We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victory at Mersea

The Victory at Mersea
92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
01206 382907
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Victory at Mersea is a very popular pub/restuarant/inn right on the waterfront on Mersea Island, with great views of the Blackwater estuary. There is a large beer garden with plenty of room for alfresco dining and a separate childrens play area.
colchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

On a sunny day this place is a must. Lovely outside area with kids play ground on site.
Food generally ok fare, although considering location the fish and chips could be much better.
I'm a big real ale fan, so was disappointed to note a very limited selection of ales and no sign of local mersea beers. Other pubs locally have a much better choice!
Overall this is a great place to spend a sunny day. However the pub trades off its location and could do better beer, food and kids playground is in need of maintenance as looked quite unsafe.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Owner at The Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. With regard to the beer, unfortaunately we are a tied pub so we cannot by the local Mersea beer or have any choice in what we buy. The children's play area is still being refurbished but unfortunately as soon as we repair something it gets broken again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    26
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Busy Sunday lunch. Food slow and hot. Sadly, potatoes and vegetables were pre-packed. Chips and roasties were disappointing and spoiled the meals. Told that the chef felt it took too much time (and effort) to produce real chips and roasties. It let the restaurant down and made it an average pub grub outlet and spoiled opportunity to impress.

As there is no competition in this category, we are all captive diners.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexBoaters, Owner at The Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Victory, last Sunday. However I must disagree with your comment about "pre-packed" vegetables and roasties. Although our chips are frozen as we do not have the kitchen space or time to prepare home fried chips in the busy summer season, the rest of our vegetables including roast potatoes are all home prepared on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday but opted for food from the special board couldn't fault the food or the service we will be back soon. It was amazing. Also it is very clean

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-crouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Give it a wide berth,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Been going downhill for several years.
Gone are the army of flies that USED to plague diners, yuppie style interior with disinterested staff
who may deign to serve you. Food bland to boring.
Still living on a previous time when it was the place to go.
The arrogance shown in the TV series Come dine with me has help quicken the demise.
Forget the past, create an ambience that attracts the punters.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexBoaters, Owner at The Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Victory. However I fel I must challenge some of your comments and in particular the one regarding our team. We have received excellent feedback on our levels of customer service and in fact won best team award 2013 out of 1300 pubs. I support our team wholeheartedly and know that they give 100%. You also make a comment about "Come dine with me", we have never been on come dine with me???? You also make the comment that we need to change things and not live on our past reputation. We have been here 7 years and when we took this pub over it was filthy, encouraged underage drinking, had a very rough clientel, is that the past reputation you refer to? Lastly you state that things need to change before customers will come back, we served over 300 meals yesterday and the pub and garden were full from 11 - 7, we could not have served any more customers if we tried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice lunch out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Victory at Mersea is lovely welcoming pub/restaurant with excellent service and everything seems clean and fresh. The food which we ordered even though was lunch time light bites were amazing, can't fault it one bit. The price for food is very reasonable, especially as you get a lot of food even for light bites. The summertime would be perfect for eating and drinking outside and taking in that sea air while you enjoy yourself in the surroundings. I really recommend checking it out. You have to remember it's a pub/restaurant so don't expect anything too fancy, but what the Victory at Mersea does well is the fact it keeps meals simple and tasty, a great lunch time get together destination.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victory at Mersea also viewed

Mersea Island, Essex
Mersea Island, Essex
 

Been to The Victory at Mersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victory at Mersea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.