We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crofter's Bistro

Crofter's Bistro
11 Marine Terrace, Rosemarkie IV10 8UL, Scotland
+44 1381 620844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Rosemarkie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A wee gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal after spending the day walking in the area. We were very impressed by the quality of the service and the food which in both cases was superb. Given how busy the place was our opinion is shared by many others.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    33
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosemarkie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Finally we have a wonderful restaurant on the Black Isle. Food delicious staff wonderful and courteous can't wait to go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirsk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great service and fantastic food!
Wonderful sea front setting.
Wish we had discovered Crofter's earlier in our weeks holiday - went there twice in last three days.
Enjoyed every mouth full in every course.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently ate at the newly opened Crofters Bistro, new owners have done a fantastic job in there, the place has a great ambience, staff are smartly turned out and polite. The food was Superb, the place was packed whilst we were there, and the food was right on the mark, devilled kidneys were full of flavour and not something you normally see on menus up here. Presentation was excellent, and all of us were very happy with our food! I highly recommend the scallops, and the braised venison off the specials board (that my wife had) was full of lots of great flavour!! The chips served in plant pots and the burgers served on nice mis-shaped wooden boards, really give the restaurant a nice rustic charm too.have already re-booked to go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great seafront location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

New ownership and staff. Seafront location with sound of lapping waves to accompany ordering a good seafood starter. Ordered across new menu with family. Busy. Starters (£5) all enjoyed. Good presentations.
Mains (£11) Hamburgers good, fish and chips not up to same standard as nearby. Possibly friers not up to temperature, chips still white, fish and batter variable. Menu print difficult to read. Also other front of house lapses, but opening blues? No coffee tried.
Service courteous and local. Kitchen appears efficient and trying hard. Will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crofter's Bistro also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Crofter's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crofter's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.