We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy memories!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melton Wold Guest House

Melton Wold Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melton Wold Guest House to your Saves list
Melton Wold Guest House
40Km from Victoria West on R63 | Melton Wold, Victoria West 7071, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy memories!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have spent at least 4 vacations at Melton Wold over the years. Now living in Canada, we wanted to re live some happy memories on our visit to SA in July.The room was just as we remembered - no tv just the old style radio. Lovely ! Went to bed listening to the radio instead of CNN ! Went for a great walk before dinner, then spent a little while in the quaint pub. Dinner was the best ! Karoo lamb ! I had been anticipating that for many months! A special touch was the coffee that was brought to our room at 7 am. Breakfast was also good. Was sad to leave Melton Wold after a short 18 hour stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We travelled to Cape Town and needed a pleasant over night stop in a place which would accommodate dogs. The farm is on a huge property in the Great Karoo. Peaceful, lovely gardens, game route and wonderfully remote. Accommodation is fairly basic as are the public rooms. Staff were pleasant, dinner good farm- style food, and all very clean. The route onwards via the Cape-Namibia highway is a good 160 Kms longer than traveling direct but well worthwhile with amazing scenery.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that opens directly onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We travel frequently.

Our choice of accommodation largely depends on the type of trip we do – local and international travel, overlanding, road trip, safari etc. etc. We can go camping in the African bush with just a tent and the bare necessities. And if we feel like spoiling ourselves, we travel in style and only frequent first class establishments.

We are well travelled enough to accept that in the middle of nowhere you cannot always expect 5 star facilities or even running water - unless the running water is a river or stream ;-). Still, we expect nothing but the best, recognizing of course, the sometimes limited resources available.

And then... after visiting any destination, all things being equal, there is only one question we ask ourselves and that is:
Will we return / spend our hard earned cash there again?

In the case of Melton Wold, it is “yes”. In capital letters.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you enjoy peace and quiet, good home cooked meals and true Karoo hospitality, Melton Wold is ideal. It might not be everybody's cup of tea - Victoria West is quite far from the city and off the beaten track. It is a lovely place to stay over on your way between Cape Town and Johannesburg or to stay for a few days for a relaxing peaceful holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
You can sit in the lush garden with a book to read, go for long walks in the "veld", watch the farm animals and wildlife, have a swim in the large pool, play tennis - you may need the exercise after all the delicious meals!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melton Wold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melton Wold Guest House

Address: 40Km from Victoria West on R63 | Melton Wold, Victoria West 7071, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Victoria West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Photographers and nature lovers can never exhaust the resources of the veld, with 210 different bird species to see. While geologists and paleontologists will see everything from a diamond mine, kimberlitic and fossil remains, including a Bradysaurus fossil dating back to approximately two hundred and fifty million years ago. Accommodation consists of single, double and family rooms and is provided in an enlarged farm house, the main part of which dates back to 1889. Eighteen of the twenty-three rooms are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melton Wold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melton Wold Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.