We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My fiance and I traveled to Del Cabo for a wedding up the beach at another hotel. We did not know what to expect for the price. Champagne, towel upon arrival and greeted by very friendly staff. Room with King bed and ocean view was nice. Large studio floor plan, kitchenette and full size fridge. Shower curtain in bathroom was missing until room service the noticed it the next day.
The sea of cortez was beautiful and powerful. 15' waves pounded the beach right outside our balcony. We fell asleep to this amazing symphony all 3 nights. The restaurant was ok. One breakfast dish good the other not good. Fish tacos the day I had them not good. Staff is friendly and professional, service was very good to excellent. Overall we had a wonderful stay at the Bel Air. It was an exceptional value and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for new building/ocean view. San Jose is a very cute city with great art studio's and local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We appreciate your kind words!

We will welcome you the next time with better service and in the hopes you spend another great vacation here in Los Cabos!

Remember this is your casa!

Warm Regards.

P.S.

We also do a great job at weddings ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    123
    75
    39
    29
See reviews for
115
178
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This might seem like a paid advertisement by the Bel Air but I can assure you it is not.
We had an entire family stay at the resort for a week and were treated like a family of royalty. On arrival every adult was given a glass of Champaign and shown to their rooms. We were given the entire 4th floor of one of their buildings with a beautiful view of the water. Each room had easy access to each other so everyone could visit any one without any problem. The main room in every apartment was large enough for all to gather in any given time which was often.
The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make sure that everyone in our party was having a good time. Things were done for us before asked. And when we did ask whatever it was, was done better then what we expected.
We had a number of dinners at the resort with the entire family, the food and service were excellent. One of the dinners was a special one on the beach to celebrate various events of the family, we did not expect the type of arrangements that were put out for this dinner. Again the food was excellent and the tortilla soup was the best I have ever eaten.
I mentioned above about the staff in particular be careful of Stephanie and Rene since they might know what you want before you do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Familia!!

We can't thank you enough for choosing us to celebrate such an important occasion like your family reunion. You can be sure that it was an honor and delight to see you smiling and enjoying each other. As we said, sometimes its difficult to take the time and get away with the family, so we can't take the full credit, you also let us pamper you the way we are trained to do!!

So thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you our commitment to make your stay memorable and pleasant!! Be sure that Bel Air Los Cabos will always welcome you with the same open arms. Even if your purpose is to get away from all, we'll make sure to show you a good time!!

Thank you Familia! Hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Curbside, we were met with a friendly valet who took our luggage and gave us a moist towel and complimentary champagne. Condo was very nice, well kept up. Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach have a great view, unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We Thank You for your time to write about your experience!

Do not hesitate to try our other locations in Cancun, Vallarta, Riviera Maya and or course Los Cabos!!

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I recently went to this hotel with my husband, 10 month old baby, mother and 2 brothers. We were told we were getting a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo that would sleep 6. When we arrived they greeted us with champagne and told us they had upgraded us to their new building. We were excited. The "condo" they took us to was not by any means a 2 bedroom condo. It was one room with a king bed, love seat, and kitchenette (this would count as a studio not a separate bedroom). There was a connected room with another king size bed. Therefore, there was no common area to eat or watch TV while others slept. We complained and they took us to a true 2 bedroom condo in the old building. The old building was dilapidated, dark and terrible. It was worse than a Motel 6. First one of the toilets didn't work, the telephone didn't work so if you want to call the front desk to order room service or in our case complain because it was so noisy with construction all day and partiers all night you would have to walk down to the front desk. We often times had no hot water, and one day in fact we did not have any running water at all for several hours. There was very little wifi coverage. The WIFI is pretty much nonexistent at the hotel in general. You could get on for a couple minutes at a time and it was very slow.
I would say the only pro was the pool. It was beautiful and had a great view. HOWEVER, it was dirty. There were visible white particles floating everywhere and I even saw some brown things floating. Additionally, there were cigarette butts in the shrubbery around the pool. The beach that the hotel is located on is very rough and not swimmable. At first I enjoyed just sitting by the pool. That was until the loud construction started the second day and lasted throughout our trip. You could not relax by the pool due to all the loud noise. We went back to our room and guess what??? There was loud construction and banging on our building as well. It was impossible to relax there let alone try to get a baby to take a nap.
The food...not good. There are 3 restaurants at the hotel. The food selection is random...a sushi restaurant, an italian restaurant and a "fusion" restaurant. There was no traditional mexican food at all. The restaurants and the hotel for that matter were practically empty and there is a reason for that.
After lots of complaining they said they would "upgrade" us back to the new building with 3 bedrooms (although in the U.S. it would be considered a studio and 2 bedrooms). BUT we would have to pay for it. We said no because that is what we should have had in the first place. Finally on the 4th night of our trip after constant complaining they upgraded us for free. The new building is MUCH nicer than the old building. However, by that point our vacation had already been ruined. Although the accommodations are much nicer in the new building you still have to contend with the dirty pool and lousy food. I would never stay here again even if they offered it to me for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

What a hidden gem !! from the lobby reception of champagne and hot wet towellettes to the private beach on the other end of the property.

We absolutely loved our stay here. Superb customer services, the attentive housekeepers and the little touches here and there, just made it hard to leave.

Ive been to Cabo 7 times, and this has been the best place because of the quiet, non-crowded and adult-focused attention.

Room Tip: Ask for the building closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
GRACIAS!!

This is why we call ourselves the hidden jewel in the desert! We can't thank you enough for letting us pamper you the way you deserve!

Hopefully next time you visit Los Cabos, you will choose Bel air Resort and Spa!

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have stayed at Bel Air Los Cabos 5 times in the last few years. While the property is "away from it all"in a sense, I enjoy the quiet, relaxed atmosphere. The beach goes on forever and the pool is great to relax. Last trip was during Hurricane Paul and they handled it very well. For those who want a blend between planning their own activities and going into Cabo proper on their own terms, it is a great place to stay. We have always had a great experience when we stay with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
WOW!! how can we ever thank you for being so loyal??

We definitely appreciate you choose our resort over the competition! Thank you and be sure we can't wait to have you back!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TURLOCK, CA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the Bel Air Collection in San Jose del Cabo May 2014. We had a 2 bedroom suite and when we arrived we were shown our room in the old building. It was dark and reminded me of a old 1970's Motel 6 with cheap furnishings. We were told we could upgrade to the newer building if we listened to a 90 minute sales presentation which turned out to be over 2 hours of high pressure tactics. Our upgraded room had a ocean view which included tacky red and white ribbon pillows and matching sheer curtains along with the same cheap furnishings. The newer building reminded me of a South San Francisco bordello except for the girls hanging around. If you like quiet and deserted, this just may be the place to stay but just excuse the rooms and grounds of this 70's disaster!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the "new building"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the place is the right one, the energy flows spontaneously. Bel AirCollection ® Resort & Spa Los Cabos offers you an exclusive and sophisticated holiday in a unique environment where the desert meets the Sea of Cortes giving you the opportunity for contemplation and meditation with 175 yards of spectacularly beautiful beach.Located only 15 minutes from the airport, in the master planned resort community La Jolla in San José del Cabo. Bel Air Los Cabos is the perfect place for a world-class holiday either for couples or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Playa Del Sol Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.