We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were not clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Tam Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Tam Hostel to your Saves list
Castle Tam Hostel
100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt | San Pedro, San Pedro 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
“Rooms were not clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Safe location and close to a nice street with bars etc. Though far from the busterminals and airport bus. Breakfast was a american pancake. The room (dorm) was not clean and the matress was very thin. Only 2 bathrooms, a bit too little for the capacity of the hostel. Therr are 2 welk equipped kitchens. The guy from the reception was very friendly and helpfull. He knew a lot about the city

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    3
    10
    11
See reviews for
1
15
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the place is cheap, I would never go back. The room and bathroom were dirty and clearly not cleaned (I found hairs on the toilet). The floors were dirty and the overall feeling was off. There were mice and cockroaches in the kitchen area. Stay away from this place.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is full cockroaches and mice. We had a private room right next to the kitchen so got constant visitors... when I tried to speak with the reception guys about it, he was completely indifferent and brushed it off. "The whole building is full of them, this is normal" were his words.
To top it off, they clearly don't clean the rooms between guests!
One good thing: free pancakes for breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay by the kitchen. Don't stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This place was disappointing. The only positive was that the irish guy in the staff was really friendly. But otherwise it was NOT clean, from toilets to rooms, it looked and smelled like it has not been cleaned for a while. We had 2 private rooms and in both rooms it seems like the bedlinen was already used and not clean, it was just thrown on the bed. We only stayed for one night...and even that was too much. From our experience, we would not recommend this place.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Prices are ok, 10 for a dorm but we had a private room for 26. Location is great if you want to stay out of town. Close to several bars and restaurants, easy to get a bus to town. Everything is clean, you have hot water, locker and a kitchen available.
Best, staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Not the best, lock from the frontdoor and knife at the kitchen

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Place was OK, the staff was friendly, it was nice to talk to them (there were more employees than guests at that time), we were invited to join them and make some bbq together.

You should have your confirmation with you - they told us we booked different room than we actually did (their mistake), but eventually we get what we booked.

Due to our early bus, we didn't have breakfast.

The location seemed a bit far from everywhere, definitely not walking distance to the city center.
There was wifi, you can watch tv in the common area, it was nice but it didn't look like in the picture on their website.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Really close to Calle de la Amargura, the best street for dancing with locals, so if you're coming or going to the airport you have a great place to hang out in San Jose. I'm staying long term though (discounts for a week or longer), so I can use the kitchens (tupperware!), and be close to the Sunday feria (farmers market), a metal bar, and live music outdoors around the University of Costa Rica. A safe and chill hostel!
Best of all, the dorm beds have wifi and individual light, plugs, and curtains. Perfect if you need to used your phone or laptop anytime and don't want to disturb anyone or pay extra.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Tam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Tam Hostel

Address: 100 metros oeste Escuela de la Roosevelt | San Pedro, San Pedro 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're in the heart of lively, upscale San Pedro, only 300 meters from the University of Costa Rica and the student nightlife of Calle de la Amargura. Our hostel is 10 minutes by bus from downtown San Jose and walking distance from San Pedro Mall, three supermarkets and many restaurants! We have two full kitchens and plenty of fridge space for your food. Hang out with fellow travelers in the courtyard, or watch students pass by on the outside terrace. San Pedro is a safe neighborhood in San Jose, so we enjoy taking our guests out for movie nights, skating, city walks and pub crawls on Calle de la Amargura. We have regular BBQs, hot water in every bathroom and free WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Tam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Tam Hostel Costa Rica/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Tam Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.