We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mersea Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Save
You added Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list
Church Lane | East Mersea, Mersea Island CO5 8TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Came back to coopers beach after a lovely stay last time and enjoyed it even more. Staff are helpful and friendly and look like they really enjoy their work. Ate in the restaurant most nights and food was good and good valve for money. It was a busy week as it was children's half term but was a really good week. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and I look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    39
    25
    39
See reviews for
134
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a very nice Platinum caravan . Have been to Coopers before and consider it a very good site. The club house overlooking the sea is great to sit and chill out. Only criticism is that we were there on a lovely hot, sunny weekend in May and it was warm enough to go in the sea. Some other people were already swimming when I decided to take a dip, did not get to swim though as a group of people on jet skis were going far too fast and far to close to swimmers, some of the group were children of about thirteen years old, being left to handle those machines on their own (reckless), I did not fancy being decapitated , so had to come out of the water, the other swimmers came back to the beach the same time as me, and they said how dangerous it was. This was on the beach area to the left hand side of the swimming pool. A bit of safety here would be appreciated, like an area specified where the jet skis are not able to go, for the safety of sea bathers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Because it's understaffed, those who work there look like they'd sell their soul to be anywhere else, and you need a book or a hobby to pass the time it'll take for some sullen youth to bring any food to you. The food isn't half bad, as long as you're in no hurry, and whilst there's no attempt at waiter service and just one person occasionally dropping by the bar to provide service, there are two staff readily available to stick their hands into the innards of a cheap hand puppet to provide a lacklustre performance for an audience of precisely one disinterested toddler. Don't query why this is required though, you'll be stiffly reminded that it's a family resort (although a huge number of the caravans are owned by childless families or older couples with dogs) and so the deafening nursery rhymes are essential, apparently even if there are no children desperate for entertainment. Also, don't expect sausages in full English breakfasts, they apparently haven't got a handle on stock purchasing (and yes, there's a site shop on the other side of the restaurant wall that sells sausages, perhaps they were too heavy to carry for the apathetic staff on duty, or perhaps to go and get them would have interfered with their busy session of leaning by the kitchen door chatting and drinking slush puppies). This restaurant is a potential gold mine and asset to the park, but while staff behave as though the customers owe them a favour just because they bothered to turn up for work then it will continue to be somewhere to avoid. 500 caravans, and only 17 people in the restaurant for Sunday breakfast - perhaps the park manager needs to ask why.

Room Tip: If you're buying a holiday home on Mersea island, go to Waldegraves next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

With the arrival of a new menu this year the feedback has been excellent, however I am sorry that your meal did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I am also sorry that you were not happy with the entertainment. We do attempt to cater for all ages, however I appreciate that this is not always to everyone’s taste. We do have lots of new entertainment planned for 2014.

Once again I thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve for future guests.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great week at Cooper Beach during May half-term with myself, my wife, daughters aged 4 and 7 and my parents. Stayed in Gold plus, Paddocks 7, nice size caravan with good heating. Radiators in toilets could do with a clean/repaint. Had some cutlery missing but soon rectified with a trip to reception. Was a little worried that the club house/restaurant would be too small with it being half-term but managed to get tables every night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good live entertainment over the Bank Holiday weekend and then mid-week. The girls loved the daily and evening children's entertainment with Wes, Jess and Ally. Special thanks to Ally who helped our daughter through her performance of 'Let it go'. Enjoyed the park linked bingo, madness and mayhem and especially bingo beats. Swimming pool is small but warm and having hourly sessions mean not too crowded. Play area good but unfortunately it was a bit of a wet week when we were there. Amusement area small but plenty of 2p machines. Toilets could do with a bit more monitoring (soap, wet floors etc). Definitely recommend for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of our park. I will pass on your very kind comments to the team, who all work incredibly hard to ensure that they create amazing memories during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We decided on Coopers Beach as other parks close to Clacton were full. We didn't realise you could get stuck on the island by the high tide, we were given a free tide table at reception. Our caravan in the Saltings area was a little old, but very clean and comfortable. The tv had a dvd player, which was a bonus, we didn't know until a maintenance man pointed it out. He also showed us how to work everything without making us feel stupid! (Welsh guy)
The weather was not too bad, we visited a few local attractions, the zoo is worth a visit.
The on site nisa shop is a little expensive, there is a Tesco not far away. The entertainment team seem a little inexperienced, but kept the kids entertained.
This is a quiet park, so if you want all action this is not the place to be but we enjoyed our stay. The only problems we had were a missing sheet and pillow but this was quickly sorted by a tall guy. Sorry no names didn't know but he had a Manchester type accent. He made the bed too so this was a bonus!
The pool was a little on the small side but the kids liked the spa!
Overall a good break at Coopers Beach.

Room Tip: upgrade to silver if you want a newer caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coopers Beach or other Park Resorts sites in the future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After driving for 4 hours I was relieved when we arrived and pleased that we were allowed to use the facilities until our caravan was ready at 4pm (although disappointed that others were checking in and gettin their keys early) The caravan was basic but then I guess you get what you pay for, the cooker worked fine but on arrival we had to wash the kitchen equipment as it was greasy, the fire worked and warmed the caravan nicely, the shower was nice and hot with good pressure, The mattresses were too lumpy and uncomfortable.

The club house decor is basic and not very comfortable however, the food was delicious and I would like to compliment the chef, we ate in the club house 3 out of 4 of the nights we stayed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the kids loved playing football in the area provided' although I wasnt impressed with the childrens entertainment, we have stayed at a couple of different Park holiday sites and the kids usually love Loopy Rabbit but they foud Sparky not very interesting and the entertainment wasnt very entertaining, not enough games The Sparky show starts at 5.30 and finishes by 6pm and there is nothing until 7pm when they play Bingo, it would be nice to entertain the little ones until the Bingo, with dance songs and games.

Swimming... the pool is too small and the system is ridiculous, we arrived at 2pm for the afternoon swim it took 15 minutes to get into the pool due to lack of facilities, there are about 4 or 5 changing rooms, as the pool was busy we were called out before 3pm we then had to hang around dripping wet and cold for a changing room while people were waiting on the otherside trying to get ready for a swim, the whole system needs a rethink.
We booked for the children to have a go on the water jet which they thoroughly enjoyed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. However, I was disappointed to hear that you were disappointed with the entertainment.
For health and safety reasons there is a maximum number permitted to use the swimming pool at all times, therefore if it does get busy we operate a band system so that everyone can enjoy the facilities. Unfortunately, there are a limited number of changing facilities and I apologise that you had to wait.

We do hope that this will not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We've just returned from 5 days in a caravan at Coopers Beach and it was great :)
We had 2 caravans (which we were really pleased were situated close to each other), one for my husband and I and our 3 children (ages 5,3 and 11 months), and the other for my parents in law. We were in a lovely location, looking straight out to sea (Beach Side). The caravans were clean and roomy and everything worked well. The beds were quite narrow and a bit lumpy. Our older children kept falling out of their beds, so we pushed 2 together which seemed to work better.
We unfortunately didn't manage a swim in the indoor pool (it always seemed a good time for the children before it was 'normal swim time'), but we did go to the children's entertainment and play in the playground, which were very good.
The children had great fun and we would go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for the kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Church Lane | East Mersea, Mersea Island CO5 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mersea Island
Also Known As:
Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Hotel Mersea Island
Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts Mersea Island, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.