We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but no swimming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hotelera

Playa Hotelera
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but no swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Waves are too dangerous for swimming-- wading is OK in some areas, but be careful of large waves.

The granite sand beach is lovely, but very hard on your feet. The light-colored sand was not hot in April, but VERY scratchy. Bring beach shoes for long walks.

We found baby sea turtles (black little cuties!) on the beach (April 16).

The beach is populated by white-clothed salespeople hawking a variety of wares. Their prices are good, but they can be annoying if you just want to enjoy a stroll on the beach.

The horse poo on the beach is unpleasant in some areas-- just walk beyond the horse ride salesman.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice beach to walk along.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A wide expansive beach to walk along. We started at the north end, at the Estuary, and walked down to Zippers beach restaurant, at the south end.
The waves can be big here, and there is under tow, so not ideal for swimming. The Hotels along this beach are mostly all inclusives, but the beach never seemed to crowded. There were horse back riding outfits here, so you can ride a horse if you like.
A nice beach to spend the day on. There are better swimming beaches, further down the hotel corridor, or along the east cape road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Whales, Pelicans, and Sea Turtles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

While staying on the beach in San Jose del Cabo, my husband and I took long, daily walks on the Playa Hotelera. Some days we walked down to the Estuary, and on other days we walked in the other direction, toward Zipper's restaurant. This year we saw whales spouting, dozens of pelicans skimming the water and flying in formation, and two baby sea turtles in the shallow water. They were apparently among the last of the hundreds of turtles that were protected in the turtle sanctuary, hatched, and released in December. The beach is very long, clean, and uncrowded, with very few vendors compared to the mobs at the beaches in Cabo San Lucas.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

It worth for the view and beauty of this place. Sea color is amazing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

While it is not recommended for swimming, it is fun to walk in the water at the edge and a great walking beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Hotelera also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Playa Hotelera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Hotelera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.