staying in one of the two rows behind the front row where the views are limited. These villas are called 'Ocean View villa'. This is just for reference should you wish to return to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My mother and I stayed for 3 days in October this year-our 1st visit to Stradbroke Island.Everything exceeded our expectations-from the lovely, clean and well stocked villa, the unbelievable views and the friendly and helpful management.We were absolutely delighted and will stay there again if we return to Straddie.I have told all my friends that this resort is THE place to stay.
The balcony upstairs was a delightful place to have breakfast and take in the ocean views.
Only suggestion would be the intallation of a soap dish in the shower but otherwse terrific!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very happpy to hear you and your mother had a great time and are making recommendations to all your friends. Your feedback is welcomed and the issue with the soap dish has now been rectified. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't stay at this resort but we went to the restaurant for dinner. The food was very good but the Cheesecake was sensational - it was freshly made from a lady down the road and was one of the best i have ever tasted.... Well worth popping in if you are in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Whales Way Restaurant which is nestled within our resort. I passed your review onto the owner/operator of the restaurant, Brenda, who was most appreciative of your kind words.

If you do return for a meal you may wish to stay with us at Pandanus Palms Resort, where you can easily return home after an evening meal or a drink at the cockail bar. We would love to have you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Pandanus Palms. The rooms are fantastic and the views - amazing. Whales passing every day. The hosts, Annette and John are lovely and ensure your stay is a memorable one. We had dinner in the resort restaurant and it was excellent. Our room was 2 bedrooms and had everything we needed. It was a shame we could only get away for 3 nights - I could stay there forever. I would highly recommend this resort and holiday destination.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your short stay recently and also for your kind words. It is much appreciated to recejve your feedback and we would love to see you stay with us again in the future and hopefully offer you the same experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at Pandanus Palms recently for 2 nights; namely to attend a Birthday part on the island. Our apartment had everything we needed with 2 bedrooms downstairs on entry level and upstairs a spacious kitchen, dining and living room. Plus we ha balcony (though no huge) with a BBQ and the views to the ocean were superb.
Found it a nice and relatively easy walk to Cylinder Beach (10-15mins) and to the central Point Lookout area including the gorge walk (about 30mins). There are bus stops just down the road to catch the local bus to/from Dunwich and Point Lookout.
The gelato place in Point Look - Oceanic Gelato - excellent!!!
The Little Ship Club in Dunwich - excellent food and drinks. Invited to a birthday bash there the view particularly at sunset is amazing. And before we jumped on the water taxi back to the mainland we stopped by for a cool beverage and a bite to eat - the BEST curry prawn pie ever.

Room Tip: We were in a 2 bedroom villa - no. 9; other facilities including a tennis court and swimming pool th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay on North Stradbroke Island for the birthday party and did not find getting around too difficult.
I also have enjoyed the seafood pies and the lovely sunsets at the Little Ships Club in Dunwich and get there as often as I can.
I hope to be able to welcome you again one day should you wish to return to Point Lookout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pandanus Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Palms Resort

Address: 21 Cumming Parade, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island > Point Lookout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Point Lookout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pandanus Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pandanus Palms Holiday Resort provides distinct private resort accommodation choices with our two bedroom and three bedroom villas. All are self catering with large living areas and private balconies with modern conveniences, own BBQ, undercover parking and unsurpassed ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pandanus Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandanus Palms Resort North Stradbroke Island/Point Lookout, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandanus Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.