We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful, felt like we had the place to ourselves!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Athabasca, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful, felt like we had the place to ourselves!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

It was the 'Playa Del Sol' resort when we stayed there last year and we rented a 2 bdrm from a timeshare owner. It was on the top floor and was very spacious. It must've been 2 rooms combined, because each had a kitchenette and a bathroom. There was also a full kitchen, dining and living room areas as well as 2 balconies. Very nice. The resort grounds were nice, and staff very friendly and helpful. The 2 restaurants were shut down. We found a great restaurant a quick walk away, Sardina Cantina where we enjoyed breakfast and dinner on 2 different occasions. It's next door to, I think it's called, 'Trader Dick's', which is a great little supermarket to pick up last minute groceries etc.. Many other restaurants close by choose from. No problem to take the bus (stop across the highway) into Cabo. 20 min. or so.
Actually just booked to stay there again this year, and we are very looking forward to it! Hear they have restaurants now! And i think another round of volleyball on the beachfront is in order! Met some great people, can't wait to do our rounds again cause we already know the way!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelairCabos, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
I would like to express our gratitude for your excellent and warm comments, as we constantly work to make our visitor’s holidays a memorable experience and comments like yours show us that we are in the right path and motivate us to keep going.

We feel really happy to realize that you had a great time during your stay. Concerning the renovations, indeed we are doing our best to enhance our facilities and we will be glad to welcome you once they are finished to experience the improvements.

Thanks again and please, do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit, so we can provide you with the best of the attentions.

Kind regards,

Arturo Villaseñor R.
General Manager
Bel Air Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    97
    56
    29
    19
See reviews for
87
145
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I returned from a week long vacation at the Bel Air Collection REsort in Los Cabos, Mexico. We selected this property because we traded our timeshare on Interval International.

I booked the property first and later did my research. After reading the many mixed reviews of the Bel Air, I became quite concerned and even contacted Interval International and asked to cancel.

I'm glad we did not go thru with canceling our reservation.

This property is located right along the Pacific Ocean in Los Cabos. For those of you who are not familiar - Cabo San Lucas is the hot spot touristy area where most travelers flock. Los Cabos is a small town about 12 miles from Cabo and for those of you looking for less hype, less people, less crowds and more of a cozy feel, then Los Cabos is for you.

Back to the property though...It has gone thru many ownership changes but during our stay in July I can honestly say this was one of the best vacation resorts we have ever traveled to. The people here are so warm, friendly, accomodating and proud of their town. We felt as if we were family and had the opportunity to get to know many staff by name and after a few days, they knew us by our first names as well. Our room had a small kitchenette with a mini fridge, microwave and all the kitchen utensils you would need...even a blender for those margaritas! We faced the ocean and each night we kept our sliding glass door open just to hear the roar of the waves and smell the salt of the sea. Some days, we just stayed in our room and sat in our balcony watching the ocean.

The property is well kept, clean and perfect for honeymooners, families and the like. We especially loved the pool with its swim up bar. We did try the restaurant and found the prices to be quite high...service good but $10 for a salad is ridiculous.

If you are staying in Los Cabos, you really don't need to rent a car and spend big bucks on insurance. There are Taxi's everywhere and the average trip is $5 + tip for local runs. To cut down on food expenses, I recommend taking the Taxi down to a store called "Mega" - which is similar to a Super Walmart. Some folks walked there, but it was way too hot for us to walk. When you are at Mega, stock up on Water, Gatorade, Sodas, Bread, Peanut butter, snacks, fruit, etc. Trust me, you will be gladd you did!

Overall...We hope to come back to the Bel air...With hospitable staff, inviting accomodations, ocean front property,you can't go wrong!

Thanks Bel Air Collection :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelairCabos, General Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
I would like to thank each of you who have contributed to this channel of communication for the valuable and appropriate feedback.

Bel Air Cabos, su casa en México.

Sincerely,
Arturo Villaseñor Ramirez
General Manager
Bel Air Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Completely enjoyed the free ice tea and champagne during sunset and then at night the snacks that were brought to the room. Everyone here was helpful and made our stay enjoyable even though mostly everyone was new because of the transition from Playa Del Sol to Bel Aire.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelairCabos, General Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your opinion.

I will share your valuable comments with the service staff.

Kind regards,

Arturo Villaseñor R.
General Manager
Bel Air Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

From the moment we set foot in this resort we were treated with manners I could only dream of having in the states. We were offered champagne immediately and they informed us though we were 4 hours early for check in our room would be ready in 30 minutes. After we got setteled in our cossy loft suite we explored the resort.

The Location: right on the beach, you have full access to beds and chairs on the beach and a beautiful view of the sea. It was only a 30 minute drive to down town Cabo. The scenery was gorgeous, the zen garden peaceful, and the greenery lush.

The Service: wether it was our bell boy helping with luggage, front desk answering questions, or wait staff serving us, everyone was extremely kind and professional.

The Food: PERFECT

The Activity: The infinity pool is awesome, the bars and restraunts peaceful and calm, and I personally loved tea time with complimentary snacks at sunset corner.

The only bad things I can think of is that there was only one person working for massages however they tried to get a second one and even recommended a near by spa.

It was relaxing, fun, beautiful, easy, and CHEAP!!

Big shout out to Rene and Victor. Awesome workers. We lobed it here and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelairCabos, General Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your time in sharing with us your experiences during your stay.

I will share your valuable comments with our staff.

We wish to see you soon.

Best regards,

Arturo Villaseñor R.
General Manager
Bel Air Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed there with friends in early August and it turned out to be one bad thing after another.

When the bell-hop pointed us to our room, we walked in to find people's luggage there already. When he followed us in, he said we were in the wrong room. Oops. We went to the next door over and the key worked on that room too, which was indeed supposed to be our room. So, our key worked in both doors. Not good. We walked into the room, which was supposed to be non-smoking and it REEKED like smoke. It was awful.

We asked for another room and was given a smaller, non-ocean facing room. We put our stuff in there and on the way out, for giggles, tried our key in the neighbor's door. Guess what, it worked in that room too!! So this happened twice on two different floors. When the neighbors returned, we alerted them to the issue and they were furious. We locked everything we could in our safe and went out to dinner while management resolved the issue.

So this second room was definitely a downgrade. It didn't smell like smoke, but it had its own problems. The wet-bar sink didn't work, the fridge made a popping sound every 3-15 minutes and the bathtub/shower didn't drain properly. By the end of our shower, we were standing in 5 or 6 inches of water. The fan made an awful humming noise that could interestingly be heard mostly while lying down in the bed. It wasn't as bad if you were somewhere else in the room, but lying in bed, it was loud. We stayed there for a few days until something else opened up on a higher floor.

Besides the fiasco with the rooms, other things to note about the hotel:

- The pool bar closes at 5 and the pool closes at 8.
- The hot tubs weren't hot. They were lukewarm at best.
- The internet, which cost $40 for a week didn't work very well.
- There are no workout facilities, ATM or business center for you to print boarding passes.
- There's a breakfast that goes from 6-7 am which consists of coffee, tea and white toast. Really? 6-7 am? Do a lot of people get up between 6-7 am when they're on vacation? I don't think so.
- We found ants on the counters in our room.

I will say that this place has a lot of potential. The rooms that face the ocean aren't bad - the view is spectacular, but everything else was a total drag. We had chips and guac at the restaurant there, but didn't find the food very good. We didn't eat there again during our week stay. One thing is for sure, we won't ever be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Arrived to a smoking room in a non-smoking facility
Room was supposed to have 2 separate bedrooms attached to a living room, dining room, & kitchen. Was given 2 attached efficiency studios.
Room keys opened other guests doors and keys stopped working several times throughout our 1 week stay.
Can hear guests next door set a cup down on the counter through door separating the units.
Pool towels run out at 5pm, pool open until 8pm
Continental breakfast is from 6-7am - toast and tea only.
Our first room did not have an alarm clock, our next room did but did not have a coffee maker.
Ant infestation in the kitchen
Kitchen sink did not work
My husband fell through 2 broken beach chairs
All "inexpensive" dining recommendations given by staff were $$$$
These are the facts. It's your choice. Enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Pro:
- Nice staff
- Hotel Rooms were well equipped with furniture and kitchen items
- Bathrooms were nice and had full size tubs with jets
- A/C in rooms worked really well
- Our room has a nice view of water
- Location was an easy walk distance (10min) to a shopping area that has a Starbucks and large grocery store
- Drive to Cabo San Lucas about 15 mins and you can rent a car on the property
- Hotel has beachfront access
- Large pool area with hot tubs (They need to add more umbrellas pool side)
- Staff provided great recommendations on places to eat and visit while on our trip

Con:
- Website is misleading…You should call before you book at this hotel…the following is what we found during our stay:
- NoSpa (they said it was closed, but had no answer for when it would be open. We went to another property to get spa services.)
- No ATM (not a huge deal but should not be on their website)
- No Gym (this was a BIG deal because we were planning on working out. We were told the gym was under construction, but we did not see any activity that suggested any construction was taking place at the property. We ended up paying for a local gym about 10mins away, walking distance)
- No business center (this was a minor issue in that they allowed us to print our airport boarding passes at reception)

In the end we voiced our concern to management and they offered to comp a few meals/drinks during our stay. This was appreciated, but what they really need to do is remove or update their website to reflect what the property does have so that expectations are set properly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the place is the right one, the energy flows spontaneously. Bel AirCollection ® Resort & Spa Los Cabos offers you an exclusive and sophisticated holiday in a unique environment where the desert meets the Sea of Cortes giving you the opportunity for contemplation and meditation with 175 yards of spectacularly beautiful beach.Located only 15 minutes from the airport, in the master planned resort community La Jolla in San José del Cabo. Bel Air Los Cabos is the perfect place for a world-class holiday either for couples or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Playa Del Sol Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.