We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beer is good, the food is average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Brewing Company

Baja Brewing Company
Morelos 1277 | E/Comonfort Y Obregon, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
30 3482 2637
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The beer is good, the food is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you're looking for a decent beer (something other than Corona), then this is the place to come. They have a decent selection to choose from, my girlfriend and I both enjoyed ours.
The menu and our meals were pretty average and overpriced. The setting has potential, quite nice, as long as you don't mind a big screen TV in the background and people shouting at it every so often while you're eating!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    106
    91
    24
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peyote Pale Ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Both me and my brother are craft beer aficionados so we just HAD to visit this place. Let me start out by saying that this place is situated in San Jose del Cabo. Apparently there are 2 more locales; one in CSL at plaza paraiso and another in a resort. Anyway we went to the one in SJC which was really really genuine. SJC is totally different than CSL. The vibe here is alot more toned down. The town itself is alot more cultural and really gives you a true experience of a mexican beach town.

The brews: I drank a Peyote pale ale and a Baja Razz. The Peyote Pale is more of an IPA than a regular pale ale. More of an East Coast style smooth IPA but hey after drinking Barrilito/Corona/Modelo/Tecate this IPA was heaven sent. The baja razz was decent nothing spectacular classic wheat beer with rasberry flavors. The Other two stouts i tasted (sipped a couple times) were the outmeal double and the scorpion black. Both of these were top notch stouts and liked more than the rasberry flavored one.

Food: OUTSTANDING. I ate the Arrachera Burger and had a bite of the pizza. Both were fresh and full of flavor. Everything was cooked well and well presented.

Service: Despite the heat the waitresses were superb and attentive. We had a company of 7 and everyone ordered. Our meals were on time and as ordered. Excellent.

Best Beer IMO : the Peyote IPA

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find! A must visit for a cold one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Send the wife out to do her shopping, the bartenders are excellent sitters to keep you fed and hydrated until she returns.

Great place for an afternoon snack, lunch, or dinner. Several great varieties of beer, plus an excellent rootbeer if you don't like barley pop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of the few places to get a decent IPA in Cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a few days of drinking weak beers like Pacifico, Corona, and Negro Modelo, it was such a refreshing change to be able to drink a beer with taste... and actually get a buzz after just 1 of them! The food was good too - delicious shrimp. If you want a good beer for a change while in Cabo, it's worth stopping by. They also have a location in the mall at the Marina in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food for a change of pace from Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were told this place had a great pub atmosphere and great music by a local American living in San Jose. We initially just stopped in for drinks after walking the town for the arts walk. After seeing the other tables being served and reading the menu we decided to stay and eat. My husband, brother and sister in law ordered pizza and it was amazing. A very thin cornmeal crust and not overly cheesy. I ordered the steak and veggie skewers and the meat melted in my mouth. The fresh veggies and cous cous were a welcome change in my diet from the week long mexican food menu. I posted a picture of my meal. Check out the skewers they are served on. The service was pretty good. There was a small mistake in our bill but not a big deal. My only complaint was the table chairs outside. They were a bit uncomfortable. Also the gift shop has some great take home souvenirs. Great place and definitely recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Brewing Company also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Baja Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.