We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very well managed and informative trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Crocodile Safari

Jungle Crocodile Safari
PO Box 1542, San Pedro, Costa Rica
506 2241-1853
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 attractions in San Pedro
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Watford England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A very well managed and informative trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This review refers to the Jungle Crocodile Safari on the Tarcoles River, near Jaco, in Costa Rica. (There are other operators on the same stretch of water, and other companies with a similar name elsewhere).
From the moment our coach arrived at the mooring site I felt that this was an efficient organisation. The car park was well laid out, the toilets were clean, and free coffee was available whilst waiting for the boat. The boat was a small pontoon platform type of vessel, with a shallow draft, seating about 40 people. The captain motored slowly up and down the river pointing out not just the crocodiles (of which there were many) but also over 30 species of birds. Scarlet macaws - one of the regions "special" birds - flew across the river several times The trip took a couple of hours, and on return there was time to browse the gift shop (nothing special, but the usual range of items well displayed).
All the members of our party felt it had been a very good trip

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. He actually got out of the boat and fed the Crocodile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

He actulally got out of the boat and fed the Crocodile. Saw 21 species of birds and numerous crocs swimming.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Crocs, birds, and monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a very enjoyable trip. Saw many crocodiles and a variety of birds. Monkeys were scurrying through the trees as we approached. Local fishermen proudly displayed their catches and beamed for pictures. The boatride was very well done and we felt completely safe and secure in our captain's able hands. Highlight of the trip was a jaunt in to the mangrove marsh to have an afternoon respite of wine and tidbits. The complimentary brochure includes a thre page foldout of birds to identify along the waterway. The boat does NOT have a bathroom.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynwood, il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of crocodiles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an exhilarating jungle cruise on the Tarcoles River. We saw many crocodiles both small and large. We saw many species of birds. Our brochure listed 58 and I am sure we saw more then half of those listed - egrets, herons, spoonbills, sandpipers, ibis, terns, swallows, wablers and the outstanding macaws. I will always remember the sounds of the birds as we traversed the river!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great crew who kept us entertained throughout our tour. Very enthusiastic and brave getting up close and personal with the wild crocodiles. Pointed out lots of wildlife including Howler monkeys, Tiger Herons, Great White Egrets, Great Blue Herons and lots of other beautiful birds I don't remember the names of. The Costa Rican people (Ticos) are the best!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Crocodile Safari also viewed

Tarcoles, Province of Puntarenas
San Pedro, Province of San Jose
 
San Pedro, Province of San Jose
 

Been to Jungle Crocodile Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Crocodile Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jungle Crocodile Safari to your Saves list