We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip, cant wait to get back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip, cant wait to get back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We traveled to San Jose and stayed in the Bel Air Collection hotel Dec 1st -9th 2012. We had a wonderful stay, the staff was incredible, they were so kind and friendly. The pool and the grounds were beautiful and the beach was outstanding. Our room with a ocean view was in the newer section of the hotel and was extremely clean, bright but not real large. We had our own deck, kitchenette, large bathroom and jetted soaker tub. All we needed. The complex was amazingly clean and well cared for by the staff. obviously the renovations were complete.

The resort has a complimentary continental breakfast for the early risers and has a sun set gathering where they serve free champagne everyday. They have 2 beautiful restaurants with fantastic views of the water, pool and beach. The beach walks were amazing and the resort is walking distance to shops and the Mega Store.

The gym is brand new, it has 2 tread mills, a elliptical and a Bike.

We loved our stay and would recommend this small but very friendly resort. Carlos at the front desk and Alex at the front door made the vacation special as we were treated like friends and family on every arrival and trip away from the hotel. They were quick to recommend many very good dinner places in San Jose and even set me up to play soccer with their friends. We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section, all rooms have view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    97
    56
    29
    19
See reviews for
87
145
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The Bel Air Los Cabos gets most things right. Most of the staff were excellent. Our room(s) in the new building were clean, well appointed and had excellent views. The food for the most part was good and reasonably priced. The more expensive, evening restaurant upstairs was overpriced for what it served. My cut of filet was not very good. We enjoyed our time and Rene (front desk manager), Alfredo and Ramon (bartenders), and Aaron (bellman) all were extremely friendly and helpful. A good place for quiet poolside/beach relaxation. WiFi (not free) and television reception were horrible but not really why we were there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous two-week stay at the Bel Air Resort and Spa Los Cabos. We chose this resort to celebrate our 10th anniversary and were utterly charmed by the resort and staff.

When we arrived we were amazed by the beauty of the resort, situated on a stunning beach that stretched for miles into the crystal blue horizon.The beach was perfectly suited for long strolls beside the surf which we enjoyed each day. The pool overlooked the beach, and was surrounded by palm trees gently swaying in the desert breeze. The grounds also included a second pool and a fire pit, that we were able to cozy up to at night while listening to the waves crashing on the beach.

Our room was on the third floor of the new building overlooking the beach. Though we could hear highway traffic from our room, it did not diminish our enjoyment. The room was beautifully appointed with jacuzzi tub, granite counters, wooden shutters for lazy sleep-ins, and full kitchenette.

We selected the "breakfast Included' option which was worth every cent, and allowed us to sleep in and order a hearty a la carte brunch by noon. This allowed us to explore local restaurants for dinner: Molly's and Cynthia's became fast favorites with delectable vegetarian options at reasonable prices.

We thoroughly enjoyed our excursions to our beloved village of San Jose, and the local swimming beaches but we also spent many days just lazing at the resort, trying to decide whether to suntan on the beach or by the pool - both excellent options! Though some guests found the pool chilly, we found it refreshing and swam in it each day.

But the most special part of our trip was the way we were treated by Bel Air staff. Front desk staff Uri and Carlos took excellent care of us and made sure all of our needs were met for the duration of our stay, and Aaron and Alex helped us with friendly updates, cabs and local tidbits and items of interest. Aaron took the time to explain the Festival of Guadeloupe to us and share stories about the local customs and festivities. He greeted us with genuine caring and warmth as we returned each evening, and we were always happy to see him.

At the breakfast restaurant, Aaron greeted us each day with a big smile and superior food and service. Other exemplary breakfast staff included Esteban, Gerardo, Jesus, Luis and Tanya.
And each evening we were greeted with genuine hospitality by Cesar, who served us complimentary champagne at the sunset corner. We loved our champagne sunsets and thoroughly enjoyed Cesar`s company.

Our room was kept spotless by Hermilia, who surprised us with romantic and artistic towel arrangements each day. We were also treated to complimentary desserts delivered to our room each evening and looked forward to hearing the dessert trolley rolling up to our room. And we celebrated our anniversary with the best beach-side massage we`ve ever had!

This trip was a delight in every way! We were utterly enchanted and plan to return.

Elin and Gerry M.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Arrived on Novermber 24 to December 1 2012
Good first: Most of the staff was great. On arrival we were early 12:30 pm, tired but still happy to be somewhere warm.
Bad: Rene the front desk manager continued to ignore us even after others were showen to their rooms. Finally at 4:20 pm we were allowed in our rooms which were in the old building....not good, no hot water tank in the kitchen, old tiles which were full of mold in our shower.
Good: This was a Marriott exchange and once I told Rene this and I wanted to talk to his manager we were got to move. Moved to the new building two days later, much better and much happier.
All and all this resort was still doing renos but the working staff, Carlos, Alex, and pools staff were so nice and that in the end it was sad to say good-bye.
Beach was great, dinning room we gave a 2 out of 5
Pool was a 4
Missy the tour and welcome gal was super

Room Tip: Just asked for the new building and you will have great views and a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Bel Air had the lobby closed off and also the restaurant at the same time. They were redecorating. We had to wait a long time for our two bedroom lockoff. In the larger room, a kingsize bed was in the living room. Last year, we had a separate living room, dining room, bedroom and full size kitchen. It was much more comfortable. The sheets on the bed were scratchy. There is an ocean at Bel Air but you can not swim in it because the current is too strong. The two pools were very good. The service is excellent. Issac, the Fiesta Americana agent, provides superb service. We did not eat at the pool. We enjoyed several San Jose Del Cabo restaurants. Sardina Cantina had excellent food and service. The prices are high unless you have coupons from Bel Air. Also Sardina gives you coupons for your return patronage. Sardina is within walking distance of Bel Air.

Room Tip: Ask for a large one bedroom suite with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our second visit to San Jose Del Cabo was enjoyable, the stay at Bel Air could have been better. To begin with the front lobby was closed for renovations as well as the dining area. Having both areas closed at the same time was not a good decision. While they were able to serve food all the umbrellas used for around the pool and beach were being used to shade the tables. The sports bar was being used as the front desk which left no place to sit at night and enjoy a drink with friends. The elevator was closed for “routine maintenance” for all but one day of our stay. The main swimming pool was closed for about 5 days while they tried to rid the pool of algae. Once the main pool was cleaned the smaller pool turned green. The cooking utensils in the rooms need to be replaced they are in unsatisfactory condition. The WIFI is poor at best. On the plus side the rooms were clean, the beach was nice and the location of the property is good. For the money I would look elsewhere this is not Bel Air Resort quality

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in an Ocean front one bedroom on the 2nd floor of a recently renovated building. Anything smaller than a one bedroom would have been the size of a closet. Room was clean, but the mattress cover and sheets are "cheap", and make for an uncomfortable sleep. Pool was dirty for two of our 6 days there and not fit for swimming. Best kept secret is their resturant, where we hand an excellent dinner at a very reasonable. Avoid "Missy" the hotel activities desk. She booked a fishing trip for me, and charged me $100.00 for making the call. Plus she lied about the size of the boat, and didn't relay our request for beer to drink while fishing. We swam in the beach and found the ocean great!

Room Tip: Request new building and nothing smaller than 1 bedroom or you will be disappointed. This time of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the place is the right one, the energy flows spontaneously. Bel AirCollection ® Resort & Spa Los Cabos offers you an exclusive and sophisticated holiday in a unique environment where the desert meets the Sea of Cortes giving you the opportunity for contemplation and meditation with 175 yards of spectacularly beautiful beach.Located only 15 minutes from the airport, in the master planned resort community La Jolla in San José del Cabo. Bel Air Los Cabos is the perfect place for a world-class holiday either for couples or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Playa Del Sol Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.