We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay... food out of this world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Hotel
Save
You added The Cottage Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand View Road | Nr Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay... food out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have meant to sit down and write a review about the Cottage many times but have only now got around to doing it. I stayed just the one night with my fiancee (7th March '14) on what turned out to be the hottest and sunniest weekends in March I can recall.

On first arrival you are greeted by the vista from the hotel's car park. This is a very unspoilt and little known part of the world and the seaside is adorned by historic fishing cottages so is picture postcard material.

There was a friendly reception waiting from the check in staff and we were promptly shown to our room. I had booked a room with a balcony and I am very glad I did. With the sunny weather it was very relaxing sitting with such a nice view listening to the waves crashing on the rocks. The room was nicely decorated and a nice feature was that the TV was on a swivel mount so my partner could watch TV through the bath doorway, this made her very happy indeed.

When we booked the room it came automatically with dinner and you had to opt out but the price difference was not that great, so I did not. This was a good move as the Cottage's USP is very definitely the dining experience. Dinner is quite a formal affair and I was a bit worried that I did not have a tie but staff assured me that it would be fine. As it transpired hardly anyone was wearing formal dining attire so it worked out well.

Pre-diner was a pleasant experience. Having a quiet drink in the bar and lounge area, the Maitre d (William) dressed in formal wear made an effort to go to every table and speak to all the diners. From some of the snippets of conversations which drifted across the room, it sounds like the majority of diners were guests who had stayed at the Cottage year on year. From later conversations with William it turned out that the Cottage has been run by his family since the 1970's and he now runs it.

Dinner consisted of a 5 course dining experience which surpassed any I have had before in terms of quality of food, service and attention to detail. Every course was absolutely delicious and would not be out of place in any top restaurant. Even the cheese platter at the end had and amazing array of fresh local cheeses which showed how seriously this hotel takes food as most places would buy them from a supermarket.

Dessert came around on a dessert trolley, the likes of which I have not seen for many years. I would estimate from the age of the trolley, it had done many hundreds of miles up and down the dining room over the years but had been lovingly maintained and polished. What was really nice to see was the waiting staff really looking like they enjoyed their jobs. All too often, a dining experience can be soured by waiters and waitresses who look like they really do not want to be there. All the waiting staff genuinely seemed to enjoy what they were doing and took pride in the service they gave which brought a real buzz to the dining room.

One thing we really liked about the Cottage is how it embraces its past. There are dozens and dozens of old photos and memorabilia decking the walls. If you have seen the Hotel Inspector, she tells Hoteliers to strip down such historical items to a minimum but at the Cottage it works really well as you get a real feel for the local history. For example, there are B&W photos of the long past local fishermen and their catches, large party's at the Cottage and well maintained original features of this old building. There is a snug bar which looks like a ship with all the photos of the Ships which came go grief on the jagard rocks in the local area which was really interesting. Whilst sitting in front of the old fireplace we noticed an old photo of the very same fireplace with a group of sailors huddled around it taken a hundred years ago, the very night they were ship wrecked and taken in by the hotel. We find this type of history absolutely fascinating.

All in all our stay at the Cottage was very relaxing and very memorable and we certainly intend to become one of the many regulars who frequent this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room on the second floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    51
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
61
120
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stumbled upon this family run hotel, nestled on the cliff above Hope a Cove. It's a real gem of an English hotel, delightful staff, fascinating photos of local history, and a wonderful tray of afternoon tea.

Check out the cabin of the ship wrecked in the 1930's and now standing beside the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage hotel last year for a two night stay with dinner. I have always wanted to go there so it was a special treat for us , and more than we would usually spend. I was a little disappointed with the bedroom as smaller than I expected but adequate enough for us. The scenery from the hotel was superb, and Hope Cove is a haven for anyone who wants to be away from the crowds. All the staff were very helpful, we had told them I had trouble with the stairs and we thin they felt the room was appropriate for us. The food was the best I had tasted in a long time, five courses in fact, and they had even catered for me being diabetic and made me special sweets. The menu was excellent and varied, nothing could be too much trouble for the staff. it gave me an excuse to dress up as quite formal and you are informed this in a write up. We didn't want to go home as enjoyed our stay so much, and are saving our pennies up for the next visit..

Room Tip: Cottage hotel is not really suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties as no lifts to the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cottage hotel for just 1 night on our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, a lot of it! The views from the balcony were amazing, we had one of the sea view rooms. I would defiantly recommend it. Yes it's a little old fashioned,but this just adds to it's charm.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location looking over the roofs of the old houses to the sea. Our room had a balcony which was a wonderful place to enjoy the view. The rooms are clean but a little tired and old-fashioned.

The restaurant also has great views and the food and service were excellent. However, the food presentation could be better. Breakfast was OK but I'm not keen on hot food being kept warm in self-service containers. Also the choice of fruit and yoghurts could be improved.

All in all good value, if a little quirky and a bit old fashioned. However the view is compelling.

Room Tip: If staying here you really need a Sea View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

There cannot be many places on the Devon coast better for a crab sandwich,a cold beer and a view of the cove below. Delicious crab, overflowing from the sandwich, dog friendly on the terrace and in the hotel.
A little old fashioned but with families returning year by year they must have got the recipe right, can 't wait to return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I know the hotel well. We used to choose to go there for the menus and the view. Although they still source the best local ingredients, the service and menus are not what they were. Dress code is not adhered to and waiters are amateur. Sadly not as good as it was and some would find aspects unacceptably poor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Address: Grand View Road | Nr Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 bedroomed family-run hotel in a spectacular coastal location.Relaxing holiday atmosphere with excellent cusine and an established reputation for hospitality and service.Comfortable en-suite rooms, many have superb sea-views and some have balconies. Sun terraces, garden descends down to Hope Cove beach.Free parking, free wi-fi interent access in hotel lounge, Open all year, including Christmas and New Year, short breaks available, (special breaks available including Murder Mystery week-end, Painting and Mosaic breaks, Guided Walking Breaks). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Kingsbridge
The Cottage Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.