We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hope and Anchor

The Hope and Anchor
Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
01548 561294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Hope Cove
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very very busy, but friendly staff, understood gluten free, and food came in the time they estimated and was good and with a nice range of choices.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    52
    35
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
exmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food service and accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just stayed over for the one night and all the staff we encountered were welcoming friendly and helpful. Would recommend this place lovely quiet location. The place was very busy but was half term food very good. Would recommend deluxe room spacious and warm nice decor. Our only criticism was noise coming from room above creaky floor boards at 0600 on a Saturday morning give us a break. Otherwise would recommend this place!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in Hope Cove for 3 nights and called in here each afternoon after returning from a walk. A nice cosy bar with friendly service and a log fire burning. I had a cider each visit, my partner had a pot of tea.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly local, food fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Visiting Hope Cove for the weekend - saw the Hope and Anchor had some mixed reviews but it was a cold November night and it was just around the corner so gave it a go. For a winter night it was warm, welcoming, busy and friendly. Seemed to be a good mix of locals and visitors and the food, whilst not exceptional was good, quick and reasonably priced. Wouldn't drive miles to visit, but more than happy to go back again tomorrow.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sarnies great, going back for a meal soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A typical olde smugglers cove me thinks!
Our visit was in the autumn, high seas, entered to see a roaring fire....meet and greet was warm as well.
Ordered sandwiches, beef and prawn/crayfish, ......ABSOLUTELY LOVELY your bread is great.
A real gem in the winter, great for all, including dogs (woof woofs), still good in summer but allow time as popular with tourists.
Chef..your sarnies are lovely, we're coming back for a meal, thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hope and Anchor also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Hope and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hope and Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.