We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Los Cabos to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Pendleton, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grand reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Grand Mayan Resort is a beautiful place to stay. Excellent staff and just a short walk to El Centeral. The only negative is that the pool isn't heated, the "hot tub" is luke warm and the drinks are expensive unless you're buying during happy hour. The time share sharks are notas bad as some reviewers say. You just have to be firm and polite from the start and you won't have any trouble.

Room Tip: We we're in a room on the second floor. I don't think there's a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    203
    62
    30
    47
See reviews for
173
278
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this location at least eight times and we are always impressed. The staff is friendly and the common areas and rooms are always immaculately clean. We have traveled throughout Mexico and the cleanliness of The Grand Mayan properties is something to be noticed. The resort sits right on the ocean so you can relax at the pool (which has lounge chairs strategically spaced so you are not sitting on top of the people next to you) or walk along the beach. The ocean is not swimmable here but you will find this to be the case in most of Los Cabos. Try the breakfast buffet at least once while there. It is pricey but delicious, and you will not need to eat for the rest of the day.

We have stayed here as a couple but also with our family (including young children). It was a great experience either way, but know that this is a quieter, more relaxed resort than other places we have stayed. There is music playing and they have daily pool activities, but if you are looking for jello shots and a "spring break" experience this might not be the place for you. The resort is located in San Jose del Cabo, which is much more relaxed and slower paced than the wildly infamous Cabo San Lucas, so make sure you select the town that suites what you are looking for in your vacation. It is a 20-30 minute cab ride to get from one town to the other, so you can always get a taste of what the other town has to offer.

The Grand Mayan is within walking distance of historic downtown San Jose del Cabo where you will find the old church, charming restaurants and shops. The Art District is especially charming and is a good place to go on Thursday nights. Try the organic farmer's market on Saturday morning.

Room Tip: The resort is U-shaped, so every room has an ocean view. Rooms on higher floors might have better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Reading the reviews on trip advisor we were prepared for the worst. So happy to listen to our friends and not trip advisor. This resort is amazing. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, stayed in the honeymoon suite on the 5th floor with a great view of the ocean and all the whales. Breakfast buffet was delicious and the outdoor grill had great sandwiches and burgers. Town was a 10 minute walk with great restaraunts I recommend caisanos and mi ensalada. We took the timeshare presentation and didn't purchase but our salesman was very classy and treated us with respect even though we couldn't afford to purchase. We will definitely come back and tell all our friends about the grand luxxe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There is nothing good about this place!!! It looks nice - but that is where it all ends.
You cannot swim at the beach - the pools are too cold - everything is extremely over priced.
The nice rooms are never available- I think they are only used for their time share rip off presentation.
The staff are rude - the time share sales staff are complete charlatons.

There are dozens of other properties in this area that truly want your business and will treat you well.
These people only want your money!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear ShannonW952 :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. This will be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests.

Warm regards,
The Grand Mayan Cabos Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really enjoyed the relaxed pace of this hotel after a week at an all inclusive. Very clean, nice staff, especially the "bell boys" at entrance. The pool is cold and very large, so too expensive (they say) to heat but gets more tolerable with the heat of the day. The pillows and beds are quite hard, good for people who prefer that. Would go again, but only for a week. Food was good at the restaurants and enjoyed the 2 for 1's at the bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are owners and this is our third year staying at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo. Before arriving, we had stayed two weeks at the Hacienda del Mar and then moved here to complete our third week. We like this resort because it is close to everything in San Jose and within walking distance to the Mega, wonderful restaurants, and shopping in the downtown area. The service and the employees are superb. Cannot comment too much on the restaurants. The only meal here was the "update" breakfast which is always top notch. Our favorite restaurant is Cynthia's which is a 15 minute walk from the resort. (it is not too far from the plaza behind the Mega). If you try it, you will not be disappointed. We had three dinners there during the week. Another good place to eat and drink is the Baha Brewery. An original micro brewery for the area. They make 11 different brews. They are all good but some are better than others. Great open fired pizzas. Happy Hour is from 4-6 and beer is half-priced. We always do the art walk on Thursday and usually end up at El Dolce for an excellent Italian dinner. If you have never seen professional glass blowing, the Glass Factory provides free very interesting demonstrations on Thursday nights. On the street in front of the GM there was a free Jazz Festival this year on Friday and Saturday and it appears they are planning to do this every year. The pools here are not heated and during this time of year they are very cold. This needs to be addressed. Since we are owners, we are always asked to attend an "update" which inevitably becomes a sales pitch to buy something new. (The only person who is offered an update is owner of the Vidanta Group.) We have found the main advantages of being an owner are being permitted to book in 10-12 months in advance, being assigned rooms with better views and complimentary transportation from the airport to the resort. When exchanging or purchasing a week at another resort, we realize that the owners will receive the preferred rooms. We certainly enjoyed our stay here again this year and looking forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but the the ones on the highest floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

this was our 2nd time at the Grand Mayan, rooms are well maintained, daily maid service, large sundecks and awesome pool service. The swimming pool is not heated.The staff are well trained and helpful, Easy walk into town

Room Tip: we like the east side towards the empty lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.